Learning about Stoneware Crock Markings, and a Few Thrift Store Goodies!

I LOVE CROCKS. I found this crock earlier in the Fall, and if you know anything about antique crocks, they cost a FORTUNE. Especially ones this size. I got this crock for $20, which was definitely a steal, because I have seen many this size  (and smaller) that go for $100 or more.  I put it next to the front door…wouldn’t this look great with some old umbrellas and/or canes in it?

I did some research online to find out a little more about the marking and maker of the crock. I discovered that this is an early 19th century crock from The Nelson McCoy Sanitary Stoneware Company.

The clover is one of the earliest known marks of the company, along with the other markings shown above.  The first three markings were typically incised, or cut into the bottom of the clay body, whereas the clover was stamped on with blue ink. This particular blue marking was stamped on. The M stands for McCoy, and the number denotes the size of the crock in gallons.

I can’t find an exact date of when it was made. I know there were NO markings on the pottery from 1910 to about 1927. In the early 1930′s, the company started veering away from stoneware, food, and sanitary wares and starting making more decorative pottery, which was in very high demand at the time. They changed their name from The Nelson McCoy Sanitary Stoneware Company to the Nelson McCoy Pottery Company to accommodate this shift in their pottery style from utilitarian to more decorative. The markings above were used before this shift, and all of this leads me to believe my crock was made between 1927 and 1934. If anyone knows more about it, or about the value of this crock, I’d love to hear from you! (Historical information found at http://www.mccoypotterycollectorssociety.org/trademarks.htm.)

I found this fun little plate designed by one of my new favorite artists John Derian, for $1! He currently designs kitchen ware and home decor items for Target, so that’s why it may look familiar. I always want to buy his stuff but never want to pay full price…so this was a good find. :) I just adore his vintage style art.

I’m always on the look out for wooden bowls to paint. SCORE!

Candles attached at the wick have a certain charm that other candles don’t have. They remind me of the old days of dipping your own candles. They have a few dings here and there, so I am going to try a trick I just read about where you use a hair dryer on low heat to smooth out any nicks on candles…it has potential to be a disaster, but I guess I won’t know until I try! hehehe…

That’s all for now. It’s Thursday and you know what that means….almost FRIDAY! Yipppppeeeeeee!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teeny
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 19:17:16

    Be sure to do the hair drying wax melting when greg isn’t home!

    Reply

  2. Kurt Boyd
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:41:21

    i have a crock just like that brown on top tan bottom with a # 4 in a circle with a star, where is that from?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 11:22:47

      Hi Kurt,

      I am not a crock expert by any means, so I am not sure about yours and where it is from. It took quite a while for me to find out about my own crock, through lots of research online! There are so many makers, markings, and types of crocks that it is difficult to find out the exact make and model of any given crock. I would recommend doing some research online to see if you can identify your crock’s markings and learn a bit more about it. Sorry I couldn’t be of any help! Good luck!

      Reply

    • jo
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:05:02

      Kurt:

      I, too, have a crock , tan in color, which as a large circle in blue with a blue 5 point star, with the #2 in the star. This is the only marking I can find. Good luck with the resarch, and if I find anything I’ll let you know.

      Reply

  3. Paul herbort
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 13:12:08

    Hi Kurt,
    I have a crock just like the one shown above. I have tried to find a price but all has failed. If you ever find what it is worth please let me know. If i find a price I will surely let you know

    Paul

    Reply

  4. Mala
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 11:40:14

    I too have an identical crock. I too have tried to find a price. Any help greatly appreciated. As I will pass along an info I get

    Reply

  5. kim
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 17:15:12

    Hi,
    I also have this exact crock, but I’m not having any luck finding the value, but thank you for the info you posted. I’ll fill you in if I come up with more.

    Reply

  6. Gail Cotner
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 20:36:52

    I have a large crock with a crown/#8 in it. Any idea what this mark is?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 13, 2012 @ 08:14:07

      Hi Gail, I have seen the crown markings all over but don’t know exactly who the maker is. There are SO many markings…I still have trouble trying to identify them. My best advice is to google it! That’s what I do! lol. Sorry I couldn’t be or more help! I sure do love my crocks though! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

