More Marble Magnets, Cool Skeleton Keys, and Stocking Up on Some Crafting Staples…

Gosh I have been so busy lately…too much WORK and not enough FUN! By fun I mean crafting!

I have been experimenting with the marble magnets and think I may have got it down. Here are the latest sets:

Vintage bugs and butterflies found at my favorite clip art site The Graphics Fairy!

These were little scrapbooking stickers that I had left over from a project from years ago, and they were the perfect round little circles. They worked great. The designs are a little teenie-bopper-ish but I made them more for experimenting sake. I like that these stickers were smaller in diameter than the marble…and that they were pre-cut…it’s a much cleaner look.


So I did find smaller magnets. Here is one of each. I can’t decide which I like better. The small magnets look nicer (you can’t see them as easily when it’s up on the fridge), but the bigger ones are more hardy and cover the whole picture used on the back of the marble. I am leaning towards the larger one. What do you think?

This is the glue I used and it works GREAT!!! I let the original sets dry completely and then tried to pry one apart to test its durability. Those babies aren’t going anywhere!!! Home Depot carries this brand…probably Lowes does too.

Since I was having a hard time finding pics in magazines, I decided to make my own themed sets, as you saw above with the vintage bugs and butterflies. I got the pictures from The Graphics Fairy, brought them into Photoshop, and laid them out at about 18 mm wide at 300 dpi. I printed them out and then used the magnet to trace a circle around each picture and then cut it out to size. This way I can create my own themes and sets, and don’t have to rely on finding random pictures that “go together.” I am doing the birds next! :)

So…I just had to share these awesome skeleton keys I found at the Hobby Lobby for half off. I got a few sets of them because I thought I could use them for different projects. I LOVE their look and the different shapes of each key. They are reproductions obviously, but I felt they still looked old and had a certain charm.

I found this picture on Confessions of a Plate Addict using the same exact keys attached to a great little French County inspired tea-stained tag. How clever! I will just have to try this! Another thought was Christmas ornaments, hung with a homespun tie. I have also seen them sewn on hearts for Valentine’s Day decor…hmmm. Any other ideas?

Went to the Dollar Tree last week – a different one than I normally go to – and I found these 3 packs on electric tea lights!!! 3 for $1…score! I cleaned out the whole box of them…and looked like a crazy person with a basket over-flowing with candles. They are they are the exact same ones I used before and run just as long as any of the more expensive ones, at least in my experience. I also got a bunch of these Christmas lights on clearance because I want to dip the small bulbs in silicone and make a few strands for my next show. Not necessarily for Christmas, but just as general country decor.

Last but not least, I got this little guy for .50 cents at Hobby Lobby because I thought he would be great for small cinnamon applesauce ornaments. I made larger gingerbread men out of cinnamon applesauce dough and they sold like hot cakes at the show, as scented bowl fillers. As I always say…I love anything in miniature!

Hope everyone has had a great week. I’d love to hear about some of your post-holiday crafting!!! Be back soon! :)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:08:33

    I have the same keys…I put mine on a hook on my pegrack, but I love how you put one with the tag. Thinking I should do that to mine and hang each one on a different hook.
    ~Cindy~

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:19:24

      Thanks Cindy, but I have to give credit for the cute key/tag idea to our fellow blogger over at Confessions of a Plate Addict (.blogspot.com). I love the look of the key with the tag also and am definitely going to try something like this – I am currently on the hunt for some interesting and unique stamps. There is something about those keys that I just love. I bet they look great on a peg rack. Thanks for your comment! :) ~Maggie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

