Country Themed Dollar Store Crafts

While the selection is better, large craft stores prices can be a little rough on the wallet. There are tons of supplies for general crafting at the dollar store; i.e. tacky foam shapes, pipe cleaners, popsicle sticks, etc. Those can be great for kids, but it gets a little tougher when looking to do primitive/country crafts.

Here are a few projects that I have done that involve dollar store supplies. A lot of these have been featured in previous posts, so the pictures may look familiar! All of the photos with a white background were found at dollartree.com.

Salt Dough Ornies & Cinnamon Applesauce Ornies

Salt, flour, cinnamon, and applesauce, wax paper – all of your main ingredients for both salt dough and cinnamon applesauce ornaments – can be found at the dollar store. The recipes can be found all over the web, I don’t feel like typing it out…hehe. I make cinnamon applesauce ornies in bulk – usually stars, hearts, and gingerbread men for the holidays.

A wonderful salt dough tutorial can be found at

http://andbabymakesfive-colleen.blogspot.com

This “snowman pop” I picked up at a craft show looks like salt dough. I definitely want to try this. A cute stocking stuffer perhaps?

Primitive Electric Tea Lights and Jar Candles

My best seller and favorite dollar store craft: electric tea lights! I recently found the tea lights on the right at a local Dollar Tree…. 3 for $1! I have found that they are as good the ones at the craft store, and last just as long!

These particular ones have been coated with gold and brown texture fierro, a textured paste made by DecoArt (found at the craft store for about $6 a jar). I have however used plain cinnamon which I get at the dollar store. First I put a piece of tape around the base of the little silicone flame, so my cinnamon doesn’t get on it. Then, paint them with regular glue or modge podge, roll in cinnamon, and let dry. Once dry, re-paint with glue/modge podge to seal! The cinnamon technique works great, but I prefer the look of the texture fierro.

This candle was grubbied up using the cinnamon/glue technique.

These candles were found at the Dollar Tree. I used the same technique as the electric tea lights. This can be done to any glass item or jar candle. Same thing goes for these – dollar store cinnamon works great for a more rusty look!

Wooden Spoon Kitchen Decoration

You can get packages of wooden kitchen spoons at the dollar store (usually 4 per pkg) that can easily be painted and made into very cute country kitchen decorations. I spray painted them black, sanded the edges,  and finished off with a homespun tie and dollar store faux berries!


Silicone Dipped Bulbs – Christmas Lights and Country Night Lights

Hand dipping silicone bulbs looks like a daunting task, but is actually quite easy. I do this with night lights found at the dollar store and also with strands of Christmas lights. I scooped up a huge supply of plain white Christmas lights at the dollar store during the holidays to use all year round! The silicone must be bought elsewhere, but I found it real cheap at Walmart. To see how to dip silicone bulbs, view my previous tutorial here.

Turn these…

into THESE! :)


Christmas lights for Everyday Country Decor

As I said, I stock up on these after the holidays to use for a variety of projects. One simple idea (not a “craft” per say, but cute nonetheless) is to look for old bottles at yard sales or thrift stores, and put a strand of lights down inside to illuminate the colored glass. I got this blue house shaped bottle at a yard sale for 10 cents, added a string of white Christmas lights, and it looks so darn cute! This picture doesn’t do it justice, but I swear it looks awesome up on a shelf!

Another idea is to take small strips of homespun and knot them on the strand of lights in between each bulb. I have seen it/done it before but can’t seem to find a picture! Cute idea and super-duper easy!

Brown Craft Paper

The Dollar Tree has a surprising selection of brown crafting/wrapping paper that can be used for numerous craft purposes. The one on the far right has little gold stars, and is super cute – one of my favorites.

They also sell plain (without patterns) brown craft paper by the roll. I use this to make labels for my products like the one seen below. I use a paper cutter to cut 8.5 x 11 sheets that can be run through the copier. The Dollar Tree also sells a really great red gingham craft paper – the one that the snowmen are clipped to!

I use it to cover my craft table too, so I can make a mess and then replace it as necessary!

Brown craft paper gift bags are great for stamping.

Homespun Wrapped Candy Cane Ornaments

You get 6 plastic candy cane forms for $1…you can’t beat it! Simply wrap in homespun. I used hot glue to dab on the ends. Another one of my FAVORITE crafts of all time. This could be done with the large candy canes also found at the dollar store!

I haven’t tried these LARGE Dollar Tree candy canes, but I bet they’d look great!

Jingle Bells – As Bowl Fillers and Accents for Other Crafts

Dollar Tree sells all kinds of little jingle bells at Christmas time. I typically spray paint them barn red, navy blue, and forest green, tie a bit of homespun on the top for a little country flair.  I use them as bowl/jar fillers and tree ornaments.

This cute holiday candle decorated with these same (spray painted) jingle bells was found at re-purposed.blogspot.com.

Scatter around candles or mix in with your potpourri. Heck, plop a big wooden bowl on your table and fill it up with these suckers for a nice holiday center piece! A nice silver candle and bell display is shown here, by http://creativehomeexpressions.blogspot.com

A list of other craft supplies I have found at the dollar store:

  • Small round magnets & clear gems/marbles (marble magnets)
  • Styrofoam cone forms and balls (rag ball ornaments)
  • Basic floral supplies (wire, moss)
  • Baskets
  • Mini terra cotta pots & spanish moss (country witch head)
  • Jute
  • Large Christmas bulbs (the old-fashioned looking ones)
  • Small glass jars (use to hold potpourri, putka pods, cinnamon sticks, buttons, etc!)
  • Buttons
  • Glitter
  • Wooden frames (to paint and distress)
  • Wooden shapes for all kinds of crafting
  • Super glue/basic craft glue

Visit The Dollar Diva for more great dollar store craft ideas!

Hope you found this post helpful in saving a few bucks while working on your country/prim crafting endeavors. I don’t think I could survive without my local Dollar Tree. If you have any great dollar store ideas and/or crafts, I’d love to hear! Have a great week ya’ll! :)

86 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 01:06:02

    Great post!! I do look for things at the dollar store…but you have opened my eyes to items that I hadn’t thought to look there for until now.
    Have a great weekend.
    ~Cindy~

    Reply

  2. Heather - Dollar Store Crafts
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 18:43:35

    Wow, lots of great dollar store tips & tricks! I love the rag-wrapped candy canes. Fun idea!

    Reply

  3. Heather - Dollar Store Crafts
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 18:45:47

    Oh, p.s. I linked up at the Dollar Store Crafts Facebook Page (and tagged on the Dollar Tree fb page, so they will see it too!) http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/dollarstorecrafts

    Reply

  4. Marcia
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 00:56:32

    Hi Cindy!
    Thankyou so much for reminding us of really cool stuff that is at Dollar Tree and ideas of what to do with them. Loved your entire blog!

    Reply

  5. chicmadecheap
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 16:20:16

    Love all your ideas!

    Reply

  6. Paula
    May 16, 2011 @ 23:03:43

    I love looking and reading on these blogs, so keep it up. Cause you know
    One mas treasures is another mans junk, I have found this to be true so
    many times.
    Please blog every day and always show new ways to set up and oh, and wow
    the pictures of your booth look really terrific. So keep on keep up.
    Tour style is intriguing me start getting back in to crafts again ,==, but definately keeping up with this blog.

    TILL NEXT TIME
    Paula

    Reply

  7. Angel
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:14:01

    THANK YOU! Great (on the cheap) ideas for my friends at social groups, etc!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Dollar Store Crafts » Blog Archive » Recommended Reading: 65 Craft Blogs We Love
  9. Stacie
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 01:18:18

    Thanks for the tips! I made the candy canes and I think they turned out great!

    Reply

  10. Joelle
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 15:31:45

    Wow! I am impressed. Everything looks awesome and fun to do! Love the idea with the cinnamon. I have never heard of Fierro.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: This Week’s Favorites
  12. Darlene
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 19:34:09

    someone posted this on pinterest and so glad they did!! I make some of these similar to yours but found a couple new ones here@ @ TY SO MUCH!!
    Happy new year!!

    Reply

  13. itsarealpain
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 16:04:54

    Omgosh…love, love, love. I am nursing one wicked migraine and one of my favorite strategies is to find things to get me excited, happy and looking forward to feeling better and I came accross this site. How fun! I’m disabled so my crafting habits have been curtailed by a decidedly smaller budget. My husband and I are also about to celebrate our one-year anniversary so I’m looking for fun ways to make our house, our house. I love, love, love your ideas. I had forgotten about applesauce ornaments! Thanks for the wonderful post and ideas!

    Reply

  14. Jo-Anne
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 05:52:20

    I want primitive candy canes…I did do the large ones this year and I can show you a picture if you’d like. But I didn’t get any of the smaller ones to make…DARN! I’m going to post on FB now to see if any of my friends bought some that they want to give me!!! Thanks for ALL the great ideas. Have you ever sealed real candy canes?
    Jo-Anne

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 09:09:16

      Hi Jo-Anne! Thanks for checking out my blog! I usually run out after Christmas and stock up on those smaller candy canes so that I can start working on them in the Fall for the next year!!! Don’t worry…you know Christmas stuff is on the shelves in October these days…so they’ll be back out before you know it!! lol. I have never used real candy canes and I don’t think I’d want to…too much work to just be unwrapped!!! But that’s just me…I know other people that have. Send me a pic of your large candy canes, I’d love to see them! powersmargaret@yahoo.com. :) Thanks again for stoppin by and leaving a comment, I appreciate it! :) ~Maggie

      Reply

  15. Cindy Shamblin Buchheit
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:06:54

    OMGosh!!! You are awesome for sharing all of these great ideas!! Thanks so much!!

    Reply

  16. sue vandee
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 05:42:41

    I love your ideas may try a few of then for Halloween too

    Reply

  17. Elaine McCarty
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 02:04:03

    Just found you on pinterest, and had to let you know how much I love your blog. I have used about half of the items you mentioned from DT, and you KNOW i’ll be looking for the rest. Thanks!

    Reply

  18. Paula
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 13:23:59

    Love it!!!

    Reply

  19. Deborah Nichols
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 23:21:20

    You have a wonderful site and GREAT ideas. I’m looking for candy canes already. What width do you do the fabric? Do you cut fabric or rip it? Thanks for your help and your creations!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 08:02:42

      Thanks Deborah!!! Every year at Christmas time I stock up on those candy canes at the Dollar Tree so I can work on them throughout the year! I look like a crazy person checking out with a basket overflowing with candy canes, but whatever. hahaha. I don’t cut the fabric, I tear it. It gives it a more country look. The strips are roughly one inch wide. It’s an easy project and you really can’t go wrong. Good luck and thanks for reading my blog! ~Maggie

      Reply

  20. Karen Cole
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 18:45:12

    Love your ideas! I frequently shop at Dollar Tree; now I have more things to add to my shopping list!!! Thanks! – Karen C.

    Reply

  21. Kathy Matthews
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 20:22:59

    That’s all you do for the candy canes? Just get material and tear it into strips?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:23:11

      Yup Kathy…it’s so easy and they FLY out of my booth every year. They are so much fun to make and super-duper easy. I use hot glue with the fabric so it’ll dry quick. I tear the strips rather than cut them to give them a more country / primitive look. I use about 1″ strips, sometimes a little wider. Give it a try!! :) Maggie

      Reply

      • Kathy Matthews
        Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:40:36

        Is there one kind of material that works better than others? And do you mind sharing what you charge for them? Thank you so, so much!

      • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
        Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:54:29

        I just use homespun fabric from Joann, and it all seems to work pretty well. Once in a while I’ll get a random fabric that doesn’t “tear” as well as the others, but there’s no way to tell until you start tearing those strips! I think most any of those homespun fabrics will work great. At my craft show I charge $1 per candy cane or 6 for $5. It’s a great profit and yet still a reasonable price for the customers…I sell out every year! :) Good luck…let me know know they turn out!!! :)

      • Kathy Matthews
        Oct 15, 2012 @ 23:04:10

        I made the homespun candy canes! So easy!

      • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
        Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:32:24

        Aren’t they though?? They are probably my favorite project of all time…easy with awesome results!!! :)

  22. April Medley
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 22:04:16

    Thisis the best site ever!! I cant wait to go to the Dollar Tree tomorrow. You have a lot of great ideas^wish I would have tohought of this, you are amazing!! April

    Reply

  23. Marilyn
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 15:11:15

    Love your ideas!! Thx so much!

    Reply

  24. Debbie
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 16:04:34

    Thank u so much for sharing your wonderful ideas… My girlfriends and I have craft night 2 to 3 times a month and are always looking for something different… Thanks to u we have made your tea lights , candy canes , silicone night lights ,plus christmas lights along with the salt dough and cinnamon ornaments or fillers .. We made pumpkins , leafs (maple and oak) acorns also with cookie cutters for fall… Halloween ones also.. They all make great gifts for sharing too… Thank u again

    Reply

  25. Lynne
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 09:05:30

    Love your blog! You have some great ideas and are so creative! Love it! Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  26. Home Fabrics
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 16:41:09

    I am big on the christmas lights as every day decor! I use them to add ambiance to my living room! Loved your other ideas!

    Reply

  27. Traceu
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 21:28:20

    I wanted to give a tip of my own. I looked in every craft store in my town and we have 4 major stores for Texture Fierro, I was unable to find it!! I was desperate to make a few of the items I found on this blog, so I came up with my own Texture paint. I mixed acrylic paint, White Glue & Sand. I will have to take a picture and post it. Its not exact, but its darn close, and really cheap to make!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 09, 2012 @ 12:21:46

      Thanks for the idea – I just may have to try this!!! I believe the texture fierro has been discontinued, which I am very bummed out about. That always seems to happen when you find a product you like. I’d love to see a pic when you finish some projects! Thank you! -maggie

      Reply

      • Danielle Garcia
        Nov 30, 2012 @ 13:47:51

        I was also looking for the texture fierro and they did not have it. So I bought some snow-tex for 2.99 just to see how it would turn out and it worked great! I used my finger to spread it and dabb it on the candle, put cinnamon all over it then sealed it with mod podge. I couldn’t see the difference maybe just a little more work. Hope it works for you too!

  28. Christy
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 20:24:05

    What do you price the cinnamon cut outs in a bag for ? I love the homespun candy canes ! Doing my first craft sale this weekend in years . Thanks for all the great ideas ! Love your blog !

    Reply

  29. Danielle Garcia
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 13:36:36

    This is by far my favorite blog I have found on pintrest! I have tryed almost all of the projects n I am in love!:) I will be deffenatly be making lots of Christmas gifts this year! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 02, 2012 @ 18:23:16

      Thanks so much Danielle!!! So glad you love it here and have tried some projects! :) The texture fierro has been discontinued (I think…) and is impossible to find. LOVE the idea f using the snow tex…it’s way cheaper too! The texture fierro was like $8 a jar or something so this is way more economical!! I will definitely have to try this! Thanks again for stopping by and for the super idea! Happy holidays! :) maggie

      Reply

      • Danielle Garcia
        Dec 05, 2012 @ 17:38:23

        The only thing I am having trouble with(as I see some others are) is getting the long flame on the night lights! Urs look so flawless!

      • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
        Dec 05, 2012 @ 19:19:33

        Yeah it can be tough to get that long flame, and I definitely don’t get it on ALL of them. I think the type of silicone plays into it. Keep on experimenting!

  30. penny stallard
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 22:35:05

    great ideas def going to try some of these

    Reply

  31. Mary Ann Boyd Amore
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 08:29:38

    Also the ribbons all occasion for a dollar a roll. Makes wonder bows !! Love the dollar store. Always look there first, lol

    Reply

  32. sandy duffey
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 09:54:23

    Great Ideas…I have tried everything on your page and has worked out great!!!!

    Reply

  33. terri
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 15:03:27

    Thank you so much! I love the Dollar Tree and your ideas are fantastic!!! Terri :)

    Reply

  34. amy
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 18:16:39

    Did you find the faux berries at the Dollar Tree or Dollar General?

    Reply

  35. Trackback: Mobile and Manufactured Home Living Country Double Wide in the Mountains | Mobile and Manufactured Home Living
  36. Trackback: Mobile and Manufactured Home Living Country Double Wide in the Georgia Mountains | Mobile and Manufactured Home Living
  37. Bernice Walker
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 00:23:13

    Thank you

    Reply

  38. Alicia
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 10:04:34

    Hi I am originally from upstate NY as well, now living in Colorado due to my husband being in the military. I absolutely love all your ideas, I hope you don’t mind if I use them for a craft show I am attending. I’m a stay at home mom of 2 and have been a craft maker since my teenage years. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

    Reply

  39. jenny
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 10:35:06

    Awesome…I love all of your creative ideas!!!!

    Reply

  40. Alicia
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 14:11:01

    How much do you charge for a bag of 4 marble magnets? Thanks again for sharing your ideas :)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 11, 2013 @ 08:33:14

      Hi Alicia! At my co-op I charged $3 per bag of 4 marble magnets. I would like to charge a bit more considering all the work that goes into them but you have to go with what the market is and what people are willing to pay…and at my little rinky-dink co-op I don’t think people would pay more than $3!

      Reply

  41. Gin
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 18:46:00

    There is a powder at your local hardware store that comes in carton(like a pint size) there are 3 different coarseness that you mix in paint for patching ceiling the fine is great to mix in white paint to create texture snow

    Reply

  42. Sharon gaul
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 15:07:19

    Great site. Thanks

    Reply

  43. Beth Mast
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 10:11:02

    I was not able to find the re-purposed.blogspot.com. Is it under a different site now? Thank you. Such good ideas here. I want to try a few of them.

    Reply

  44. Beth
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 10:09:30

    I recently made some treat bags for the preschool and want to make a cute topper for the goodie bags. Did you create yours in a program or find a printable one somewhere? TIA

    Reply

  45. Diane Gansz
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 23:37:05

    What terrific ideas that you have come up with. This is a great site. I just love the night lights. Can’t wait to try these. Thanks for the talent that you share

    Reply

  46. Brenda Furtado
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 22:07:00

    Enjoyed your site. Will continue to visit often. Thanks for some great ideas.

    Reply

  47. Nancy Thomas
    May 20, 2014 @ 18:45:11

    Really enjoy your site! Some friends and I have craft nite once a week, we have gotten some great ideas from you. We are now making the cinnamon ornaments. How many do you put in a bag to sell? We are thinking about setting up at a local craft show this fall…Thanx

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      May 24, 2014 @ 21:10:49

      Hi Nancy, and sorry for the delayed response to your comment! Thanks for your kind words. I usually put about 10-12 of the mini ornaments in a bag so people can use them as bowl fillers. Or I might do 4 or 5 or the larger ones. Totally up to you. They always did sell well at craft shows, so I think you should give it a go! Thanks again and happy crafting! :) Maggie

      Reply

  48. Susan deJong
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 22:00:20

    Love your site! You are very talented! What great ideas and concepts. I really like that you are willing to share your great ideas, and to even give directions. Thank you! I plan on doing a few of your great ideas for Christmas gifts, as we are down to one income. A lot of these I can do with things I already have. I too live upstate New York. Just more east… :)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 04, 2014 @ 08:50:21

      Thank you Susan for your very nice comment. I hope you’re able to find some projects here you enjoy. I try to give clear instructions because it makes for a more fun and less frustrating crafty experience! :) Good luck and hope you have a nice summer, my fellow upstate-NYer! ~maggie

      Reply

  49. Dawn Kibler
    Jun 29, 2014 @ 22:03:36

    I loved your ideas. I went to Dollar Tree to see what I could find. I came up with supplies for some of your ideas and one of my own. I bought the plastic baseballs and wiffle balls 3/$1. I tore strips of red and beige checked fabric and wrapped them completely, hot gluing at the beginning and end. I put them in a glass cylinder container and they looked adorable. Next time I go back I thought I would see if they carry cinnamon sticks!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 04, 2014 @ 08:55:28

      Very cool idea Dawn, and so easy! I love “no-brainer” ideas like that; I might have to steal it (and give you credit of course)!!!! I haven’t been in the Dollar Tree in while but did made it into a random dollar store yesterday and didn’t find much except some marbles, which I am going to put in some mason jars for decoration. Thanks for stopping by and taking time to leave a comment. Hope you have a happy 4th! ~maggie

      Reply

  50. Becky
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 23:19:40

    hi I was wondering if you could tell me how to make the bag toppers ? where do you get the graphics for them ?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 17, 2014 @ 07:03:45

      Hi Becky, I am not sure which bag toppers you are referring to, but generally I always make my own when I package stuff. I usually buy some sort of card stock or brown kraft paper and print out the text using my regular ink jet printer. I use programs like Word, Powerpoint, or even Photoshop to lay out the text and graphics. I get the graphics in random places online, such as The Graphics Fairy, where all graphics are free. I hope that’s helpful! Good luck and thanks for reading my blog! :) Maggie

      Reply

  51. Gayle Hutchinson
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 16:53:01

    My daughter and I are doing some of your craft ideas this week,so anxious to get started,thanks for sharing your beautiful crafting tips.

    Reply

  52. Julie
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:45:49

    Awesome ideas! I have done the large size candy canes. I bought some old tired plastic ones from a garage sale and used prim red gingham and jute on them I criss crossed them and they turned out great!!! Super inexpensive!!!

    Reply

  53. Carol Lovingood-Hiers
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 18:20:17

    Just found this blog and am very happy with the ideas presented for dollar store supplies. Customers don’t want to spend much money, even at craft shows, or in the antique mall where I have vendor space. These ideas should help me at Christmas. Tks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

