Giant Clothespin Photo Holders

Happy Tuesday everyone! I wanted to share this fun little project I recently finished; giant clothespin photo holders! You can make them in any theme you want – for the holidays, for gifts, just for fun…the possibilities are endless! Here’s what you need:

  • Giant clothespins – found at the craft store for $1
  • Mod Podge or white glue
  • Scrapbooking paper with the design of your choice
  • Paint brush
  • Ruler
  • Exacto knife and cutting surface
  • Pencil

Some tutorials on this project have you cutting out paper to cover the narrow sides of the clothespins. Not me…too much work. I disassembled the clothespins and spray-painted them with colors that match the paper I plan to use. Just as cute and WAY easier!

Trace around the clothespin on the back of the scrap-booking paper.

Then cut it out with your SHARP exacto knife. I got these ones at the Dollar Tree. They have perforated blades so you can (carefully) snap them off when they get dull, to expose a sharp, new blade.

Once you get the sides the correct width, line it up on the clothespin and mark off the edges of the little space where the metal part goes…see that little notch there?

Then cut off the bottom portion at the notches you made and keep holding it up against the clothespin to make sure it’s the correct size. Cut it down as you need to until it fits just right.

I like to do a big batch of them all at once.

Using mod podge or regular white glue, cover the surface of the clothespin and press the pre-cut paper down in place.

Put them face down on a hard surface (that you don’t mind getting glue all over) and put something heavy on them to apply pressure. Otherwise the thick scrap booking paper will curl up.

Let em dry over night or for a few hours, and then apply the mod podge again to seal. I cover the whole thing, making sure to cover all the edges of the paper. I used glossy mod podge, but you can use any finish you want. Sparkle or glitter mod podge might be fun!

All done! Reassemble and display! They would be great for not only photos, but recipe cards, to-do lists, mail, greeting cards, etc.! :)

Here’s a Christmas themed one I made while experimenting. Trees on the front…

¬†…and this fun green “hounds tooth” pattern on the back! Using two different patterns, one on each side, makes it a bit more interesting and versatile!

 These I just painted. I like ones covered with scrap paper better.

I wanna make a whole bunch that are Christmas and holiday themed for my annual craft show in December. The variety of scrapbooking paper is so awesome that you really could go nuts with a project like this!!!

Guess that’s it for now. Later gators! :)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 08:55:32

    Cute idea! Thanks for sharing. :-)

    Reply

  2. Barbara
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 20:33:02

    You make them-I will buy them Margaret!
    Awesome idea! I’ll buy them for little gifts-and keep them!

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:27:10

    Thanks for the great ideas! I am always looking for cute (and cheap) things for my students to make at school! Look forward to your new posts.

    Reply

  4. John Hooper
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 04:29:32

    Hi – I would love to know where I can buy these giant clothes pins on-line. I have done search after search, but everywhere is either sold out, or they have stopped making them. Any ideas ? Thanks for your help.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 10:43:03

      Hmmm….good question John. I don’t buy them online – usually at the craft store. I searched around online and couldn’t find anything either…only the really, really big ones (almost a foot tall). If you have an A.C.Moore’s anywhere in the vacinity or know someone who does, I would just go there and get them. Sorry I couldn’t be of much help! Good luck!!!

      Reply

  5. Tallee Mae
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 01:37:36

    They may also be at a JoAnn’s Fabric, Michaels, or Hobby Lobby. I found some and love your ideas!

    Reply

  6. justme
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 21:41:21

    I can not find these anywhere for a dollar, most are $2.99 and up!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Scrapbooking Supplies Oldenburg | scrapbooking stores and supplies

Leave a Reply

