Craft Show Best Sellers: Snowman Pins & Magnets…and a New Item: Snowman Wine Corks!

My dining room table has been overflowing with snowmen of one kind or another for the last week and a half, as I have been whipping out snowman-faced pins, magnets and wine corks! The pins and magnets were some of my best sellers at last year’s craft show, and the wine corks will be new this year. It is the craft, food and WINE show, so I figured they were appropriate! :)

I started out by spraying all the small wooden discs (not the corks) with my favorite off-white spray paint: Rustoleum’s American Accents Ivory Silk. I like the off-white better than bright white!

For the magnets, I use “Dazzle Tac” which is a strong jewelry glue. Those magnets will not budge! I tried hot glue in the past, but the magnets pop right off. Go with the Dazzle Tac or something of similar strength if you want the magnets to last.

I will likely display them on a big enamel pan. I made tons of them; big and small. Sold out last year! :)

Sparkle Mod Podge gives them a subtle sparkle, and also seals them.

For the pins – same thing. Dazzle Tac to adhere the backs and sparkle Mod Podge to seal. I grubbied up some more tags, stamped them, and pinned them to the tag. This way they can even be hung up on a tree or on a hook for display.

For the wine corks, I ordered these in bulk from Widget Co. They amounted to 55 cents a piece, which is cheaper than the ones I was buying at Wally World (and way nicer too!).

These I hand painted with my off-white acrylic paint (color: unbleached titanium)

Aren’t they cute?

Because of the finish on the wood part of the corks, the acrylic paint scratches off easily. There was no way I was sanding them all down before I painted them…there’s too many and I can’t be bothered. So I decided to give them a couple of coats of polyurethane to harden/seal them up. I didn’t want to get it all over the cork part, so I came up with this solution: poking holes in a thicker stock paper, and pushing the corks down through so that just the wooden part is exposed.

This is wrapping paper that is a little on the stiffer side…perfect for holding the corks in place. I gave them a good 3 coats.

I tried doing some “peppermint candy” corks also, but I didn’t like the way they came out. I am a perfectionist and I just didn’t like that it didn’t look smooth – free handing the black lines didn’t work so well. Maybe a little stencil or something could make it easier?

Overall I have happy with the way the snowmen came out. I am thinking about doing some pumpkin face corks/pins/magnets for Fall. I got a few other little projects done over the weekend as well, including lots of spray painting and making-over some thrift store finds. I’ll share soon! :)

Hope everyone had a great weekend…now it’s back to the ol’ grind…ugh! :)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 08:57:21

    I can’t get enough of these snowmen. I love them! I buy them for gifts-then keep them all for myself!

    Reply

  2. christine
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 11:26:47

    I love the pumpkin idea. Can’t wait to see them!

    Reply

  3. Melinda Edenfield
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:21:48

    These are great! How much do you sell them for?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 09:58:17

      Hi Melinda,

      I have been selling the pins for $1.50, the magnets for $1 and have yet to sell the snowman corks, but will probably try to sell them for $2.00. They will be for sale in my booth at The Carriage Place Co-op around holiday time and at my craft shows…but I’m not selling online…YET! I am thinking about doing an Etsy store soon! :) Thanks for checking out my blog!!

      Reply

  4. Linda
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 21:55:44

    Where do you find the wooden discs and magnets?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 10, 2012 @ 06:42:10

      Hi Linda – the magnets I get in a 50 pack at Walmart in the craft section, and the wooden discs I get at the craft store – usually Michael’s. I think all the craft stores carry some form of small wooden discs. Good luck! :) Maggie

      Reply

  5. rosie
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 20:36:00

    very clever —thanks

    Reply

  6. trash2treasure
    Jul 12, 2014 @ 10:57:28

    Very cute! A suggestion for dealing with that ‘sheen’ on the cork tops other than the extra poly top coats would be to PRIME them before painting them. KILZ primer comes in spray or brush on at the hardware store. aj

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 13, 2014 @ 09:19:59

      Great tip AJ – thank you! I did not know the Kilz came in spray form. Those corks were one of my first experiences painting over a poly coated wood piece and of course the paint easily came off afterwards. I have been sanding since then but a quick coat of the kilz primer seems like an easier solution. Thanks again! maggie

      Reply

  7. Becky
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 22:35:36

    These are SO CUTE! Do you just use paint pens to make their faces? And how do you blush their cheeks? Thanks =)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 17, 2014 @ 12:55:15

      Hi Becky, I just used regular paint and paint brush for the faces but you could use definitely paint pens for the faces if you want! Those work great and I have used them for other similar projects. :) The rosy cheeks were made with a little stencil brush where I just used a tiny bit of pink paint and dry brushed them on. Hope this helps, and happy crafting!!! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

