Craft Show Display Ideas

Wow, what a busy weekend! We had our Cruise In and Flea Market on Saturday at the co-op and it was a PERFECT day…blue skies, tons of people, and lots of sales! :)

Anyway, I wanted to do a post about “Craft Show Displays” because I notice that’s a popular search for a lot of crafters, including myself. I am not claiming to be an expert by any means, as I have only done a few shows, but I wanted to share a few of my display ideas. I think a display can make or break your sales. I truly believe a good or interesting display can draw people in and create an atmosphere that makes customers more likely to buy!

Window Frames & Chicken Wire

One of my favorite displays of all time is this old pair of window frames that I hinged together and covered the backs with chicken wire. I set it up on my table to create height and also have tons of space to hang stuff. I used little paper clips that were unfolded, to hang ornaments, pins, wreaths, and other decorations! This could also work with regular frames and old screens.

Make a “Tree” Using Twigs and Branches

This is my latest display in my craft booth, that I just ADORE…these giant twigs to create a “tree” for hanging ornaments! It creates height and depth in my space. I plan on weaving some white christmas lights in there. This could be done on a small OR large scale. A small twig tree sticking out of a mason jar could be cute for some small ornies.

Hanging Items from Old Shutters

You can see in both the pic above and below, I used this old shutter to hang up some of my hand poured tarts. Again, I used unfolded paperclips over the edges of the wooden shutter slats. I recently made a pair of hinged shutters to set up on a table (same idea as the window frames) and that would make a great display for jewelry or other small items!

An Old Rake as a Shelf/Hanger

I found this old rake head at a yard sale and cost me hardly anything, but it makes the cutest hanging display ever. Love the country feel it creates. I suppose you could take one with the handle still attached and stand it up at a show to hang things from. Be creative!

Wooden Ironing Boards As Peg Boards and Tables

I love wooden ironing boards for many reasons – they are portable, easy to set up, don’t take up a lot of room while traveling, and create an interesting display especially for a “country” themed space. The one in the picture below was missing the legs and was just the board…but I still loved the look of it. Very primitive!

I propped up up in a little wooden stand that I rigged up – basically just nailing two 1″ x 1″ pieces of wood parallel to eachother onto a large flat piece (the base) and then slid the end of the board in-between the two 1″ pieces, to prop it upright. See ghetto diagram:

Here is an example of using an ironing board as a table display. It’s a nice way to wrap around your display and create more space for yourself, without making your space too crowded (because it’s long and narrow)!

I made this next display by spray painting the board brown and propping it up the same way as shown in the diagram above. I layed down fabric first before sliding the display into place, to cover up the base and the giant wad of cords that happen to be laying there!

Also note the giant tin star as a display for magnets! I discovered they stick to enamelware pans too!

Faux Christmas Tree to Hang Ornaments

This is a no brainer, and a very cute display for the holiday season. You could put your ornaments/other hanging items in a bowl, but this is much more interesting!

Wooden Boxes, Crocks, and Enamelware Pots & Pans As Containers

If you are going to display things in bowls or containers, at least make them interesting. Wooden crates, cheese boxes, crocks, mason jars, enamelware, baskets…you name it!

Cover Up A Crappy Plastic Tote With Fabric

This container full of grapevine wreaths is actually a giant plastic tote that I draped with homespun fabric. I didn’t have a container large enough to fit them, and did this as a last minute fix. It actually looked kinda cute and slid right under one of my ironing board tables.

Creating Shelves By Stacking Crates and/or Wooden Boxes

It’s just my personal opinion, but nothing looks tackier than plastic shelves at a craft show or in an antique co-op…it takes away from the atmosphere of country/antique/vintage/primitive/whatever that you’re trying to create. This is a better alternative, and creates a neat backdrop for your items. You don’t have to sell only “country” stuff to use a display like this. I think it would look great stocked with soaps, candles, books, bottles of sauces or jars of jam….anything, really!

Using Lights to Accentuate Your Product

This works especially great for glassware, like in this picture below of one of my fellow vendors at the co-op. A simple strand of white lights makes the glassware POP and shows off some of the colored glass really nicely.

I put a strand of lights in the back of this cubby too, since it is deep and kinda dark back there. I don’t want people to miss anything!

Tucking in Smaller Pieces Under Large Pieces

Such as putting a small table under a larger table. Stacking smaller stools/boxes under larger ones. This is a good way to utilize limited space, when you have a lot of pieces.

Use Whatever You Have Handy When You’re In A Jam!

So…I have a problem selling my displays; i.e. the ironing boards. Right Teeny? LOL. I wasn’t prepared last year and sold two of my ironing boards and then…D’OH! Nothing to put my stuff on! So, we used Christine’s little folding tray tables, lined them up, and covered them with fabric. It worked for the second day of the show. Lesson learned…don’t sell your displays, unless the buyer can wait til the END to pick them up! :)

When You’re Out and About…Look for Pieces That Might Make a Neat Display

…And be sure to think outside the box. I found this piece at an estate sale in someones basement. It was full of tools, nails, and junk. All those little cubbies screamed “display stuff in me!!” It works great and can fit a lot!

For some more great ideas, I stumbled across this link:

http://mariezvezda.blogspot.com/p/craft-fair-display-ideas.html

Using old luggage as display pieces

Well that’s all for now. Hope everyone had as great a weekend as I did. Today is a somber day…9/11…a day we’ll all never forget. We all know exactly what we were doing on this day, ten years ago. Don’t forget to take a moment to really remember all those fallen.

Til next time! :)

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 21:01:12

    Love all your ideas-so talented!

    Reply

  2. Sara blas
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 16:25:57

    Your blog is by far my most favorite of all times!! I can’t for the life of me find the Decoart gel stain .. and even worse can’t find the lettering you use for signs. If it’s not a huge problem – would you share where to find them? I’ve got so many ideas spinnin’ around in my old brain and now can’t find the materials I need .. your work is AWESOME!!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 19:34:47

      Thanks so much Sara!!! That’s such a nice complement! The Deco art gel stain I got at Joann Fabrics and the foam stamps/stencils I usually order online. Sometimes you can find the large stamps at the craft store, like Joann’s or AC Moore’s. I order a lot of supplies online because there is a much better variety than in stores. Good luck finding them. I checked out your blog too…you’re quite talented yourself girl! ~ Maggie

      Reply

  3. Mardell
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 08:56:00

    Hi Maggie,
    You’re rockin’ out some great ideas! :o) Very clever! When the Carriage Village is open, are you always there or does someone watch your booth? Curious how that works.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 14, 2011 @ 11:46:42

      Gosh you are so sweet, thanks!!! The co-op is open for 4 days a week (thurs, fri, sat, and sun) and all of the vendors take turns working and running the registers. So I don’t have to be there to still sell stuff. All of the vendors items are marked with a vendor number so they know whose stuff has been sold, and they can be paid accordingly! Not sure the next time I will be working…thinking October 16th because there will be an appraiser there and I love to watch him appraise peoples’ things! Thanks again for your nice comments, it means a lot! :) ~ Maggie

      Reply

  4. Marie Monro - Ivory Bird
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 10:40:50

    Thanks for sharing a link to my blog! Would you mind if I featured one of your pics on there too? Thanks Marie x

    Reply

  5. Marie Monro - Ivory Bird
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 17:05:56

    Great, will let you know when it’s done! Mx

    Reply

  6. Marie Monro - Ivory Bird
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 06:23:38

    Hi Maggie, I have put in the pic of the rake and link to your page! You can see it here…..http://mariezvezda.blogspot.com/p/craft-fair-display-ideas.html Thanks Marie x

    Reply

  7. terriskitchenuk
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 11:47:01

    I stumbled across your blog looking for craft fair display ideas. I love your blog! I don’t do crafts as you do, (I make and sell homemade jams and chutneys) but I love what you do. I will be visiting often!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: More Craft Show Display Ideas « Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
  9. Candy Taylor
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 13:34:56

    Hi! Where do you find your boards to make your signs with? Thanks so much!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 14:05:56

      Hi! I usually get wood that’s pre-cut at Lowe’s in the unfinished wood section. It’s already the perfect width for my signs; I will just sometimes cut down the length with my little jigsaw. Also I will use “found wood” like scraps, pieces of palettes, etc if I’m going for more of a primitive look! Hope that helps! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

