Let the Christmas Crafts Begin! Quick & Easy Snowman Trinket Boxes

Wow…Christmas stuff is lining the shelves already! Some people HATE it this early…others LOVE it… like me!!! Christmas is my favorite time for crafting. I thought I would share this quick craft project I recently finished that came out SO stinkin’ cute. These little, white AC Moore brand “bitty boxes” came 6 to a package and I immediately saw another opportunity for snowman faces!!!

I use this red oxide paint for all my snowman noses, because it’s actually more of a burnt orange. I’ve had this paint since highschool and probably painted 1000 snowman noses with it!!!

And a sharpie paint pen for the eyes and mouth…

A small stencil brush works great for the little rosy cheeks. I wipe off as much paint as I can and just “dry brush” the cheeks.

Then to seal, I turned to my trusty sparkly Mod Podge. A quick coat, and DONE!

Wouldn’t they make cool little stocking stuffers or trinket boxes? Fill them with candy, or a small gifts or ornament? I am going to put a basket of these out for sale tonight at the co-op and see how they do!

I have so many other projects in the works but no pictures yet. I’ll be sure to get them up soon. My tin mitten pins, homespun candy canes both large and small, tea-stained Christmas gift tags…the list goes on! So much to do before the BIG show in Dec!!!

Have a great day and enjoy this crisp, fresh, Fall air while it lasts!!! Happy hump day! :)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 21:15:17

    I never knew there was sparkly ModPodge! Where do you get it? Know anything about preserving then painting little gourds? I have a whole punch of off-white ones that I want to do something with but don’t want to go thru a big ordeal. Someone told me I could get some clear varnish to preserve them and go from there???
    And Yes-your adorable little snowmen faces would make great trinket boxes or stocking stuffers..so Cute!!

    Reply

  2. Mardell
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 09:36:23

    Hi Maggie,
    Wow! Those are totally cute! Great job. You could even tie a thin pc. of homespun around the bottom to look like a scarf. :) I gotta find me some of that sparkly mod podge! Thanks for the inspiration. Hope you have a fabulous weekend.

    Mardell

    Reply

  3. Liz M.
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 19:13:02

    Oh, oh! Can you share what size Sharpie Paint Marker you used? I’m coming up with a list of things I need to price.

    Thank you!

    -Liz, inspired

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 19:38:02

      Thank you so much Liz!!! The Dollar Tree is my best friend when it comes to crafting! :) The Sharpie paint pens I use for most projects are “fine”, like on the large snowman clothespins. For the really tiny items I will use the extra-fine, but they don’t “flow” as good as the fine ones. Let me know if you have any more questions! Thanks again and I am so glad to help give you a few ideas! :) ~Maggie

      Reply

  4. Liz M.
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 01:56:30

    Good to know! Thanks so much — I feel a surge of crafty antics coming on! :D

    -Liz

    Reply

  5. Abbie Cousino
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:58:58

    What color paint did you use for the cheeks?

    Reply

  6. Cathy
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 08:54:45

    Love these boxes. I am having trouble finding the boxes. I do not have an AC Moore in OH. Any ideas?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 07:16:37

      Hmmm…maybe order online? When all else fails I usually google it and order supplies online because there is such a large selection. I also saw some boxes that were similar but slightly larger at Joanns and Hobby Lobby. Just keep an eye out, but I am thinking your best bet would be online! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

