A New Twist on the Homespun Candy Cane!

You may remember the homespun candy cane tutorial I did last year…they were such a hit! I’ve spent the last week making MASSES of them since I sold out so quickly last year at my craft show. This year I did some a little different! :)

I was at the Dollar Tree getting more of my usual candy canes when I spotted some MINI candy canes! Yay for miniature stuff!!! I knew they’d be easy to pop off their cheesy garland. Another dollar store SCORE!!! There are two Dollar Trees near me…one had them and one didn’t. Moral of the story: be sure to check all your local $ stores, so you don’t miss anything!

So after easily popping them off the plastic garland, I wrapped them up the same way as the bigger ones…how freakin adorable are these??

I thought they were a bit tiny to sell individually (although you could…) so I wrapped them in bundles of 5 and tied them with a piece of twine. I also added a little rusty bell.

Meanwhile, I have piles and piles of the regular sized ones ready to go!

Here’s a little refresher on the how-to. All I did was tear strips of fabric and used a hot glue gun to attach the fabric to one end, and start WRAPPIN’!

Keep it pulled tight as you wrap. At the end, seal off with a little more hot glue.

Trim off the excess fabric at the end…

…and using a dab of hot glue, fold down the end fabric. Be careful! I usually burn my fingers doing this part! DONE! :)

I figured since I’m doing small and medium candy canes…why not do a few LARGE ones too! How about EXTRA LARGE! $6 at the Amvet for 12 ginormous candy canes…

I also did these a little differently this year. I didn’t bother with wrapping with white muslin to create “stripes”…I liked them as is! Added a sprig of faux pines and two little rusty bells. I only have these 3 done so far, but I think I’ll do a variety of just green and red homespun fabrics.

Some other weekend projects consisted of cleaning this old mailbox and getting ready to bring it over to the co-op. It took a lot of scrubbing…but now she is a primitive BEAUTY! I kinda want to keep it but it’s a little TOO prim for Greg…

Love that old wood showing through! Wish I had the time and patience to strip this thing…

…And had to fit in some spray painting while the weather is still nice!!!

I finally got around to painting some of these thrift store wooden bowls. I have so many fun “bowl fillers” to sell…why not some bowls too?!

I sanded the edges but that’s about it. I can never get it to look quite right when trying to sand a curved surface…they just end up looking messy.

We also got our Christmas lights up. So what if we are the only ones in the county with Christmas lights? LOL…

Fun with slow shutter speeds…hehehe…

Well I guess that’s about it. It was a beautiful weekend and I was glad I could get outside and putter around before the snow flies. Have a great week and Happy Crafting! :)

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 12:29:46

    As usual-love all your ideas-and really love that old pigeon-hole mailbox-so much potential there. Amazing what you can do with a creative eye like yours!! Love those outdoor photos too!

    Reply

  2. Kim the House Mole
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:53:26

    I like the picture of the dog. What are you going to wrap him in?

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 18:06:48

    I’ve been wrapping candy canes today for my upcoming show. Might have to try some with just one color of fabric and not do the muslin…yours are so cute!!
    Hope you have a great show.
    Cindy

    Reply

  4. Mardell
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 14:58:59

    Hi Maggie,
    Love the candy canes! What a super, quick and fun project. Great for tying on packages etc. Your Shepard is adorable. :) Where do you purchase the homespun fabric? Love how you’ve decorated your house with the lights. I long to be able to do that here. Your painted wooden bowls turned out great ~ don’t be so hard on yourself! Do you make your own bowl-fillers? Have always thought about giving that a try (salt dough.)

    Yes, gorgeous weather we’ve been having, huh? Appreciating it to the max!

    Reply

  5. Kathy Jeffries
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 20:10:05

    I found those tiny candy cane garlands just this Monday. They don’t have them at our local dollar tree, but at one in a nearby town. I chose to let mine on the string of beads but wrapped it with twine and tied a piece of green homespun between each cane, which I wrapped in off whit material ( made from a queen size sheet that I got at Goodwill for $1.99) then wrapped a spiral of red hom
    espun around each. very cute!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Dollar Store Crafts » Blog Archive » Fabric-Wrapped Candy Canes
  7. Rosa Marie
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 14:02:21

    Hello,
    I love those Candy Canes!! How do you START and FINISH them , what kind of glue or do you glue the WHOLE thing??? Love your lights too.
    Hugs,
    Rosa Marie

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 17, 2011 @ 16:13:22

      Hi Rosa Marie! It’s easy! I use a hot glue gun, because of it’s quick dry time. Now you’ve got me thinking I may add a few more “how-to” pix and info. Basically, I just put a line of hot glue (about an inch) on the bottom portion and just wrap it until the end, and finish with a small line at the end. I don’t put glue along the whole length. Then at the very end I trim both ends and get the fabric really short, and fold them down and glue the little round ends. Does that make sense? I hope so! I am gonna go back and tweak it soon, so look for new “how to” pix in the next week! Thanks for stoppin by!!!! ~ Maggie :)

      Reply

      • Rosa Marie
        Oct 04, 2012 @ 23:42:21

        Maggie,
        I don`t think I ever replied to this. Thanks for answering my questions. Keep making the GREAT EASY CRAFTS for us.
        Rosa Marie

  8. Missy
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 20:20:19

    Saw something about your blog on another craft site. I love those primitive candy canes!

    Reply

  9. Dinahsoar
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 17:49:30

    Love these! I just found your blog and it is wonderful. Thank you for sharing these wonderful ideas!!

    Reply

  10. Melba
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 10:58:01

    Hey! Nice! I had the same idea after seeing some plaid wrapped ones at a local Christmas store. They were too big for my tree and way too expensive for me so I decided to make some myself. I couldn’t find any of the regular size plastic ones so I am using real ones (but I am not going to store them). I also had some of the small candy cane garland and did a few of those too.

    Here are my instructions. I started and finished a little differently than you did. Mine are a little safer to make than yours (I burn myself everytime I use a hot glue gun!) as I used glue dots (and tape) becasue I wanted to be able to remove the fabric from the real ones! I used regualer fabric, but I can see you got great results with homespun. Just don’t have any contacts to get remnants from. I also need to send you the photos that go along with these instructions becasue it might be hard to follow them without the photos!

    Fabric Wrapped Candy Cane

    1. Obtain supplies:
    a. “Country” print fabric (checked, gingham, etc.) in colors of your choice: on-hand or buy remnants at a fabric store or look for cheap fabric remnants at a flea market (got mine for around $2 and got enough to make more than I need for all my Christmas crafting projects).
    b. Candy cane “form”: There are many forms to choose from – decide what size you need and if you would like to re-use them (don’t use real ones if you do).
    i. Mini: Real, wrapped tight to cane ((on-hand or 40 for $1).
    ii. Small: Small plastic canes cut off a candy cane garland (on-hand or $1).
    iii. Regular: Plastic ornament (on-hand or 12 for $1). Real (on-hand or 12 for $1), Smoothfoam (On-hand or $1 each (?) Have seen these at a craft store, but can’t remember where. Maybe in a kit? What I liked about them is that they are fatter than the plastic ones and would just be super cute & chubby! Found them on-line too, but don’t plan to order any this year.).
    iv. Medium: Save those plastic candy canes filled with candy and up-cycle them into ornaments.
    v. Large: 6 to 8 inch plastic/resin ornaments (on-hand or $2 each at hobby/Christmas store).
    vi. Extra Large: Large plastic outdoor canes (on-hand or $1 each at dollar stores).

    2. Tear fabric into approximately 1 ½ inch strips (wide enough to wrap around the cane as shown in photo 2. Ravel edges as desired.

    3. Attach fabric strip to candy cane base with tape as shown in photo 1. Then wrap around the cane so that it is completely covered and tape securely as shown in photo 2.

    4. Twist the end shut. Place a glue dot near the tip of the bottom of the cane and fold over like shown in photo 3.

    5. Then begin to wrap the cane base in a spiral manner as shown in photo 4.

    6. Wrap the crook of the cane and then close off end like you began the wrap and secure with a glue dot.

    7. The wrap around the end of the cane and secure with a couple of glue dots and trim off excess fabric.

    8. Attach a bow made of distressed ribbon with a glue dot.

    9. Hang and enjoy!

    Reply

  11. Kelsey
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 23:15:26

    These are delicious and I am going to make some!!! Thanks for the instructions ♥

    Reply

  12. Melba
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 11:45:21

    UPDATE: Here is an update on my candy cane crafting! I sent a picturiol tutorial for my instructions to you so hopefully you will be able to post them. Also had sm other ideas – these are probally not novel ideas, but I thought I’d share.

    I found some tenny-tiny (2 inch) foam candy canes at Hobby Lobby (50 cents on sale for 8) and made some using them as forms. After I broke 2 I came up with wrapping the canes with clear packing tape to reiforce them. These came out too, too cute! They are perfect for a mini tree or attach a tie tack pin to the back to make wearable art!

    At the local flea market I found some about 8 inch plastic canes (6 to 25 cents!) and am going to make some larger ones for a garland.

    Also there I found some vintage very thin candy canes (you may remember putting these on your tree a LONG time ago (12 for 75 cents!). They were too thin to use as forms (just did not like the diamemter but you might) so I took a little quilt batting (could also use “snow” from your Christmas village) and cut it into strips and wrapped the canes with batting and then with fabric. Came out perfect! And these are very lightweight so would be economical to mail. Also this up-cycles them into a new life.

    And speaking of recycling, save those plastic canes that candy comes in and re-use them as ornaments. Can you say “recycle”?

    Don’t limit yourself to using fabric strips – while trolling the aisles of Goodwill looking for fabric scraps (have gotten large bags there for 99 cents) I came across some interesting possiblities with great patterns to use in place of fabric – cloth placemats, old quilts (great way to recycle those raggedy quilts), pillow cases, clothes, curtains – the possibilities are endless. AND this is a great way to make treasured keepsakes – think about using a baby blanket to make “Baby’s First Christmas” candy canes for the whole family!!!

    You can also attach your ribbon to the bottom of the cane to make a “J” to hang on the tree.

    And lastly, I am making some of the smaller canes (from the plastic beaded garland) to attach to one of those red bead garlands that mimics crandberries.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 22:13:17

      Wow, thanks for all the great tips Melba! Yes I got your pix but haven’t had a chance to post them yet. I am so busy getting ready for my craft show that I’m about to go off the deep end! lol! Thanks for all the wonderful ideas and have a great weekend…keep on craftin! :) ~Maggie

      Reply

  13. buggalcrafts
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:27:47

    Ok! I’m at those candy canes again!!! THIS time I am using wrapping paper to make package decorations that are also a sweet treat to eat!

    Take a look:

    http://buggalcrafts.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/candy-cane-package-decoration/

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Candy Cane Package Decoration « buggalcrafts
  15. Trackback: Gingerbread Ornaments: Clothespins & Cinnamon Sticks « buggalcrafts
  16. Dianne
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 21:28:29

    very nice good idea how to wrap candycane love your site

    Reply

  17. Trackback: Mini Fabric Wrapped Button Wreath « buggalcrafts
  18. Lisa
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 22:32:38

    These are awesome! I finally got these done last week and they’ve already almost sold out at my booth. I’m gonna try to get around to making more this weekend. Thanks for the great ideas you have posted all through your blog! I love them all!
    Here’s the link to my try at these, if you wish to see them:

    http://www.booth555.com/2012/10/small-homespun-candy-canes.html

    Reply

  19. Trackback: Small Homespun Candy Canes « LC
  20. Betty Kimmel
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 06:42:13

    Hi Cindy I look at your website every day and have visited your booth at the co-op. I love all of your ideas, I was able to pick up some of those large candy canes for 50 cents each at a thrift store many months ago. I have wrapped them but can’t deceide how much to sell them for. What is the price you put on yours at craft shows? Thanks Betty

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 07:55:36

      Hi Betty! (My name is Maggie, not Cindy, hehe) Thanks so much for visiting my blog and my booth! I tend to do more of the antiques and vintage items in my booth because for some reason the crafts don’t really sell that well there. I save them more for my craft show. I sell my candy canes for $1 each and they seem to sell well at that price. Have a great weekend and thanks again for stoppin in! :) Maggie

      Reply

  21. Betty
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 15:44:32

    ok Maggie I was referring to the large large candy canes how much do you sell them for? Many years ago I had a booth at that co-op I too noticed that crafts did not sell that well there. You talk about your big craft show, where is it around here?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 03, 2012 @ 18:52:27

      Sorry Betty – the really large ones I sold for $6. The big show was yesterday and today, in Potsdam, NY. About 4.5 hours from my home, but my best friend lives there so I stay with her. It’s a great venue, always a good crowd, and it went great. Thanks for stoppin by my blog :) Maggie

      Reply

  22. E.C.
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 01:28:06

    Your fabric covered candy canes are delightful. Thanks for posting your tutorial. I made a post with photos of the ones I made and also a link to this post.
    You’re welcome to come by and see it if you want.
    Thanks again for this extra bit of festive decor for the holiday season. :)

    Reply

  23. Greedith Butler
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 08:02:01

    Love these! My daughter and I were going to try these. Now that you gave us the how to, I believe we’ll do just fine.

    Reply

  24. Laurie Whipple
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 17:31:43

    Hi Maggie, Wanted to say how adorable your fabric wrapped candy canes are and thank you for the tutorial! Have a question I’m hoping you can help me with, on the normal sized candy canes how wide and long a strip fabric did you use?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 22, 2013 @ 08:18:07

      Hi Laurie! Thank you! I usually just “wing it” but the strips I use are usually about 1″ wide and I do not measure the length…I just wrap until they are covered. I buy fabric by the yard so I just pre-tear a bunch of strips and go at it. Hope you have fun with these – they are my most favorite (and easiest) craft ever!!! :)

      Reply

  25. Jana Beers
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 15:24:07

    Hi Maggie☺
    I just found your blog and really enjoyed it. I want to make some of these candy canes ornaments but dollar tree doesn’t carry them now, off season. Do you know where I can buy some of these canes? Really appreciate your help.
    Jana

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 08:47:01

      Hi Jana and I apologize for the delayed response! I too have had that problem! If you go online to the Dollar Tree I think you can buy them in bulk all year ’round. I am not positive though. I have heard of some people making their own candy cane “forms” with wire, pipe cleaners, and even just ordering real candy canes to use. My solution would be just wait until they come out and then really stock up so you have plenty for the whole next year! Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!! maggie

      Reply

  26. Kim
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 12:02:51

    Love the candy canes…would love to make for family members. Where do you get your fabric?

    Reply

  27. Trackback: Preparing for Christmas

Leave a Reply

