Inspired by “Pinterest”: Giant Snowman Clothespins and Sparkly Bulbs

For those of you who don’t use Pinterest…you should! It’s a very cool online pin board to “pin” your favorite pictures and store your ideas. I have found so many cool crafting ideas and actually worked on a few over the weekend!

First I made the snowman clothespin photo holders. I started out with a pile of giant clothespins from AC Moore’s, for $1 a piece!

Spray painted them “heirloom white” (Rustoleum American Accents brand)

Once dried I sanded the edges a bit to smooth ‘em down, and then free-handed the noses. As you can see, there were lots of snowman crafts going on this weekend!

I sealed them with one coat of sparkle mod podge, tied on a scarf, and hot glued a lil rusty star. I thought about using buttons, but the star was cuter. :)

You can use them for pictures, recipes, to-do lists…or whatever!

The other project inspired by photos seen on Pinterest are turning old Christmas bulbs into fun sparkly decorations or jar/bowl fillers. I got a huge box of these old bulbs at a garage sale, to use “as is” jar fillers, but I like the idea of sparkly ones better. :) If you have to buy them, replacement bulbs are available at Walmart or Target. If you’re lucky, you can find them at the $ store.

The key is using super fine glitter. I used Martha Stewart fine glitter. LOVE the variety of colors!

Paint the bulbs with a thin coat of white glue or mod podge and, while holding the bulbs above a paper plate, gently pour the glitter on the bulb as you turn it. I tried rolling the bulbs in a pile of glitter and all it did was make a mess and glob up. I found dumping the glitter on them made for an even coat all the way around. The paper plate is nice because you can easily pour your excess glitter back in its container.

Lay them on a paper plate to dry (or hang them to avoid this next step). Once dry, I took them off the paper plate and touched up the areas that stuck to the plate. Oops. Next time I’ll probably hang them to dry.

I suppose you could hang them individually as ornaments…but I like the color combinations together so I went with clear jars!

They were a bit time-consuming but I love the results. In other news, Paco is officially ready for Christmas!

With this long weekend, the crafting has been out of control, but very productive. I made more cinnamon gingerbread men, more snowman trinket boxes, all of the the above, and am half way through some “the stockings were hung” signs. Whew! I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving! Be back soon! :)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Bell
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 15:37:43

    Your blog is lovely! So creative and such an inspiration to try things on my own.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 26, 2011 @ 15:39:58

      Thanks Andrea! That’s what this blog is about…to help others get inspiration to do some crafting of their own. I find so much inspiration online and from fellow bloggers, I just have to pay it forward! lol. Hope you are having a good weekend! :) ~ Maggie

      Reply

  2. Barbara
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 19:28:29

    Recycling those old Christmas bulbs-how creative! Love the idea of filling old jars with them and having them about the house!

    Reply

  3. Mardell
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 09:34:05

    Hi Maggie,
    The snowman photo holders are so cute! I’ve never seen gigundeous clothespins before. Have never been to AC Moore’s (boo hoo!) You’ve certainly been crafting up a storm, haven’t you? Love the glittered light bulbs. Have seen them here and there throughout blog land. :) They look so festive displayed in the jars. Love Paco’s antlers! LOL He seems like a good sport!

    Have a great upcoming week.
    Mardell

    Reply

  4. Missy
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 18:54:52

    One more craft thing to put on my list of things I want to make…all from your blog! :) I’m going to try the cinnamon apple sauce ornaments this week. I am so glad I stumbled on your site!!

    Missy

    Reply

  5. Liz M.
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 18:29:23

    I discovered your blog today when I searched for “clothes pin crafts” to create for Christmas. I *adore* your blog and have found your work very inspirational! Can’t wait to get to the Dollar Tree and 99Cent Store!!!

    Thank you for your beautiful art!

    Reply

  6. Ginny
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 02:45:13

    I’m real late commenting on this post since I just found your blog. I’m wondering if you have any hints for reattaching the spring mechanism to clothespins after removing it for painting. Whenever I’ve tried to do this, well, let’s say it’s nearly impossible. Maybe it’s easier with the big clothespins?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:08:59

      Hi Ginny! I bet it would be impossible on those little clothepins!! I don’t take the small ones apart for painting – I leave them as is and just spray them with the spring still in place. If you notice in the pix, the springs are painted as well. The large ones are easy to take apart and reassemble, but the small ones would be way too much work!!! If you do more, don’t bother taking the small ones apart and I bet you’ll find it a lot easier! :) Good luck and thanks for commenting! ~Maggie :)

      Reply

  7. dawn digilio
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 18:33:47

    love the snomen clothes pins. i am giving them as gifts to people that i give just a little something to and put a pic of them in the clothespin.!

    Reply

  8. Dottie
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:58:56

    Not only are your crafts crafty the dog is simply gorgeous I have ger shep/ akita

    Reply

Leave a Reply

