Making Your Own Pencil Eraser Stamps

I was recently “commissioned” to do a little project for a friend who attends an annual Briard Dog Show and makes up the goodie bags for the attendees. Inspired by some of my handmade Christmas magnets, she gave me this image as a guide and said she would like some magnets made up with this paw print. It’s a normal paw print except for the two little paws on the bottom corner, also known as the “dew claws”.

I immediately thought of the custom made stamps I recently saw on Pinterest and thought I could make my own dew claw stamp to add on to a normal paw print stamp. You may have seen this on Pinterest:

So I bought this small paw stamp from Michaels…

And used a pencil eraser to make my own dew claw stamp. I drew a small oval to guide me when cutting it out with an exacto knife.

It was a little rough around the edges…

So I used a nail file to smooth out the edges. I then stamped it and filed it until it was the perfect oval shape!

Here is the completed paw print stamp! Not too shabby!

Paco gave it his doggie “stamp” of approval! (ridiculous pun intended)

I picked up a variety of colored ink pads to stamp with.

So far I have teal, black, and a magenta color. All I have to do is about 200 more, glue on the magnets and I am good to go! Let the mass production commence!

I wanted to share this because it was so easy carving that little paw out of the eraser…and you could take this project in so many directions! You could carve a small heart, circles, or any simple shape. A square to create a checker board effect…the possibilities are endless! Pencils and large pink erasers could be picked up at the Dollar Store, making it a CHEAP craft as well! Here are some other very cool ideas (linked up to their original tutorials)!

Even MARTHA has done it! Love these handmade cards!

Have you made your own stamp? Are you gonna try? If so, send me a pic and I will post it here! Have a great weekend!!!