This Week in “Junk” & A Vanity Table Re-Do

I say “junk” with quote because all my picks from the last week have been anything but! I found some really AWESOME stuff and am so excited to bring over it over to the Carriage Place this week! I also have added a lot of new little items to my Etsy store – there’s new stuff everywhere!!!

I’ll start with this incredible yard sale find: an antique chair from the original Silver Stadium on Norton Street, in Rochester. Thanks to my work partner and historical baseball expert Joe, he tells me these seats were originally installed in 1929 and then ripped out when the stadium was renovated in the 80′s. The stadium is now located in Downtown Rochester; now Frontier Field, home of the Rochester Red Wings. These seats are rare, as most of them were torn out and burned. I hope that a Rochester historical junkie or baseball fan will be able to add this piece to their collection – it’s headed over to the co-op on Wednesday!

Talk about another great find – this 3 gallon crock off of Craigslist. I have been researching the wreath marking and have found nothing. I really need to learn more about crock markings. I also got this old oil can with old chippy red paint and a great wooden handle. Love old, primitive tins!

I have been slowly collecting these apothecary jars – all finds from the thrift store ranging from $.99 to $2. They are all different shapes and designs, and I plan on displaying them as a group. They are a major trend right now in decorating magazines and online, such as creating a “candy bar” at a wedding, holding toiletries like Q-tips and cotton balls along a bathroom shelf, creating terrariums, or filling with ornaments or candies for holiday decor! So many uses…I am exploding with ideas for these. I am debating between bringing them to my co-op or selling them on Etsy…I think they’ll do great in either venue!

Of course I have picked up a lot of “smalls”…some vintage salt & pepper shakers, this wooden horse figure, this fun 50′s style hunter figurine, and some other junk not pictured.

And MOLDS! Tons of vintage tin molds! I love these…again, so many potential uses! You could fill them up with fixins, use em for baking, candles, tarts, soaps, bath bombs, favors…

And last but not least is this great little solid wood table with retractable arms in the front. Got this gem off of Craigslist for $10. It’s in phenomenal condition and with unfinished wood, I knew it was a candidate for a primitive/country make-over.

**UPDATE! Thanks to some readers, I finally figured out what this is! It’s a make-up vanity, with arms to fold a skirt in and out, where your legs would be. See the comments on this post to learn more. Thanks guys! **

It was full of tack holes around all the edges, which I decided to fill with wood filler, to clean it up a bit.

I used my finger to smear it into these tiny holes. Let it dry for about 10 minutes and then sanded it to smooth down the filler.

Now it’s ready for paint!

I used a satin black spray paint – Rustoleum American Accents in Canyon Black. Did a light sanding mostly on the edges to “prim” it up.

Sealed with a coat of spray polyurethane. Make sure to let it dry completely, for several hours. Otherwise you’ll get finger prints and streaks across the finish. Now, can anyone tell me what these little retractable arms are for?

I added the little teal knob from Hobby Lobby. Teal and black are one of my favorite color combos!

And here she is, ready to bring over to the co-op. I love how it came out! :)

Have a fantastic week and enjoy the last few days of summer. It’s winding down and soon my FAVORITE season will be here…looooooove FALL!!! Be back soon with some new pics from The Carriage Place and other crafty chaos! Later! :)

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 14:53:52

    Your last pic is not a sewing table it is a vanity. I have my moms from when she was little. It should also have a mirror to go with it. I don’t have that with mine. It has gotten lost over the years. The holes are from skirts people tack on. Mine also has the holes.

    Reply

  2. cheryl
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 15:47:24

    A fabric skirt was tacked on around the edge of the top and on the retractable arms, I believe. Then when you sat down, you open the arms and you can get your legs under the table. When finished, close them and hide the little matching stool under it and anything else you wanted to hide out of sight.

    Reply

  3. Mary R
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 22:38:01

    That stadium seat is an amazing find! Reminds me of something Mike & Frank would find on American Pickers (o; The ‘smalls’ are so cool and I love the redo on the little table – especially the knob! You have a real talent! By the way, have you been watching Storage Wars Texas? There’s a new gal on there who bids on lockers with old furniture that she redoes and puts in her store – right up your alley! (o;

    Reply

  4. Terri
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 08:31:55

    It turned out beautifully!! Great job!

    Reply

  5. Sara Hayes
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 13:32:26

    Love the little chair its very neat! The table looks awesome i love the knob and the color. You do such great work! :) I love the crock also i wish i could find stuff like that on my craigslist..lol.

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 22:10:53

    Hi Cheryl is correct, the arms are to pull back the skirt so you can get your legs under. It’s a make up vanity.
    Nice finds!

    Reply

  7. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 07:34:41

    Love that crock and tinware! I’m always curious as to their stories-how they made it all the way to you!

    Reply

  8. Tolly Bockbrader
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 11:33:19

    I have a table exactly like that, and have been always confused on the arms, mine came from my grandparents. Glad to know!

    Reply

  9. Dina
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 16:49:17

    Saw yr table w/drawer that u painted black today on Pinterest . Had one as a child and my mom used it as a vanity. She would thumb tack fabric to match the season. The swing arms helped me open the drawer! Nice job! Thx for the memories!

    Reply

  10. doralee
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 15:37:00

    THANK YOU Lord…I’ve been searching the internet trying to figure what the heck these arms on a vanity I’m “up cycling” are for! Too small to use as a pullout for work tasks so I was confused. haha blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

