The “Melted Snowman” Ornament

I have been quite the lazy blogger lately, and for that I am sorry…I have been doing all kinds of little projects and finally just getting around to documenting them all!

This weekend I finally did a Christmas craft project that has been on my to-do list for quite some time – the “melted snowman” ornament! I thought they might be fun for my upcoming holiday craft show. I would consider this a “dollar store craft” because these shatterproof clear plasic bulbs were $1 ea. at A.C. Moore, and most of the other materials could be found at the Dollar Tree, i.e. the salt and peppercorns.

I used salt for the “snow”, whole peppercorns for the “eyes / mouth”, and orange Fimo sculpting clay for the “noses.” The Fimo must be purchased at a craft store, but you could also make the noses out of Sculpey, salt dough, play dough, or even orange paper if you wanted to.

I rolled out little noses and chopped off the thicker ends with a knife to make it look like a real mini carrot. I made little crease marks on the noses to give ‘em texture. To harden the Fimo, bake at 230 degrees for 30 minutes.

In the meantime, I propped up the clear globes in small cups and used a small funnel to pour in approximately 1/4 cup of salt.

Next I added some peppercorns, to represent the eye & mouth coals that have dropped to the bottom after our little man “melted”!

Waiting for the noses to finish baking…tick, tock…

I used black embroidery thread to hang them up, but you could use twine, holiday ribbon, or torn strips of homespun fabric! Infact, I am thinking the black thread is kinda boring and might go back and use some homespun.

I think they’re so cute! I’ve seen some with the addition of small sticks as “arms” and/or a small piece of ribbon as a “scarf.” I like em’ simple, just like this!

I carefully packed them away for my craft show. I’ll let you know if they are good sellers or not. The noses and peppercorns generally stay on top of the “snow” and don’t get buried down in too easily, which I was happy about.

*Update!* Here is the melted snowman as created by my friend Sara! She added a little scarf and also used some homespun fabric to hang it up, which I really like! I might have to do something similar! :)

Here’s a version made by one of my readers, Alexis! She knits those tiny scarfs by hand! So jealous…I wish I could knit! :)

150729918750561444_kVrNbula

Less than 2 months til my big craft show…time to get my crafty @$$ in gear! I will keep you posted! :)

94 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda Caldwell
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 21:00:24

    I just want to know where you got the black and white funnel? It’s darling!!!

    Reply

  2. Betty Wahl
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 21:08:32

    CUTE!! But, I really love your funnel

    Reply

  3. LC (@jelliedkey)
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 21:21:08

    These are adorable! I bet they are a hot seller. I am so putting this on my “got to do” list also. lol

    Reply

  4. cheryl
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 22:24:17

    They are really cute. I have seen them done before, but your noses are awesome.
    I did some handmade snowmen last year over styrofoam ornaments, and I found a really neat sparkly looking garland that was only about a third of an inch wide. I used it instead of string. I got it at Hobby Lobby, but I imagine many craft stores would have it this time of year. There was a lot on a roll, too.

    Reply

  5. buggalcrafts
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 22:41:58

    These are just so super cute! And so simple to do!

    I can’t believe I have everything to make a batch: I have a bunch of carrot buttons I got in an auction on Listia. And I bought a bunch of the clear balls after Christmas last year. And I just happen to have a bottle of whole peppercorns I bought to refill a pepper mill. So this is just kismet!!!! I will definitely be using this as a craft for my “kids” at church. I will have to come up with a story about a snowman or maybe just say he’s a “Louisiana Snowman”?

    How about tying a torn fabric ribbon around the neck of the balls to be his scarf? Or I like Cherly’s idea – I found some of that wire garland with snowflakes on it at Dollar General that would make a cute hanger.

    These are just darling!

    Reply

  6. Judy
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:05:28

    These are adorable! I think if you could find a way to toss in a little hat that would be cute too (though it might be hard to get a hat in the ball!). I’ve bought clear glass balls at A.C. Moore for $3.00 for a 6 pack with a coupon, which made them only .50 each.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:16:43

      Thanks Judy! I was going to buy the 6 pack but they only had glass bulbs in 6 packs, and the plastic ones were individual. Of course I had my 50% coupon with me expecting to buy a package of them. I just know how I am and those glass bulbs would have been shattered before I even started!! lol. Love the hat idea – I may try these again with some variations! :) Maggie

      Reply

  7. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:42:26

    So, so cute! They will sell like hot cakes-of course I will have to have some too!

    Reply

  8. Sara Hayes
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 14:22:04

    Love these! Super cute and easy! I saw urs on here and had to make some right away, my son helped me with them and had a good time making them :) Thanks for the great ideas!

    Reply

  9. Terri Hicks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 21:54:15

    Has anyone figured out how to make these so when they get turned upside down they are not ruined? Melted snowmen.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 06:57:37

      No, not yet Terri! I did find that the salt is heavier than the peppercorns and the little nose, so they generally stayed on top of the “snow” even with some movement. I just plan on being careful and letting people know not to tip them if they can help it!!!

      Reply

  10. courtney
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 20:54:48

    These snowmen are adorable! I love ornaments and am always looking for new things to make, these are great and on my budget. I really liked the ribbon that your friend attached, I would maybe hang this ornament from my window as a decoration. A question for you: When packed away if the ornament gets shaken up is it easy to get the eyes/mouth/nose to reappear on the top? if not, what do you suggest you do to fix this? Would you recommend pouring everything out and replacing them again on the top of the salt pile? Great blog!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 07:03:24

      Thanks Courtney! I know what you mean and I am hoping to keep them packed well enough and handle them carefully so the noses and peppercorns don’t get mixed up with the snow. I did find that the salt is heavier than the peppercorns and the nose, so they seemed to stay on top even with some movement/ slight tipping of the ornaments. I shook one up to test it and eventually got the nose/eyes to reappear at the top with some shaking and swirling, but it is just as easy to dump it out and just dropping them in on the top of the salt again. Thanks again for checkin out my blog, and good luck with the melted snowmen! They are fun to make! maggie :)

      Reply

  11. Sonja
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 22:47:07

    Hi! I just stumped upon this blog. I love it! Can I ask…what are you gonna price point these at? I think I’m gonna try them as wel for our fair. I love them!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 18:33:50

      Hi Sonja! Thank you so much! :) I am thinking about pricing these ornaments at $4-$5 for my upcoming craft show. I always tend to price a little on the cheaper side. I saw some almost exactly like these that someone made on Etsy, and they were selling them for $10 each! I just don’t think I could get away with that at my show. Hope this helps and good luck with the project! :) Maggie

      Reply

  12. Kristin
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:48:01

    I absolutely love your blog!! I used alot of your ideas last year at Christmas. I love how you share your crafts and ideas….I am a repeated offender of visting your blog…it’s so addicting! Thanks for sharing such great ideas and tips!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: 50 Christmas Crafts Ideas
  14. Trackback: Dollar Store Crafts » Blog Archive Make a Melted Snowman Christmas Ornament » Dollar Store Crafts
  15. 104men
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:42:09

    Lovely idea! May use this as fundraiser. Also may add a little bit of irridescent glitter.

    Reply

  16. littlecitybot
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:54:46

    heehee! this is the cutest! x

    Reply

  17. Nikki Mans/WhiMSy love
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 13:01:08

    Oh these are adorable! My mother collects snowmen for Christmas. Her tree is full of different snowmen ornaments & I always try to get her a new one every year. I’m definitely planning on making this ornament for her this year. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  18. Kathy
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 22:43:40

    Any ideas for a snowman hat?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 10, 2012 @ 09:51:42

      I haven’t figured out a hat yet! I keep racking my brain for something easy and small enough to fit through that little hole. The only thing I can think of is doll hats, maybe something out of the miniature section at the craft store? AC Moores has a whole doll house section, so I was going to look there. OR, you could just sculpt them out of black Fimo or clay, which would probably be a cheaper alternative. If I end up making any, I’ll be sure to post ‘em! :)

      Reply

  19. Claudine
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 19:16:23

    The mixing of the elements inside the ball is a physics question. The larger items will always go to the top of the pile, regardless of the weight. In the case, the smaller particles always have many more paths to the bottom of the container than the larger pieces. Physicists refer to this kind of settling as ‘the mixed nuts’ problem. Open up any can of mixed nuts and the largest pieces always end up on top. Test it for yourself.
    (Science teacher Claudine here.)
    I just made these with my son and my mentee “Little Sister.” Love the instant giftishness! They are all just adorable!!!!!

    Reply

  20. Tim Ferguson
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 05:59:17

    This would also be really cute with the fake “water” they use in glass vases for silk flowers for a “real” melted snowman. Dont you think?

    Reply

  21. Heather
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 18:38:20

    Have you done your show yet, and if so – how did it go? I think maybe for the hat you could cut some felt and that way you can kind of squish it to get in the hole and maybe use tweezers to straigten it out if needed.

    Very cute! I’m going to make a few for a holiday bazaar we are having at my office and hopefully they will sell!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 13, 2012 @ 08:15:33

      Hi Heather! Yes, I did my show and it went great! Every year the show gets bigger and bigger, it’s awesome! The felt hat is a great idea. I have been racking my brain trying to come up with a good hat idea. Best of luck with your bazaar…they are always a popular item! maggie :)

      Reply

  22. Sandra
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 13:56:23

    If you didn’t want to go the Fimo route, you could cut off the pointed ends of the bamboo shish kabob skewers and paint them orange.

    Reply

  23. Trackback: Punch-box advent calendar « Teaching Brady
  24. Trackback: Por tus manos - Bola de Navidad con muñeco de nieve derretido.
  25. Jean
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 17:58:39

    Thinking of making these for an or ament exchange…. But how will they hold up in the mail?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 13:25:37

      Hi Jean! I’m not sure about mailing them….they may get all “jumbled” up. But, as I have told everyone I give them to…if you gently shake them back and forth (briskly from side to side), the noses and eyes tend to rise back up to the surface of the salt. So even if they got all buried during shipping, they could be fixed with some minor fiddling. If all else fails, they could dump it out and just “re-assemble” it and drop the noses and eyes back on top of the salt!

      Reply

  26. Barbara
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 19:43:33

    i also added some tiny tiny red buttons to mine (for buttons down the front of the snowman) and i found some carrot buttons at Ben Franklin that are adorable for the nose!

    Reply

  27. dee
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 15:31:51

    i absolutely love this idea. what a great teachers gift or a set for a hostess gift. i have to do these. i think a tiny knitted hat would be the easiest thing to put in there. i’ll have to try that.
    thanks for sharing……

    Reply

  28. Karen @ Folk Haven
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 09:23:03

    Too cute! It would be fun to make a bunch with slight variations between them. I love the hanging idea with the homespun cloth.

    Reply

  29. Lesley
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 14:17:56

    How about using some glue with part of the snow first and letting it dry and then adding a little bit extra on top so it still moves and then adding the other to it?? I may have to try it.

    Reply

  30. Lucy Gardner
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 16:15:52

    these are awesome!!! i bought a stamp that says; “snowmen fall unassembled” i am sooo making these and attaching a tag to these. too cute! thanks for the idea!!

    Reply

  31. Heidi
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 21:53:16

    Great idea I love it I will made the snowman and I will put a blue sugar for cookies and ribbons too I will post soon

    Reply

  32. Judy kean
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 12:48:43

    How about a pipe cleaner for a scarf

    Reply

  33. Em
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 16:16:20

    I LOVE THIS IDEA…THINK IM GOING TO MINI SIZE MINE AND GIVE TO NEIGHBORS :)

    Reply

  34. Kassy
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 10:54:17

    So I was thinking about the Hat Idea… why do you not make the cap of the ball the Hat. Get some black metal paint and a circle piece of black felt with hole cut in the center to slip over the lip of the ball.. Assemble the cap back on and there would be your top hat for the snowman..

    Reply

  35. carol humphrey
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 21:55:00

    I WOULD JUST CUT A HAT OUT OF BLACK CONSTRUCTION PAPPER AND DROP IT IN VERY EASY, I LOVE YOUR MELTED SNOWMAN IDEAS.

    Reply

  36. Trackback: Make Christmas Ornaments and Give Them Away (Advent Day 6) | My Catholic Family
  37. Alexis
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 00:04:53

    Thank you so much for sharing this idea!!! I found your post thru Pinterest. I did 8 of them yesterday and gave out 4 already to my son’s pre-K teachers and administrators. Next week I will give out more to my 1st grader’s teachers! I added one thing: I knit tiny scarves to include and they’re just so cute! Thanks again.

    Reply

  38. Tim Offutt
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 20:54:14

    Where do you buy your bulbs at in bulk? Been looking for them.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:11:58

      Hi Tim, I actually just bought a ton from A.C. Moore because all their Christmas stuff is on sale now and I got them for super cheap. I got a whole bag full. They are at pretty much any craft store…Joanns, Michaels, etc. Happy New Year and thanks for stoppin by! :) maggie

      Reply

  39. Trackback: Украшение «Растаявший снеговик» » The WhiteBlot's blog
  40. Alexis
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 16:13:26

    Here’s my version of your ornament. I knit tiny scarves to stuff inside and everyone raved about them. I’m just sad that I didn’t make one for myself — and everyone is out of those ornaments in my area. Guess I’ll have to wait till next year :)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 18:22:09

      I looooove the mini scarf! Definitely a cute addition! Wish I could knit…lol! I have found they are always a hit and everyone LOVES them…make extras next year, and stock up on the clear bulbs right after Christmas! Thanks for stoppin Alexis! maggie :)

      Reply

  41. Alexis
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 16:14:04

    Reply

  42. Brenda
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 01:49:19

    Reply

  43. Brenda
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 01:52:02

    Reply

  44. Trackback: 31 Days – Decorating Plain Glass Ornaments | Mrs. Bomb.com
  45. Trackback: Melted Snowman Baubles « Today's top 10 Diy Tutorials
  46. Marcia Rowe
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 20:18:04

    For the scarf, I used material from my husband’s old flannel shirt. It was a her small check and I cut small strips and fringed the ends. The shirt had a large hole in it anyway and was going to be pitched. It worked great! Any other ideas for hanging these? I used glass balls.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 13, 2013 @ 16:27:02

      I love the repurposing of the old shirt for the scarfs…I bet the flannel made perfect little scarfs! I haven’t come up with any other ideas for hanging them. I want to do some more experimenting with this project since it was a such a huge hit last year. We’ll see! Gotta get those creative juices flowing now that the holidays are here! :)

      Reply

    • Terry
      Nov 13, 2013 @ 21:24:16

      I also cut out little hats using black construction paper and they worked great. they are adorable. I am using fancy silver ornament hangers for these. Good luck. it was a fun project and easy too.

      Reply

  47. Terry
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 14:39:42

    I just came across this website and love it. I am making these ornaments as I type. the “noses” are in the oven now. Thank you so much for posting. I am hosting my family Christmas party this year and I am making one of these ornaments for each family to take home. These are the most adorable and easiest craft to make that I’ve seen in a long time. I cut up strips of old flannel plaid shirts to use as the scarfs and they look great. I wish I could knit them but these are very cute too.

    Reply

  48. chris
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 01:16:05

    Is there a way to seal the top so the salt doesn’t escape if it is turned upside down?

    Reply

  49. waterfall1530
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 08:24:13

    So cute we have an ornament exchange with our Girl Scout service unit coming up and my daughter and I will be making these :-)

    Reply

  50. Trackback: 10 Beautiful Ornaments - Craft Like This
  51. Trackback: Melted Snowman Ornament | Mrs. Bomb.com
  52. Yani
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 22:13:08

    My mum also has a thing for snowmen, so I just finished making one to give to her… complete with a couple of little twigs for arms and some red fabric ribbon that had “merry christmas” printed on it.

    Reply

    • Terry
      Dec 09, 2013 @ 20:10:16

      I just hosted our annual family Christmas party this past weekend and I gave each family one of the ornaments to take home. they absolutely loved them. I have some elementary school teachers in the family too so I told them how to make them. they are so easy to make and who doesn’t love a snowman, right?

      Reply

  53. Trackback: “Melted” Snowman Ornament
  54. Debbie
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 20:11:19

    Saw these in a small jar – like a baby food jar. Might make it easier to insert everything! :) And the top was just a piece of fabric glued on I believe. Very, very cute.

    Reply

  55. Trackback: “Melted Snowman” Ornament | The Mystic Kitchen
  56. Trackback: Seven Snowman Crafts For Kids! - So Fawned
  57. Trackback: 17 Cute and Easy DIY Christmas Ornaments | Style Motivation
  58. Hayden
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 22:15:26

    I love this I had one but then I can’t find it I want to give one to my mom this xmas

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 20:00:59

      I’m glad you saw this. I loved it too when I saw them and I made a bunch to give away at our family Christmas party and to the neighbors. Merry Christmas

      Reply

  59. Holly
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 17:10:35

    Just to let you know. I was made these for my family and mailed them across country to family for Christmas and didn’t want the problem of nose and eyes/buttons moving to the bottom or getting lost in the ornament. I poured in the salt and then poured a clear craft glue over it making sure it went all over the salt (using a tooth pick for little missed areas to get them covered) and all the way to the sides of the ornament. I then dropped in the carrot nose, eyes and buttons. The glue when dried fixed the nose and eyes and buttons to the “snow”. I was a little concerned when the glue seemed to pool around the sides of the ornament but just figured melted snow is water and it gave the appearance of water and was okay with it. However, in the morning I went back the glue had all soaked down into the salt. The salt hadn’t desolved as I feared and all was glued in place!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 21, 2013 @ 15:49:33

      Hi Holly,
      Thank you so much for that information. I will try that. I have a few left over and I think I will do what you did. I have had to “fix” them a couple of times. I live in Maine and we have two feet of snow on the ground now so Snowmen are a big part of winter in the New England area.
      Merry Christmas!
      Terry

      Reply

  60. Anne
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 15:07:39

    These are adorable. Hope your sale goes well and you have a good run with this idea. TFS before they hit the market in your area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

