Dollar Store Candles Turned Cute Country Decor

First of all, let me just say I am loving this crisp, cool, Fall weather and LOVE this time for year for many reasons, including:

Upstate New York is AMAZING this time of year…just sayin’. So anyway, on to the latest project – jazzing up some dollar store candles. I ordered this burlap jute webbing with many projects in mind, and I did put some of it up for sale in my Etsy store. I simply cut it to size and hot glued it in place. It is very thick, yet cuts easily. I experimented with candles and plain glass votive holders. I’m loving the tall candles – which can be found at any Dollar Tree.

Using a little bit of twine, I tied on some vintage-looking keys.

I kinda like the look of the burlap covering the entire glass holder. These would be cute for votives or even a small vase / plant / herb holder. I currently am using this one as my tooth-brush holder. Hehe.

Another variation on this project was using some torn homespun fabric. Again – just hot glued it.

Isn’t it cute? You could use any color fabric depending on the time of year of holiday you are decorating for!

There are so many ways you can take these projects and run. I’m thinking of doing a texture fierro coating on the outside, or a cinnamon / mod podge coating to get rid of the stark white of the tall Dollar Tree candles. Hmmm…so much to do, so little time!

If you make these, send me a pic! I’d love to show some variations of the project and see other peoples ideas. Hope everyone has a wonderful week and enjoys this awesome Fall weather! :)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 19:42:26

    Amazing how you create something so adorable yet so simple-yet more great ideas!

    Reply

  2. LC
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 21:05:08

    what a great and easy idea for those bland candles! love them!

    Reply

  3. Lila
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 17:18:21

    I LOVE your blog….wish I didn’t live so far away from your craft show…I’d be there for sure!

    Reply

  4. cheryl
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 13:04:02

    You might try decoupaging a nice sheet of darker parchment paper over the glass container of the emergency candles. Seal it with a coat after it is dry. You could also spatter it with dark brown paint . The inexpensive brown paper from the Dollar Tree is also nice to wrap around that tall glass container. You could stamp it, spatter it, and then tie something neat around it. I often use it as a background for my items that I don’t wan’t to paint. The dollar tree also has a really nice prim red and tan wrapping paper that is quite sturdy. That would be good for a wrap also.

    Reply

  5. staceylwiseman
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 21:33:15

    I stumbled across your blog and LOVE it!!! So much that I ‘bookmarked’!! Great ideas! Thank you! :)

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Dollar Store Crafts » Blog Archive » Make Country Chic Candle Holders

Leave a Reply

