Snowman Face Magnets

The first official snowfall is here! Just a light dusting, but enough to declare it winter. Don’t ya just love the first snowfall?? It makes me wanna curl up on the couch with my big fleece blanket and a cup of hot cocoa and watch ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas.’ I don’t care what people say…I will never be too old to watch Charlie Brown!

So as I said, I am on a huge snowman kick. They are so easy and fun to make…I love painting on those little faces. This time around I made a bunch of magnets, using small wooden discs found at the craft store. Spray painted white, I dotted on the eyes and mouth using a sharpie paint pen, and free-handed the nose. I hot glued on the little round magnets on the back, found at the dollar store.


I tried grubbying them up a little with some antiquing gel but it didn’t turn out too great because of the deep grains on the wood…it just didn’t look right. So I decided to leave them as is.

They were cute, but they needed something. That’s when I discovered sparking modge podge…one of the greatest inventions ever. It doesn’t show up great in these pictures, but they really sparkle when the light hits them. Here it looks like multi-colored confetti weirdness, but that’s not the case in real life. It’s the perfect amount of subtle sparkle. 😛 Oh yeah, and I added little rosy cheeks to some of em too.

I’m gonna display them on this big metal rusty star, and also on some enamelware bowls, like the blue one shown above. I am also thinking about making them into pins as well as the magnets for next year! I tried doing a few gingerbread faces and they didn’t come out good at all. 😦 I suppose I’ll try again, because I do love me some gingerbread men, ALMOST as much as I love snowmen.

On a fun side note, I posted some of the pics when I first started making these magnets, and they are now on the home page of http://www.craftyavenue.com/! How cool to see my lil magnet faces smiling at me from the “Featured Gallery Photos” section! Crafty Ave is a very cool site, with lots of fun crafting tutorials. Check er out!

TGIF, and have a fantastic weekend everyone! Stay WARM! 🙂 🙂 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LC (@jelliedkey)
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 01:09:23

    looking back through ur projects to get ideas. and this is a great one. I’m definitely gonna try this soon! Thanks for the great ideas.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Snowman Magnets | Booth #555

Leave a Reply

