Homespun Primitive Candy Canes: Take 2!

UPDATE: WENT CANDY CANE CRAZY AND ADDED LOTS MORE WITH NEW HOMESPUN…SEE THE PIX BELOW! πŸ™‚

Is anyone else’s week DRAGGING because that 4-day weekend is almost here? Ugh…I just wanna eat some turkey already!

My assistant Paco and I worked on a fun project last night – revisiting the idea of the homespun wrapped candy cane, but on a much smaller scale. As you probably saw, I made some GIANT ones a few weeks ago, which came out great (see the Christmas category if you missed it). I got the idea for these smaller, more simple homespun candy canes from another blog I stumbled upon and love:Β http://onesimplecountrygirl.blogspot.com/.

Got these tacky little candy canes at the Dollar Tree, 6 for $1…

And turned em into these! So much better now that they are a little more country. Just a little hot glue and some torn strips of homespun fabric, and wrap away!

I love the way these came out. They are so easy too, and how great would they be all over the tree?? I am hooked on homespun themed ornaments this year! As always, if you try these, send me a pic! I’d love to see!!!

UPDATE! I loved the way these came out so much that I went back to the Dollar Tree, bought a crap load more candy canes and spent all night wrapping! Here they are…I LOOOOOVE them!!!!

I think these are my favorites! πŸ™‚

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna B.
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:23:02

    Hey Maggie!
    Thanks so much for the shout out! Love how your candy canes came out. So easy and so fun! Thanks for the kind words you left me on my blog, I really appreciate it!
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Hugs,
    Donna

    Reply

  2. Cindy
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 23:21:23

    Great candy canes!! I made some, but wrapped mine with muslin and then striped them with the homespun. My sister loved them so much that she went to the Dollar Tree and got 6 pkgs of candy canes for me to wrap. She wants to put them on her Christmas tree. I talked her into coming over for a candy cane wrapping party. LOL…

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving.
    ~Cindy~

    Reply

  3. Eileen Sullivan
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 00:16:48

    Am using the homespun candy canes as favors for a Christmas luncheon for 20 ladies. Will lay them across the plate.

    Reply

  4. Shelley
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 18:47:56

    LOVE THIS! What does “home spun” fabric mean? Do you wash it a special way?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 23, 2012 @ 18:59:01

      Thank you Shelley! Homespun just means the primitive/country style of fabric, including gingham, plaid, checkered, stripped – any of those fabrics you see used in primitive crafting. There is actually a whole “homespun” section at Joann Fabrics, where you can see exactly what I’m talkin about! Pretty much all the fabrics you see on my blog are some kind of homespun! πŸ™‚ Hope that helps! ~Maggie

      Reply

  5. susan clark
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 23:22:27

    love these! want to do a primitive tree in all candy canes hopefully next year. What is the best way to tear the fabric? Do you cut it? and how wide are your strips?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 18:19:39

      Hi Susan, I usually just cut a little snippet at the edge of the fabric and then tear it. I like to tear it to get the country “raggity” look. I usually use about 1 inch wide strips (approximately) and smaller strips for the mini candy canes. Just play around and see what works; there’s no wrong way to do it! Have fun! πŸ™‚ maggie

      Reply

  6. Lynn Zawojski
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 23:29:47

    it’s 2014 and I just found you…. And i’m going to get Homespun tomorrow at Joannes, thanks to you…

    Reply

  7. megan
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 12:38:41

    Just went and got the stuff today! Love these thank you!!

    Reply

  8. Wanda A.
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 17:21:25

    Just now seeing this. What a great idea! Do you put a dot of glue with every “wrap” or just a little along the way?

    Reply

  9. Wanda A.
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 11:17:26

    Great! Thanks for the reply. Going to JoAnne’s and Dollar Tree today to give this a try!

    Reply

  10. Lorraine
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 21:08:00

    did you glue them on?

    Reply

  11. Athena Dedrick
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 23:25:17

    I made so many of these! I also wrapped with homespun fabrics. I tea stained my fabric first. Some I also wrapped with thin jute after wrapping in fabric. Some I added a button tied with jute. It was fun figuring different ways to jazz them up. It is an awesome idea. Thank you for sharing it! Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: 100+ Christmas Ornaments
  13. pam
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 01:38:43

    are these real candy canes or something like glass or plastic ornaments?

    Reply

  14. Barbara Lee
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 20:31:34

    I made some of these this Christmas. Loved them so much I made some for some friends of mine.

    Reply

  15. helene0663
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 01:55:10

    bonjour a tous je viens de dΓ©couvrir votre blog je le trouve MAGNIFIQUE mais pouvez vous me dire si vous avez une adresse mails pour commander les candy cane et les petits arbres qui sont sur les voitures merci d avance helene

    Reply

  16. Kathy
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 11:18:44

    How much fabric does it take to do one

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 02, 2015 @ 12:42:30

      Assuming it’s a standard sized candy cane, the strips were about 1 inch wide by about 10-12 inches long. It kinda depends on how tight you want to wrap it. Let’s just say you can get a lot of your fabric with these, which is what makes them a cheap but awesome craft. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  17. Sharon Dooley
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 12:51:29

    My kids and grandkids take candy canes off the tree through the whole holiday season, I think I will wrap real candy canes for them, a dot of glue at each end of the fabric should stick right to the wrapper, thank you for sharing

    Reply

  18. LeAnn
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 21:42:53

    Love these so much I had to make some!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

