Craigslist Gold: A $10 Enamel Top Table

Truly a steal for $10!!!

Have I mentioned I LOVE enamel? I’m obsessed lately and have been finding some great enamel pieces at thrift stores, for literally a fraction of the cost of those found at country decor shops! I found this awesome enamel top table buried in the ‘furniture’ section on Craigslist a few weeks ago, not too far from my house, so I sent Greg off to pick it up for me. I thought, even if it’s not in great condition, you can’t go wrong for ten bucks. To my surprise it was in GREAT shape and is sturdy as a rock. It’s perfectly worn and has a nice little lip around the edge. I just love it and am using it as one of my display tables at the craft show. I don’t plan on selling it, but for the right price I might let it go…

I have noticed a lot of neat enamel pieces popping up in country/prim decor, and I am loving it.

Around the 1950s, enamelware—regarded as a remnant of homelier eras—declined in popularity and was largely supplanted by aluminum and Pyrex cookware. The older technology refused to die, however, and returned to favor as an element of the retro country chic that gripped Canada and the United States in the late 1990s. ~Encyclopedia of Kitchen History

I’m thinkin about painting the legs black with some light distressing, like in this picture below. What do you think?

Happy Tuesday all! Two, count em TWO days til I leave for Clarkson U! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:28:45

    I think the table would look great with the legs painted black.
    Hope you have a great show!!

    ~Cindy~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

