Christmas Wagon Wheel

Well, it’s that time! I leave for Potsdam tomorrow and set up for the show at 3pm. I have the truck packed and am ready to go! Of course it’s snowing like the dickens…just my luck!

I wanted to share this last-minute project with ya’ll…this wagon wheel decorated with silicone-dipped christmas lights. I got the wagon wheel at the Christmas Tree Shop of all places! It’s a wooden reproduction obviously, but still just as cool as the originals and for projects like this. For the bulbs, I mixed silicone with cinnamon – to make it warmer and rustic looking, and dipped each little bulb individually…and yes, it took forever. I did this while they were hung up along a clothesline in my basement so they wouldn’t touch or get messed up while curing.

Cool, huh!?

The lights are tied on with jute, because I didn’t want them to be permanent, just incase the lights stopped working at some point and needed to be replaced. I was gonna use staples originally, but I didn’t want those ugly metal staples all over it…yuck.

I thought this would be an eye catcher set up in front of my booth. If no one buys it, I will happily set it out in front of my house for Christmas time…because I love it!

Well I will be out of town for a few days at the show so there will be crickets on the blog front until I get back. Then I will flood the blog with pictures from the show! Hope everyone has a great weekend! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lies
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 18:26:58

    Really like the wheel! Have fun in Potsdam, I’m looking forward to your photo-report!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 15 Super Cozy Ways To Use String Lights In Your Home Decor - Top Dreamer

Leave a Reply

