My Attempt at Marble Magnets…How FUN!!!

After two weeks of dog sitting, I am happy to be home and get my hands on some craft supplies and go to work. I haven’t done a whole lot since the New Year, so I was itching to play around with some new ideas, as seen in my last post. I decided to try the marble magnets first. They are SO much fun, but I must say they are going to take a little experimenting to get them just right.  I like the way they came out, but the perfectionist in me feels there could be some improvement. I used the tutorial found at Not Martha, but here is my experience!

You’ll need:

Clear decorative marbles – make sure they are not the iridescent ones. I found these at Michael’s.

Silicone Sealant – I could not find this at the craft store, so I went to Home Depot and found this DAP brand adhesive. It worked great! I do want to try super glue gel, as recommended on another random site. It think it would dry quicker, which would be nice.

Magazines or scrapbooking paper for your designs – I had bad luck finding little pictures in magazines so I turned to some scrapbooking paper that I had lying around. It worked great because of it’s heavier stock.

Magnets – I found these at the Dollar Tree.

Scissors – for obvious reasons. As stated at Not Martha, a large hole punch would save a ton of time!!!

Toothpick – to apply small amounts of silicone sealer to the top of the magnet.

A tip: Don’t bother using the large marbles. They are not as clear as the small marbles. It is hard to see in this picture, but images appear tinted brown through the marble. Look closely at the whites behind each marble and you can see the difference. It’s very obvious in person. Also, all of the big marbles had major defects on the back and would not create a clear image. Oh well…lesson learned!

I was going to use a small button to trace a circle around the image I wanted to cut out, but found it’s just as easy to use the magnet itself to trace. The edges of the pictures seem to stick out a lot once the marble is in place, and I don’t like that look. It helps to cut the picture slightly smaller in diameter than the magnet, as seen above. I applied a small amount of silicone sealant right smack on the top of the image and pressed on the marble. Oh I LOVE that part! Seeing the glue spread out under the marble is most satisfying. I had NO problems with bubbles at all.

Here’s my first set…not too bad for a first try!

And my second set! See how the paper sticks out a bit on the edges? This really annoys me. It can’t really be avoided because the magnets are almost the exact size of the marble. Maybe finding some smaller magnets would help? Also, once they are up on the fridge, it’s not noticeable at all.

I think I will go out and get some new scrapbooking paper and try some more soon. I want to make these as gifts for a bunch of people…the themes and ideas are really flowing!!

That’s all for now. Hope everyone had a great weekend. We are covered in snow here in western New York, and it just keeps on coming! Stay warm! Oh, and if you decide to try these, I’d love to hear about them!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. photobyholly
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 16:46:50

    How cute!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Country Themed Dollar Store Crafts « Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
  3. Lisa Copher
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 17:58:54

    i am definitely gonna be trying these this weekend! thanks for the great ideas found in this blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

