Grubby Candles and Tapers

Who doesn’t love a grubby, chunky, little candle? I decided to make some today, by modifying some small votives and tapers I had lying around. I think they came out pretty darn good! Wanna try?? Here’s how I did it!

Start out with your basic votives. I got these at Wally World.

The other supplies can be found at the Dollar Tree, except this large pillar candle which I also got at Walmart. I chose this color/scent to melt down, because it sort of matches the votives. I HIGHLY recommend using a tin pan or something disposable for this project. It’s SUPER messy and washing wax off of dishes is not easy. Trust me.

I made my own ghetto double-boiler using a small pan that set in a larger flat pan. This prevents the wax from getting too hot and burning. All of these pans have been sacrificed and are my permanent candle-making pans…I wouldn’t use them to cook with afterwards.

Pour some melted wax into the foil pan. You gotta work QUICK! Wait just a few moments for the wax to cool (just hot enough to work with), and start rolling your votives. I recommend using gloves! I just got my nails did, and I refuse to chip wax off of them for the next week!

Shake some cinnamon/nutmeg right in with the wax. Be liberal, depending on how grubby you want them. The consistency shown below seems to work best – when it’s still melted but just starting to harden. Roll the votive around and pack it on the sides, like you’re packing a snowball!

Meanwhile, Paco supervises this messy operation.

After they dry, they look like this.

Next, find a small container that the votive will fit all the way in, to dip them once more to seal. I cut down a ricotta cheese container because it’s narrow and I won’t need as much melted wax to fill it up. I knew I hoarded those plastic containers for a reason!

And dip…

Place on wax paper to dry. Once dry, I dusted them with cinnamon. Here’s the finished product! I love them!

And now for the tapers. I got these like a year ago, for 25 cents a piece, when some craft booth was going out of business. I knew I’d find a use for them eventually.

Any tall, narrow container will do. I used an old glass vase. Being tall and narrow, you don’t need as much wax to fill it up, as say a large pot. I like to melt as little wax as possible, for times sake. Then…dip, dip, dip away! *Please note the delicious roast in the crock pot in the background. Dinner tonight…YUUUM! 🙂

Roll in cinnamon mixture and re-dip. Repeat as much as you’d like, to create, thicker, grubbier tapers.

My professional candle drying rack…nifty, huh?

And here they are. I plan to finish them off by tying together with some raffia or homespun and adding a little rusty star, or something like that!

Whew. It’s a very time-consuming and MESSY project, but well worth it. I love how everything came out. Here my helper Paco rests after a long, day…

As always, if you try these, I’d loooooove to see some pix!

And now for that pot roast…..:P

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Expanding My Space At The Carriage Place, and Some Farm Fresh Finds! « Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
  2. Heather
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 19:20:57

    ok I am totally lov’n you!!!! I LOVE this site!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lisa Copher
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 15:43:38

    ran across your site today and can’t click the x for anything. lol. i also have a booth at my local peddlers mall and sale alot of teh same things (which i also try to make) Loved finding your site!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 08:28:53

      Thanks Lisa!!! I love sharing ideas with fellow junkers/crafters and find so much inspiration from other blogs out there. It’s so much fun! 🙂

      Reply

    • Lisa Copher
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 17:02:06

      btw, wanted to share a lil hint with u i’ve learned on the melting the wax method. I put my candles in a jar and sit it on a tart warmer for about 30 mins prior to making these and it saves a bucnh of mess for me.

      Reply

      • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
        Jun 28, 2012 @ 08:22:45

        Wow, thanks Lisa! That’s a great idea…one of those “why didn’t I think of that” moments!!!

      • Lisa
        Oct 03, 2012 @ 14:28:37

        I had bookmarked this for when I made tapers again. And it’s that time again! I sale alot around Halloween & Christmas. I like how yours stay skinny. I am gonna try your method on those. I always do mine like i do the votives and it makes them way too chunky to fit in the taper holders.

      • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
        Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:42:59

        Yay! Good luck! I am going to do some more of the votives very soon also – but I can’t find those skinny tapers anymore. I tend to sell more of the chunky votives anyway. I am also gearing up to make some of your larger snowman clothepins – the small ones are super cute but kind of a pain…lol…I like the ideas of using the big ones for magnets. So many freakin’ projects and so little time!!!!! 🙂

  4. Paula
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 08:10:23

    Also i seen some that a lady had addex oats to. Just aluttle on each candle… i guess just add to your cinn. mixture

    Reply

  5. krystal bevans
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 15:57:04

    I tried this and love it thank you sooooo much ,instead of using a pot i used an old soup can to melt my wax (family size soup can) it worked great,poured out what i needed then used the rest for dipping.

    Reply

  6. Lorie
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 13:17:32

    I’m confused by one thing. You melt the big pillar candle and pour in the pan. Do you save some of that wax to put in a cup to dip at the end to seal

    Reply

  7. Jessica
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 17:57:42

    Like you I hoard anything/everything I think can be transformed or recycled into my fav Primtive country decor. As crafty as I am I seem to always run into a crafting blank and give up in hopes of finding an easy to read tutorial or pics to help me along. My prayers have been answered.. I found your craft blog!! Thank you so much for making your tutorials user friendly, my husband also thanks you since I’ve turned a lot of my “clutter” into home decor!

    Reply

  8. dawn rose
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 18:22:02

    This is simply amazing n awesome all rolled up in one nifty idea. Thx so much for sharing, everyone. I cant wait to try it.

    Reply

  9. Ann Sutton
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 08:11:47

    I am attempting these candles for the first time. Wish me luck everyone! Thanks for sharing all of your ideas!

    Reply

  10. Tirzah Dawn Allen
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 18:03:39

    Just made some taper candles with these instructions and they turned out great! Thank you for the article. You are very talented and I can’t wait to check out more of your amazing ideas!!

    Reply

  11. Pam Robinson
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 19:51:49

    I love this idea will sure try and make them. The last step says to dip them but not what you dip them in could you explain for me pleas

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 05, 2016 @ 08:18:52

      Hi Pam, sorry for the delayed reply!! I just used a tall glass to dip them in to “seal” them. You could use an old drinking glass…really anything that is tall enough to dip the candle and have it be completely covered. I like to dip them at the end to seal them and give them a slightly smoother look, but it’s not a necessary step if you’re having a hard time with it. I hope that helps!!! Have a nice weekend! Maggie

      Reply

  12. Renee Baird
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 19:13:34

    Awesome job you have a great idea. Thanks for all the pictures.

    Reply

  13. Donna
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 16:50:36

    Your personality shines through in your description. Fun to read and fun to do. Excellent results. Thanks for the smiles. Happy new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

