Wooden Appliques

So things have been going GREAT at the co-op and I have been super busy trying to keep up with it! I have been doing lots of thrifting and going to estate/garage sales, picking up all kinds of little goodies to keep it stocked. I have been on the look out for mostly antiques, folk art, and just “unique” pieces. It’s so much fun being a PICKER!

My latest little craft project was re-doing a wooden wall hang that I picked up at the Salvo. I have been wanting to use these little wooden appliques on a project for a long time, so this was perfect. I got these particular appliques at Lowe’s.

I glued the star on using a little standard wood glue. Already, the piece looks so much more interesting!

I then sprayed it with a flat black spray paint.

Once dry, I sanded the edges using coarse sand paper and rubbed on some antiqueing gel to make the edges look a little more distressed. I finished it up by spraying with a coat of polyurethane. This picture isn’t that great because I took it with my phone, but you get the idea. I love how the applique really makes turned this boring piece into a fun country-themed wall decoration!

So I won’t be around for a while…I’ll be gone for the next two weeks in Italy! I am taking my Mom for Mother’s Day. I will write a blog all about it when I get home, hopefully with lots of great pictures! In the meantime, I thought I’d leave you with some updated pictures of my booth that I took this morning. Again, I took ’em with my phone, so please excuse the poor photo quality! The booth is stocked FULL….hope some stuff sells while I’m away!!!

Chao!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:22:53

    I’d like one of each Margaret! Awesome stuff!

    Reply

  2. Photo By Holly
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:58:17

    Your booth is looking awesome! Have a great time in Italy – can’t wait to see photos!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Christine
    May 25, 2011 @ 20:11:07

    Yay, the lamps are gone!!!!

    Reply

  4. Tina Walsh
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 07:31:41

    Hi, I am looking for 3 star appliqu̩s like in your pictures hanging up. There for my sons bedroom Рarmy theme he wants! Can you help please thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

