Making Over Dollar Store Candles and a Few Other Crafty Tid-Bits…

Ever see these at The Dollar Tree? They are in the tiny wedding accessories section, usually near the craft supplies. I am guessing they are meant for favors? I don’t know, but they are good quality little jar candles, and 3 to a pack is a great deal.

I knew right away I wanted to texture them, but I didn’t want to use the dark brown or the gold. I am tired of these colors and there aren’t other colors of Texture Fierro except a bluish-gray and green.

So…I mixed these two to make a light brown/tan color! I then added a little strip of homespun with the trusty hot glue gun.

I was going to embellish them with a rusty star, but I decided at the last minute to use these left over Fimo crows I made. I originally made them to mix with some Fall themed “fixins” but I had some extras…exactly enough for the candles! It was meant to be! ๐Ÿ™‚

I think they are super cute. and great for Fall/Halloween! I just LOVE crows!

The other weekend projects I have been tinkering around with are the mini clothespin snowmen for my December show. They were a huge hit last year so I made TONS!

All they need are their scarfs!

And finally, I have been working on some pins/magnets/wine corks for Fall with pumpkin faces. It’s taking a lot longer than the snowmen did, but I am liking the results. Here is a sneak peek!

ย Welp, even though it’s a crappy, rainy MONDAY morning (eww)…try to have a GREAT day!!! I am in major crafting mode…more to come soon!!!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sabine
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:35:56

    absolutly beautiful, I love the candles with the crow! Great idea, thanks for sharing:-)

    Reply

  2. christine
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 10:32:06

    Love the pumpkins! You are so get talented.

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 00:30:35

    Everything is looking great!!
    Love those little crows on the candles!!

    Reply

  4. Jean
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:32:48

    You are an amazing lady and I am having a wonderful time looking at all of your delightful items. Thank you for sharing your talent.

    Reply

  5. Jean
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:33:47

    I forgot to put a mark in the follow up box.

    Reply

  6. Myrtle
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 16:45:33

    How did you get the candles out of the glass containers? I’ve always found them to be very hard to take out and know there must be a secret. Great idea and so cute and prim!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 06, 2012 @ 15:52:50

      Hi Myrtle! I am not sure exactly what you’re referring to in this post – for those little candles, I just added the decorations on the outside and left the candle as is. In other posts I have used glass votive holders / containers and they all come that way – I usually get them at the dollar store in the candle section. If you ever have to get wax out of glass containers, I hear putting them in the freezer will help the wax slip out easier, but I’ve never actually tried it! Thanks for stopping by my blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ ~maggie

      Reply

  7. Sandy Durre
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 12:09:55

    WHERE DI YOU FIND THE CROWS AT?????

    Reply

  8. Sandy Durre
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 14:25:11

    Thanks I will have to try that too.

    Reply

  9. jeannine st pierre
    May 16, 2015 @ 17:03:27

    love, love, love you page…i can do this…

    Reply

  10. kidosmomD
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 18:42:33

    What did you use for a scarf on the clothes pins snowmen?

    Reply

  11. kidosmomD
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 12:20:40

    Thank you for your answer. Also did they come in white or neutral?

    Reply

  12. kidosmomD
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 12:50:00

    Thank you, I am doing this as it is my Christmas theme this year, red/white snowman. I needed some name tags, so they are perfect. Thank you for posting them.

    Reply

  13. Jessica Miller
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 15:33:56

    Where did you buy the paint and how much was it? Very cute!!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Sep 24, 2015 @ 15:47:09

      Hi Jessica, thanks! Unfortunately they don’t make this texture paste anymore; they discontinued it. Instead you could try the grubby cinnamon technique for a similar look (maybe 6-7 posts ago?). Sorry I couldn’t be of more help! ~maggie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

