Thrift Store/Garage Sale Make-Overs

I have been perusing lots of great sales lately and picking up some goodies to start stocking my newly expanded booth starting Sept. 1st. A few of these goodies were kind of BLAH and needed a little make over, including this sturdy, but plain, $4 wooden shelf. I have so many small items that I need to get a few more “display” pieces.

I spray painted it black, sanded it down, and gave it coat of this Walnut Restore-A-Finish; a Howard product from the new line we are carrying at the co-op. I love the results. It really brings out the wood grain that shows through the sanded paint.

I kinda went over board with the sanding and from far away it looks a little “patchy” but up close it looks okay. I don’t really care because I’m not going to try to sell this piece, I just need space to display all my other stuff! It was a good trial for the Restore-A-Finish.

This cute mini desk was picked up at the thrift store ages ago, and of course I forgot a “before” picture. It was plain wood…kinda boring, but very good quality, sturdy wood. I spray painted, sanded, and used the Restore-A-Finish on it. I love it now! 

I picked up these shutters at a garage sale for mad cheap, and I knew right away that I wanted to make some kind of hinged, folding display with them.

I was originally inspired by this picture from http://tootsweetboutique.blogspot.com/. I’ve also seen shutters as great jewelry displays, so why not ornaments or my pins? I am thinking I can use unfolded paper clips to put over the edges of the slots and hang stuff from them.

I’ve had these old hinges lying around forever and knew they’d be perfect!

Here she is after I screwed on the hinges!

Another shutter idea that inspired me was this pic from http://kindallscreations.blogspot.com/

So I painted mine black, sanded it a bit, and added some cool black & white knobs from the Hobby Lobby. I also added a wire hanger.

Not sure what to hang from those knobs, but I’ll find something!!!

And lastly, this one is kind of random. I got this plain metal horn at the Salvo and thought it would be really cute for Christmas. So I added the wire hanger, and tied on some pip berries and raffia to make it a little more country. I think it would be cute hanging on a door at holiday time!

Well that’s all for now. I can’t wait to get everything set up in the new booth and play around with the shutter displays. Oooh…the pumpkin pins would look great against the black! Just thought of that…sweet! 🙂

Have a great day! I’ll be back soon!

P.S. Send me pix of your thrift store/garage sale make-overs! I wanna see ’em!!! 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teeny
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 11:36:23

    I love the little black stool. Very cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

