Mini Country Jar Candles

I said I wasn’t going to do the jar candles again this year but I just can’t resist the Fall scents! Pumpkin Spice, Vanilla Spice, Mulled Cider, and a new one this year: Pecan Pie! šŸ™‚ I got these at Wally World, and I think they are an awesome deal. Only $1 a piece, and the scents are very fragrant and long-lasting. Also, the labels peel right off, so they’re great for crafting!

Really, why bother trying to pour your own when you can get these for $1!

Instead of making labels this year, I decided to do something EASY and not as costly, or time-consuming. I simply wrapped the jars with a wide piece of homespun fabric, wrapped with a piece of jute, and finished with a rusty star, heart, or little salt-box house. All secured with the hot glue gun. The pictures aren’t great, because I took them with my phone. Sorry. SOMEONE went to a dog training seminar and took ALL the good cameras in the house!

Originally I was done at this point, but I wanted to do something to indicate the scent. I decided to make little tags to tie around the necks of the jars. I cut down the normal size tags to make “mini grubby tags.” I stamped them with my mini alphabet stamps to spell out the scents – some of which I changed. I didn’t like “vanilla spice” so I changed it to “spice cake.” These mini alphabet stamps can be found at the craft store OR Walmart for $1 too!

Tip: I find it’s easiest to stamp multiple tags at once. Stamp the “p” on all 3, then the “u” on all 3, and so on. It’s so much quicker stamping out one whole tag when you are fumbling around with tiny stamps like this.

I don’t stress if they aren’t perfect…that just means they are one of a kind and have a little home-made charm!

I used to print out labels on brown craft stickers and just tie a piece of fabric around the neck. The labels were a pain in the @$$ to get just right, not to mention those stickers aren’t cheap or easily accessible. Cute, but just not efficient for me.

I really hope people think my new candles are as cute as I do. Guess we’ll find out very soon! If they do sell well, maybe I’ll make a bunch for the craft show in Dec.!

In other news, here are some cool thrift store finds from last week, starting with this very cool, retro scale! I am getting quite a nice collection of old scales and can’t wait to display them together.

Grapevine heart wreaths…for a buck? Heck yeah!

Two country-style boxes, both in great shape!

A round pink jar with a wire frog lid

An itty-bitty rug beater…at least I think that’s what it is! It’s so stink in’ cute!

And lastly, this cool wood pharmacy sign. Not sure if it’s a repro or not but I love the graphics and lettering.

Well that’s all for now! Has anyone else been working on any Fall crafts yet? Or am I the only one who wants Fall to hurry up and get here?! Have a fabulous weekend and BBS! šŸ™‚

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mardell
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 13:31:08

    Hello!
    I just ā™„ your candles! What a great idea. You make everything look so easy! I bet they’ll be great sellers. Nice job. I haven’t been working on anything crafty. I’ll wait til my son goes back to school.

    You found some neat treasures indeed. I’ve had awful luck w/junking this year. Haven’t been to very many yard sales etc. Boo hoo.

    Have a great weekend. :o)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 14:21:21

      Thanks so much Mardell! I hope they’ll sell well…the scents alone are so wonderful. As for junkin’…well it comes in waves. I’ll have a great couple of weeks and then a month where I find absolutely nothing. You just have to be persistent and keep on looking! The thrift stores, especially the Salvation Army, have some GREAT stuff. I go to the one in Greece mostly. Well thanks again for your nice comments…it’s because of people like you that I keep on blogging! šŸ™‚ ~ Maggie

      Reply

  2. Barbara
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 22:08:43

    Your “mini grubby tags” are awesome! I love it all! Makes me even more excited for Autumn!

    Reply

  3. cathy niggli
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 10:29:51

    very nice site

    Reply

  4. me from here
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 20:27:13

    I know this is an older post, but I was just reading back on all of your wonderful finds and tutorials (Thank you, BTW!). Just a thought on the Walmart Jar Candles that you’ve peeled the labels off and resold: I, personally, would never purchase a Walmart candle from a craft show. I know there is a cost involved for others, but I would rather put up the extra buck for something of better quality (Yankee, Swan Creek, etc) than get something that I wouldn’t even buy off the shelf from the store it originated from (no matter how cute the homespun was and the decor that dressed up the jar). But..that’s just me! šŸ™‚

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the applesauce/cin. ornie tutorial!!!!! And the grubby candle tutorial, as well. I’ve seen other tutorials that just involved dipping a candle into melted wax and covering with spices..nothing that makes it bumpy, etc!! šŸ™‚ I can’t wait to try it!!! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Sara
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 11:05:06

    Love these! So cute..how are they selling for you?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jul 26, 2012 @ 11:11:00

      Thanks Sara! Those candles sold well at my craft show which was around late Fall / Christmas time. They sold OKAY at my co-op. They definitely took a lot longer to sell at the co-op. I think I am going to make more at some point this year because they are so easy and fun!

      Reply

  6. Karen
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 16:34:15

    Were just stumbling upon your site and I love your country inspired candles! Great idea with the nice tags….Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. Heather Lee
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 14:49:33

    Quick question, do you make the little rusty hearts and stars, if not, where can I find them? Thanks! Again, love everything you come up with!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 11:48:30

      Hi Heather, no I do not make those. I used to get them from rustytin.com but that site is actually going out of business so I’ll have to find a new supplier! I have bought them in bulk through factorydirectcraft.com also. Once in a great while you’ll see them at a craft store, but you’re more likely to find them online. Hope this helps! šŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. Heather Lee
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 11:05:58

    Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Jessica Martin
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 17:55:15

    These are adorable!!! How much did you sell them for at your craft fairs?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

