Super Duper EASY Thrift Store Make Overs, and Some Pretty Jingle Bell Ornaments!

So my booth is stocked with some items found at thrift stores that ended up being really EASY make overs. Make overs that required very little time or effort. Sometimes it doesn’t take a massive over-haul with tons of meticulous painting or whatever…it’s can simply be a matter of cleaning them up and adding a small decoration to make them super CUTE!

Here’s a couple of grapevine wreaths I got at the Salvo…

I added a few rusty stars and some berries found at AC Moore (on clearance after last Fall)…BAM! Fall CUTENESS!

Remember this jar with the wooden top?

There it is, filled with mini pumpkins, after a quick coat of black spray paint on the lid. I sanded the edges…it took literally 30 seconds. The other small jar is from the dollar store, which I can’t find anymore. I’m sad, because I loved using them to fill with stuff. 😦

Found this picture frame at the Amvet. I printed out this cute Halloween poem from my favorite FREE graphics website The Graphics Fairy and it looks so adorable displayed with some other Halloween stuff! 🙂

I  found this crock lamp at the Amvet also. It was a mess. Dusty and really grimy. I cleaned it up and it looks brand new! Added this basic shade and VOILA!

This gothic looking window frame was originally REALLY tacky, covered in fake pink and green flowers. I mean COVERED…you couldn’t even see the metal bars inside the window frame. I took them off, scraped off the gobs of hot glue, and here it sits waiting for someone to scoop up and plant some herbs or small flowers in those little pots.

Lastly, these were not a thrift store find per say, but a clearance find at AC Moore’s last January. I like the snowflake cut outs on the bells, but I don’t care for the bright reflective surface.

I decided to tone them down a bit with this metallic spray paint. It’s pretty expensive, but at any give time you can find a 50% coupon on the craft store websites. I never go craft store shopping without checking for a coupon first.

Finished with a piece of twine as the hanger and homespun fabric as a little decorative tie. Wouldn’t these look neat all over your Christmas tree, or in a giant wooden bowl on the table??

You could do this same technique on smaller bells, like these below, found at the Dollar Tree! I’ve also used barn red, forest green, and a navy blue spray paint (in a satin finish, not metallic) to paint these kinds of bell ornaments. Any of these are cute for the holidays.

I’d love to try to do a post about other people’s thrift store finds and/or make overs. What’s the BEST thing you ever found at a thrift store? Send me a pic!

So anyway, I plan on trying to photograph the beautiful foliage around here and I’ll be sure to post them next time. Have I mentioned I LOVE FALL?!?! hehehe. Have a great day! 🙂

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phyllis Pajka
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 13:08:32

    Gosh I would love to wander through your shop. It looks so great in the pictures and I don’t think I can see everything. What a wonderful job you do. I can make it if I’ve ever seen it but it’s your imagination that I lack. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 12, 2011 @ 13:13:25

      Thank you Phyllis! That’s so nice!!! 🙂 It’s a lot of fun, but thinking outside the box can be tough. I have my share of “crafters block”…lol. Thanks for checking out my post and leaving a comment, I really appreciate it! Have a great day!!! ~ Maggie

      Reply

  2. Teeny
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 14:18:32

    love everything! Can’t wait to go shopping in your booth next weekend! The bells are such a great idea especailly with a little one running around. Just may try it this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

