Stamped Tea-Stained Tags

This was my first attempt at these tags and I am SO happy with the results! I have been looking for metal rimmed tags for the longest time, and believe it or not, they are REALLY hard to find! I found some at a 5 & dime store back home and cleaned them out! How awesome would these be as small gift tags, around a wine bottle neck, or for use when scrapbooking?! Here’s the “how-to” should you want to try them! 🙂

Here they are before their tea bath…

I made a very strong tea mixture of at least 10 tea bags to this small bowl of water. I have been leaning towards tea staining more and more because using coffee can leave a strong, sorta unpleasant smell on the paper. Using tea, there is no weird smell.

I let them soak briefly (too long will make the paper separate from the metal rim) and then put in the oven to bake & dry  for about 10-15 mins at 200 degrees.

They weren’t getting dark enough for my liking, so I decided to put on the broiler to really brown them. It worked great, except I left them in a little too long…

Seriously, be careful and watch them VERY CLOSELY if you are going to use the broiler! I woke Greg up out of a sound sleep with the smell of smoke…he came whipping down the stairs to see if the house was on fire! Whoops! Most of them came out great though, and were perfectly “grubby!” 🙂

I found this set of 4 small vintage lady stamps at AC Moore. I brought a tag with me to make sure they would fit inside the metal rim. I was so happy to find these! I adore their little hats and accessories!

I also found these fun little holiday stamps that were also the perfect size! Great for small Christmas gift tags!

Love how these look!!!

I tied on thin black or brown jute for the ties, found at Walmart in the jewelry-making section.

Bagged them up for my craft show…but I want to make some kind of label for the little baggies. Haven’t gotten that far yet!

Hmm…what else could you do with these? Use around wine stems as drink identifiers? Use for crafty accents? Decorate a small Christmas tree? What else???

Guess that’s it for today. I want to take some updated pix of my booth at The Carriage Place to show you all the fun holiday stuff I put out. Soon, I promise! I also have some very cool thrift store finds from the last few weeks. AHH! So much to do, so little time!!! Hope everyone has a great afternoon! 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christine
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 15:17:20

    This made me laugh 🙂 You can guess which part.

    Reply

  2. rose burns
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 08:43:15

    wonderfully eclectic!

    Reply

  3. Barbara
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 05:54:16

    I love that brown-old-look of those tags just from putting them under the broiler-very clever!!

    Reply

  4. Mardell
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 11:55:38

    Hi Maggie,
    Uuugh, been having computer issues and haven’t been able to catch your blog. Well, those tags are just the cutest! 🙂 It’s funny, one used to be able to find those things all over the place…like in every store. Wonder why they’re so hard to come by now? Glad you found some and look what you’ve created! Genius!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 12:22:04

      Computer issues stink!!! Thanks…I love those tags. I wanna tie them on everything. LOL. I know- it seems like those tags used to be everywhere and now I can’t find them anywhere!!! Even home office stores…nothing! I check everywhere I go now, because I want to make more!!! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Diane Knott
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 08:10:42

    Oh, if you want more of the metal rimmed tags: Staples! And other goodies there too! Tags by the gross! That’s how I buy mine. Envelopes too. So many paper goodies to play with!!!!

    Diane 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

