Stamped Paper Mache Gift / Trinket Boxes

Sorry for the blogging hiatus! There’s been so much going on and I have been not been in the crafting mood lately. Now that the sun is starting to shine more and Spring is here, I am getting that itch again. Barn sale season is upon us! In the mean time, here is an easy little project that I was experimenting with, and REALLY like the results!

You may remember these little snowman boxes that I did for my winter craft show:

Well, I decided to play around with stamping some of the brown paper mache boxes that were found in the same area as the white ones above.

I got all my supplies ready to go…

And I quickly found out that larger stamps work better for this project, and I’ll show you why!!!

I tried stamping on the tops like you normally would, pressing the stamp down on top of the surface. The paper mache boxes aren’t perfectly flat on the top – they are warped, have raised edges, etc. Every time I stamped them, parts of the image would be missing, like this:

So, I found out that it worked much better to lay the stamps down on their backs, and press the paper mache surface onto the stamp. That way you can press down all the way around and ensure an evenly stamped image. Hence, the larger stamps work better!

Here are some of my favorites:

I think they would be a good Christmas craft show seller, maybe $1 a piece, to use as small gift boxes.Β  I’m gonna make more because they were just plain easy and fun to make. I’ll let you know how they do!

I categorized these as a “dollar store craft” because the paper mache boxes, at $2.50 per 6 pack amount to around $.41 cents a piece. That’s not including the half off coupons that you can always find online for the major craft stores. Also, I have had a lot of luck finding really cool stamps for $1.00, like these ones from Michaels:

So have at it! Send me a pic if you give them a try! In other news, I HAD to share with you the “find” of a lifetime…thisΒ  35 drawer catalog/apothecary unit…for FREE…on the side of the road!!! That just doesn’t happen! I about died!!!

Every drawer was there, with this AMAZING original hardware…

I was all gung-ho to sell it in my booth but upon cleaning it up, I decided to keep it. After a little soap and water, voila! Isn’t she a beaut? The bottom right have drawer is there, it’s just darker than the rest. It gives it character. πŸ™‚

Well, hopefully I can get my butt up and moving with some craft projects and find some inspiration in this beautiful sunny, Spring weather. Hope everyone had a great weekend! BBS!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Van Baale
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:56:46

    I just would like to say OMG YOU FOUND THAT BY THE ROAD OMGGGGG phew i feel better… That REALLY IS the find of a LIFETIME girl! Congrats!

    Reply

  2. cheryl
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:23:53

    Wow! That is worth tons of money! You lucky thing!

    Reply

  3. LavenderHartBoutique (@LavenderHart)
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 13:48:57

    Great job cleaning that up. That could not have been easy. It looks GREAT!!
    By the way how goes the tryout for the show. Any news?

    Reply

  4. Sharron / Sharrahug
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 13:52:38

    Oh my word! what a great find! I would love to have something like that in my craft area. Wowsers!
    Thanks for the tips on stamping those cute little boxes.

    Reply

  5. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 21:18:56

    Absolutely LOVE that old apothecary unit-what a Treasure! And love those little gift boxes-agree they’d be great Christmas show sellers!

    Reply

  6. Cindy
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 21:45:55

    What a great find!! You did good!! I love it!! I love anything that has little drawers!!
    Thanks for sharing about the little boxes…thinking I might have to make some for my shows in the Fall. I’ll let you know how they turn out if I make some.
    blessings,
    Cindy

    Reply

  7. Teresa Cleveland Wendel
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 13:56:15

    Love the CLEVER little boxes and the tiny drawers. Okay, I’ll admit it. I LOVE anything little.

    Reply

  8. Lesley
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 20:25:36

    Hi there, I drop in now and again to wander around. Wow that is a find and FREE too, how very meant to be was that???
    I love those boxes, I think a little spash of one colour on the box would really be oustanding, like colour one flower only or one leaf. My mind is always thinking so I can see great possibilities here. I might have to find these boxes, TFS
    Lesley

    Reply

  9. Eva Halloween
    May 01, 2012 @ 02:14:04

    Oh, those are lovely!

    Reply

  10. Cindy Shamblin Buchheit
    May 17, 2012 @ 22:27:58

    Gosh you are so talented! Thanks so much for sharing all of your ideas! You ROCK!!
    God Bless!
    Cindy B

    Reply

  11. Bahar
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 23:21:21

    Where did you get your small paper mache boxes, I’ve been looking for some for a very long time especially since Walmart, Michael’s & Hobby Lobby quit selling them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

