A Few Good Picks

Upon driving home from the North Country on Sunday, I purposely took the back roads knowing that there would be lots of barn sales, flea markets and garage sales, as it was a GORGEOUS day. I wanted to take the opportunity to do a little “pickin” and sure enough, I found some treasures.

I got this awesome little tool box with a wooden tray inside – LOVE the robin’s egg blue paint!

A very cool metal catalog

And a giant red galvanized tub and an old crate

My favorite pick of the day is this 1920’s-30’s brass Hendryx bird cage. I don’t know why but I have a thing about old bird cages. They are so charming. I took off all the plastic feeders and toys and cleaned her up a bit. Inside it were the original glass feeders, which I have seen go on Etsy/Ebay for big bucks. I figured why not keep it all original and include them with cage.

There is a small brass plaque on the door that says Made in USA, Hendryx, New Haven, Conn. The bottom detaches with 3 metal clips. It has the most lovely patina. I am debating on keeping this piece.

Close up of the original glass feeders

Some other finds from a recent trip to Goodwill include this Samsonite vintage suitcase with a beautiful, burnt orange, satin interior. Also got this black trunk. Thanks to Country Living and magazines alike, pieces like these sell easily, as one of the latest trends is stacking these pieces for side tables or using trunks as coffee tables.

And talk about random…I had to share this little tiny pottery jug marked “Gnomes”. I think it’s so funny and cool.

I’ve got a bunch of small crafty pieces stocked up and ready for our big weekend – the Cruise-In and Flea Market which will hopefully make for a busy weekend at the co-op!

Keeping my fingers crossed for a nice day on Saturday for the Cruise-In and Flea Market. I’ll be back soon with pics. Have a great week and happy pickin!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. June Chippendale
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 11:42:30

    LOVE, the galvanized tub and BIRD CAGE!! Awesome finds!! Some day I would like to take the trip with you in the TAN VAN!!!

    Reply

  2. Florence
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 13:21:10

    Fabulous find. tfs. I am so jealous.
    Regards Florence.

    Reply

  3. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 19:36:10

    Great stuff found on a Sunday drive! Amazing what some TLC will do after you find it!

    Reply

  4. thebeadden
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 15:11:56

    Great finds!

    Reply

  5. Mardell
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 13:46:44

    Hi Maggie ~ oooh, lots of treasures! Keep the birdcage! When will you ever come across another one? It is deeelish! 🙂 Good luck @ the flea mkt. this weekend. Where is it? Gorgeous forecast in store. Sell lots & keep smilin’!

    Reply

  6. Angela
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 15:11:35

    Out of curiousity, what do you sell your small paper mache boxes for? I have some made up before I saw your post and working on prices, which is the hardest thing for me even after all these years of selling.. Mine are 3″. I am in IN. Thank you so much for your blog. Appreciate your sharing.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 08:12:10

      Hi Angela – I agree that pricing is really tough. Sometimes I still don’t know what to charge and ask friends and other vendors at my co-op for advice. I personally charge $1 per box. I find that I don’t make a huge profit on a lot of my craft items. Part of it is because I price them fairly cheap because I’d rather they sell than sit there forever, just to increase my profit margins by a little bit, you know what I mean? I have a few friends that are into crafts and craft shows, and I will often ask them “what is the most you’d pay for this” and I get a lot of good feedback that way. Well good luck and thanks for reading my blog! 🙂 ~Maggie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

