Beach Memory Jar

Thanks to Pinterest, everyone has a million mile long list of projects they want to try. One of my favorites that I was determined to do this summer is this fun beach memory jar. We just got home from vacation up in Sackets Harbor, a quaint little village on the northern shore of Lake Ontario. We have a family cottage right on the water with a small beach, where I was able to scoop up some treasures for the memory jar. Here is the one from Pinterest:

I started out with a glass terrarium jar from Michael’s craft store. With a coupon, this was about $10. I suppose you could use a large mason jar too, which would look pretty cool.

Here are some of my finds…shells, cool rocks, some sea glass, drift wood, and feathers.

For the tag, I used my quick “grubbying” technique of slathering on some gel stain (plain brown craft paint works just as well) onto an unfinished wooden tag, and then wiping off.

Then with a fine black sharpie, write whatever. “Knobby Knoll” is the name of the camp ground where our cottage is located. I tied it on with some jute.

And here she is, all finished…except I am going to eventually add a few pictures from the trip.

There were a few stunning sunsets that are a MUST for this memory jar:

In other news, I am slowly adding more items to my Etsy store, most of which are craft supplies. It seems that Texture Fierro is slowly disappearing from the shelves at craft stores, so I scooped up some for my fellow crafters that have had difficulty finding it. I also have some jute twine and cotton twine which come in handy for all kinds of projects!

I will also be adding these hang tags very soon, as I have had many inquiries about them. They are the ones I use for tea-staining. Great for scrapbooking, stamping, gift packaging, etc. I use them as backs for my pins and other small crafts that I sell at my craft show.

Some fun red and white baker’s twine…

Loads of vintage buttons (my fave)…

…And much more. Keep checking back to see what’s new!

Thanks to all you loyal followers and to those who have ordered from my new Etsy store – I appreciate it so very much! Hope everyone has a great weekend! 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 20:10:16

    Amazing how simple little things gathered together in a glass jar become priceless! Of course you enhance them all the more with your finishing touches!

    Reply

  2. Mardell
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 09:16:36

    Hi Maggie! I’m trying to catch up w/your blog. You’ve been busy. I visited Sacket’s Harbor years ago & love it up there. It’s beautiful. How fortunate that you have a family cottage! 🙂 My husband was in a salmon derby, so I pretty much walked around all day while he fished. I discovered the battlefield (?) from the war of 1812 & also walked around the old barracks/cement forts? It’s been years (26 yrs.) since I was there. I’m on my way to check out your Etsy shop!

    Reply

  3. Mardell
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 09:17:46

    I forgot to tell you that I LOVE your jar! 🙂 D’oh!

    Reply

  4. New England Accents
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 15:53:05

    So happy to see you started blogging again! I have enjoyed all your crafty tips and projects!!!

    Reply

  5. thebeadden
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 18:47:08

    Great idea!

    Reply

  6. Sara
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 14:26:41

    Very Cute idea! Love your all your crafty ideas cant wait to see more 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

