One Step Thrift Store Makeovers

Thank you so much for all of the great ideas and suggestions on how to “fix” my ruler table. I agree with those who believe it soaked up too much stain because of the light, balsa-wood material of the rulers. I ended up sanding the crap out of it and just spraying on a layer of poly. It is noticeably lighter now. I didn’t want to try to remove all the rulers because I know I used a LOT of glue and it wouldn’t be worth the time and effort. I figure I can use it as a “display” table for now and slap a price tag on it, and maybe someone will like that super-grungy look.

Next time I will either experiment with a LIGHT stain BEFORE gluing them down, or not use stain at all…just a clear coat! I actually kinda like it now, even though it still doesn’t look like the original “Pinterest” project. Lesson learned!

Some other projects that have been in the works are a few easy makeovers of some items found at thrift stores. The first one was this awesome, primitive set of pine drawers, missing one knob. I’ve been looking high and low for a matching knob but of course couldn’t find one.

Since I didn’t have 4 matching knobs, I decided to change them out for 4 white, mis-matched knobs! Took off all the knobs and drilled larger holes for the NEW knobs!

Here are the knobs I chose! It’s now a functional storage piece with a little sass! Even though the knobs are different, I feel like it “works”…what do you think?

I got this large “S” from the thrift store for super cheap. I scooped it up immediately because I know large letters, either spelling out a word or by themselves, are a very popular decorating trend right now. It had some scratches and was really dirty. After dusting it off a bit and a fresh coat of black satin spray paint…

It will wait for that special “S” name person to pick it up and hang it on their wall!

And lastly, my favorite makeover, this mason jar lamp turned chic button lamp! I got the mason jar lamp base at the salvo (I know, I couldn’t believe it either) and picked up the shade at Walmart for $8. I have been looking for a shade forever and this one was so awesome I had to splurge a bit!

I filled the mason jar with charcoal gray buttons that matched the shade perfectly. I put a toilet paper roll stuffed with brown craft paper down the middle so I only had to use half the buttons to fill it up. I use this trick to preserve “fillers” and therefore save $!!!

How adorable is this lamp?? “French-cottage-chic”, or something like that…

Hmmm…to keep or to sell…that is the question….

Hope you enjoyed my mini makeovers, that really required very little effort! I love EASY!!! Have a great weekend my crafty blog friends! πŸ™‚

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Junkin' June
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 18:31:48

    LOVE the lamp! Love the 4 drawer with mismatched knobs…. ooohhhh aaaahhhh wwwwoooooowwwww – you are amazing!!!

    Reply

  2. Norma Goodale
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 18:36:09

    love your ruler table! loved it before the redo!! don’t know where you live but I want to shop in your stores! nothing that good around here.

    Reply

  3. tara
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 20:08:05

    I want the s!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Cheryl
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 21:40:56

    The 4 drawer box is wonderful. I wish I lived close to your shop! How much is it?

    Reply

  5. Lesley
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 21:52:41

    Oh very impressive. I like the redo on the table. Looks nice and worn now.
    The drawers with mismatched knobs is a great idea. You could remember which drawer had whatever in it but the drawer knob. Good for the memory. LOL
    Love all your finds you have a real knack for makeovers.
    Lesleyβ™₯

    Reply

  6. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 10:31:13

    Love the mismatched knobs. I do that with earrings. I have many favorite pairs where I’ve lost one of of the two so I wear a different one with the remaining earring and no one seems to notice-or maybe they do!

    Reply

  7. Sara Hayes
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 18:41:41

    The desk looks great! I bet you will sell it. I love the lamp its so cute!! If you sell id like to know the price πŸ™‚ I live in Va though so a little ways from your area. The drawer idea is very awesome..its looks so cute how you have it set up.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 10, 2012 @ 07:59:48

      Hi Sara! Thanks – I actually really like the desk now. I didn’t at first, but it has grown on me! And yes, I did decide to sell the lamp! I love it but I have enough cute lamps. πŸ™‚ I have it priced at $28 at my co-op. If you’d like, I can ship it to you but I’d have to figure out shipping costs. Let me know! ~Maggie

      Reply

  8. Allie
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 18:52:30

    I think with the ruler table on Pinterest, all the rulers were stained lightly in different colours – possibly even with thinned inks, acrylics or watercolours (it’s worth experimenting on the backs of the rulers before fixing them) – and left to dry before being glued and varnished or just waxed (putting the wax on with very fine steel wool leaves a lovely smooth surface). Could you do another layer of rulers on top carefully?

    Reply

  9. Stephanie S.
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 08:55:50

    I would LOVE to have that S as my name is Stephanie. Please let me know! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Kellie
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 23:57:50

    Where do you purchase your boxes of buttons from? We use buttons in our crafting, but are having a tough time finding a good source. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 07:18:21

      Hi Kellie, I actually got them from a random dollar store that I stopped at years ago. Not a chain, so sorry I can’t remember the name. Something like Great Deals. I stumbled upon them so I think your best bet would be to just look online for buttons in bulk, and also check all your local dollar stores. Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

