More Craft Show Display Ideas

The craft show preparations are in full swing! That means tying up lots of loose ends and coming up with some new, creative ways to display my stuff. I did a post a while back on craft show display ideas, but here are a few fun ideas I have decided to go with for this years show!

My favorite display utilizes this little red suitcase that I picked up off the side of the road…for free! It was in good condition except for the inside missing some fabric. An easy fix…

I hot glued on a square of red & green fabric and tucked the edges underneath the cute red ruffles. I will use a small crock to separate the mini candy canes!

How cute is this little suitcase?? πŸ™‚ A simple safety-pin holds up a string of twine that I will use to hang up more candy canes!

Next I needed a place to display my gazillions of magnets I made this year. I literally have probably 10 times the amount of magnets, between the snowman clips, the sparkly snowman faces, and the marble magnets. I decided to dedicate this board to hanging up enamel pans, which the magnets will stick to! I’m always picking up colored enamel pans when I am out and about, for this very reason!

I recently got ahold of this cool old coal bucket from my Grandma’s house. I am not going to sell it, but I will use it as a display for my primitive tree toppers. I find it so much more visually interesting than say a plain basket or plastic container. In my opinion, displays like this really work to create that primitive/country feel you want in your space!

Another idea I got was to use this old seed bag cart to hang up ornaments and pins. I tried selling this cart at the co-op forever, to no avail. It’s been sitting in my basement because I knew I would find a use for it eventually. All I did was hammer in a few nails and voila! It will add height and visual interest to my table!

I have been debating on how to display the melted snowman ornaments because of how fragile they are. I also don’t want them swinging around and burying the eyes and noses down into the snow. I think I am going to prop them up on mason jars of varying heights.Β  Think of how cute this would look as a line of colored, vintage bulbs along a mantle!

And lastly, I finished up a batch of country night lights and was going to hang them up. Instead, I went with them fanned out in a shallow basket.

I have had a busy few days and finished up a TON of projects! I am so proud of myself for gittin-r-done!!! Here are some pics of some of the finished projects! Starting with my #1 best seller and personal favorite…the homespun candy cane!

And this year, some MINI candy canes too! I was going to tie them together in small bunches, but I think I’ll sell ’em individually instead.

My annual snowman magnets…changed up the faces this year. Some with eyebrows and no mouths!

I haven’t had good luck selling my rag balls individually, so I decided to bag them up. Maybe a new look will help them sell as an instant collection of bowl fillers.

And last but not least, some sets of marble magnets. All packaged and will hopefully scream “stocking stuffers!” I have tons of single magnets, so I thought some themed groups would be fun. Cupcakes, leaves, pirates, hieroglyphics, vintage machines…something for everyone! πŸ™‚

Hope you all had a great day and until next time, happy craftin! πŸ™‚

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kren101@live.com
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 02:57:14

    I made some melted snowmen ornaments for a craft show I did last week and sold one as I was setting up the display. Thank you for the idea!!! However because people were so interested in them they were shaken until they started coming apart. I took them down to save them. I have since glued the toppers on and will try again at another show next month. Hopefully, it will work out better.

    On another note can you please tell me about the small block ornaments with the snowmen and stars? They look super cute!!

    Thanks again!!!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 21, 2012 @ 09:37:15

      Thank you! I am debated on gluing the tops down on the melted snowmen because I am terrified of them coming apart and salt getting everywhere!!! lol. I actually ended up dumping out some of the salt to make them lighter to hopefully avoid that from happening. As for the small block ornaments, I can’t take credit for those. I got them from a craft outlet store because they were so darn cute. I did intend to try to copy them but never got around to it. I’ll add it to my never ending list of crafts I want to try! haha. Good luck at your show next month! πŸ™‚ Maggie

      Reply

  2. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 07:27:06

    I LOVE all of the above and how you’ve cleverly used old stuff to display them-only enhancing their appeal!

    Reply

  3. Cindi Loretz
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 16:50:18

    Oh how I wish I was close enough to come to a craft show where you are, i LOVE EVERYTHING!

    Reply

  4. Shari
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 19:12:07

    I LOVE all your things. You are very talented. I was wondering if you could tell me where you get the small rustic stars that you put on your night lights?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:44:38

      Hi Shari! Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ I don’t sell them, but I get all of my rusty tin shapes from rustytin.com/. I usually order in bulk, and I have found that they are the cheapest of all the craft supply places I have looked. They also have great customer service, I’d highly recommend them! Thanks for reading my blog! Have a great day!~ Maggie

      Reply

  5. cheryl
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 23:50:52

    I have also tried to sell some rag balls and haven’t had much luck. I put them in a painted wooden salad bowl, single salad size, but that didn’t help either. Hopefully, you will have better luck in a bag. I have seen some people put them in the large glass canister jars and use a tube of cardboard inside so you don’t need so many rag balls to fill it. If you can pick up the jar on the cheap, this might be another way to try to sell them.
    I love the enamel pans, also. I can’t seem to get enough of them. LOL
    Have many happy sales:) I always look forward to your posts since I repurpose and refurbish old stuff, too. I feel good when I remake something second hand that came from China I figure if someone buys it this time around, then that is one less thing they will buy from China.

    Reply

  6. Mardell
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:47:02

    Hi Maggie!
    You sure have been busy! Love everything you’ve done. Your thinkwheels must be constantly spinning! πŸ™‚

    Good luck w/your show ~ wish I could go!

    Reply

  7. Nancy
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 10:38:41

    Such great ideas ! Thanks !

    Reply

  8. Crystal Goodrcih
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 11:55:48

    I just found your site and I love all of your crafts and mounds of help and information. Just out of curiosity, how much are you selling the large wrapped candy canes and the mini candy canes for? Your displays are also beautiful. Do you ever come down to Pennsylvania for any of your shows?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 22, 2012 @ 12:27:30

      Thanks Crystal! The wrapped candy canes are my best selling item for sure! I sell the large ones for $1 each or 6 for $5. The super tiny ones I am going to sell for $.50 a piece. I haven’t been out of state with any craft shows…yet! Right now I have my one big show each year up in Potsdam, NY (way north, near the Canadian border). I hope to some day go to some of the bigger shows around the North East, but for now that’s just a dream! Thanks again! Maggie πŸ™‚

      Reply

  9. Pat Connor
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 17:28:22

    Do you do any shows in the Rochester area? I live in Greece and absolutely love what I am seeing on the blog.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Oct 23, 2012 @ 08:15:15

      Hi Pat! Even though I live in Rochester (I live in North Greece! Small world!), I don’t do any craft shows in this area. I just do the one big show up north because my friend lives up there. I do however have my booth at The Carriage Place in Brockport, and sell some of my crafts there. I am vendor #84 and currently have 2 booths there. It’s a neat little co-op if you ever get a chance to make it out! πŸ™‚ Maggie

      Reply

  10. mary r
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 21:26:54

    Such cute displays! So clever! Thanks for the inspiration! (o; Mary

    Reply

  11. Mary Lynn Parson
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 16:54:16

    Maggie, your creations, displays and generosity are all top-notch! As a fellow crafter and primitives admirer, I simply love the way you use vintage items to display your wares. You seem to work as hard at display as you do at creating the actual item! I so appreciate your openness to share it all with us! I am doing a small show in Oil City, PA on Dec. 1, and will use some of your sweet display ideas! Thanks once again, and best to you in your art career!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 13:19:54

      Thank you Mary Lynn, I am so very happy to share ideas with my fellow crafters! I also get many great ideas from other bloggers, or observing the way other crafters / artists display their stuff at shows! I truly believe that a display can sell an item – the “atmopshere” or “theme” you create really enhances your crafts! Best of luck at your show and thanks for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! πŸ™‚ maggie

      Reply

  12. Trackback: Craft Fair Booth Ideas: Get Inspired
  13. POP cardboard displays
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 14:35:09

    Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

    Reply

  14. Booth555 (@jelliedkey)
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 15:42:38

    Hi Maggie! I’m once again revisiting your site for more fall and winter craft ideas! Today’s cool weather is getting me a little bit more back in the crafting mood. My craft booth has been lagging the handmade items these past few months, so time to gear back into them! I love all the ideas I find here! Thanks!!!
    -Lisa
    http://www.booth555.com

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 14, 2014 @ 08:09:18

      Hey Lisa! I am such a freakin slacker this summer and have done virtually no crafting, and it sucks! We opened a boarding kennel last Fall and it’s really taking off now, which is great, except I have all these projects I want to do but no time to do them! Fall and Winter holidays always inspire me, and the cool weather too, like you said. Hopefully I can work on some stuff very soon. Hope you find some ideas here but sorry there isn’t anything new to share! I love your blog too and go to it for inspiration as well. Have a great day and can’t wait to see what you make next, or your spin on some of the ideas here. Thanks again!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

