Strawberry Cool Whip Santas

Merry Christmas Eve! First off, I’d like to announce the winners of the stamp give-away! Congrats to Matt, Linda, and Carolyn! Thanks SO much to all who left such kind words about my blog! It’s so much fun to get feedback and I appreciate every single comment that was left! Thank you ALL for your support! I will definitely be doing more give-aways in the future, this was FUN! πŸ˜›

winners

So in honor of Christmas, I thought I’d share these little guys I whipped up for my office Christmas party. As you may know, I have a mild addiction to Pinterest…and I know most of you do too! πŸ™‚ You’ve probably seen these and have them pinned on your Christmas Treats board somewhere! They were just as easy as they look, and are SO incredibly yummy! I give this project 2 thumbs up!

DSC_0501

I’ll share my process, although it’s pretty self-explanatory. I would highly recommend Cool Whip Frosting instead of regular Cool Whip or whipped cream. This new Cool Whip Frosting (cream cheese flavored….SCORE!) is a little more dense and will hold up the hats a better, where as the others seem to be too soft and more likely to run. I used chocolate sprinkles as the eyes.

DSC_0494

Pre-slice the tips of the berries, or the “hats”…

DSC_0495

And fill a Ziplock bag full of your Cool Whip frosting. You can use a frosting bag tip like this if you want, or not! I prefer Ziplock’s to frosting bags because there is no cleaning involved…just toss ’em when you’re done.

DSC_0496

Pile on a little santa head…

DSC_0497

Add the hat, and dab a little bit of frosting on the tip of the hat!

DSC_0499

Add your eyes, and done! I put them in cupcake papers for easy grabbing and transport πŸ™‚

DSC_0500

Some are fat, some are small…but they are allllll delish!

DSC_0502

I just love these! They may become a regular on the annual Christmas treat list!

DSC_0504

I shall leave you with a one of my favorite holiday illustrations by the one and only macabre artist Mr. Edward Gorey! Wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

EdwardGorey

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 06:32:05

    Strawberries and cool whip sound good to me! So cute-I’d probably eat them as soon as I made them! Merry Christmas Margaret and thanks for sharing great stuff all year long!

    Reply

  2. Lynda Bart
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 06:36:35

    Thank goodness I found your site!! What a trove of crafts to try. I’m already anxious to begin and I’ve only just visited one time. Thank you for all the excellent ideas!! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Reply

  3. tara scott
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 08:48:18

    These are so cute! Great job Vito! This cool whip frosting is local too…they make it in Avon!

    Reply

  4. Linda
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:16:24

    I’m so glad I found your blog, and not just because you drew my name as a winner! 😎

    Reply

  5. bymy2hands
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 00:16:18

    Too cute. I love those strawberry Santas!

    Reply

  6. megan
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 22:31:10

    Just a note to let you know this post was featured on the At Play Blog today.

    http://atplayonline.com/2013/07/17/delicious-christmas-inspiration-in-july/

    We have over 1,400 recipes and craft projects at http://craftsatplay.com/
    I hope you’ll stop by

    Megan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

