Scrabble Tile Wall Art

I am finally starting to get my crafting mojo back after a few months of the winter blahs, thanks to some of my fellow crafters and friends who have been sharing some great ideas and projects lately! My friend Sara made this awesome wall plaque using burlap and Scrabble tiles, which I would LOVE to recreate for my booth at The Carriage Place!

207306_368802793226565_694998268_n

I just adore the burlap and scrabble tiles together, so I decided to make a shadow box for my friend with the names of her expanding family. She is due in a few months to add a little boy named Henry to the crew!

So here are the supplies I used! An 8″ x 10″ shadow box from Joann’s, some Scrabble tiles that I found at Goodwill (bought the whole game for $2 and now have 100 letters to work with! Great deal!), some burlap, rusty tin shapes to accent the final project, and my trusty glue gun!

DSC_0102

I would recommend laying out your names/words ahead of time to make sure they fit properly in your frame or shadow box. As you can see from my drawing, the names fit nicely on an 8.5″ x 11″ piece of paper, but I couldn’t find a shadow box in that size. Now that I am done, I would have liked to get one a little bigger than 8″ x 10″, as it was cutting it a bit close to the edges. I think it would have been more visually appealing to have some space around the names – see the final product and let me know what you think!

DSC_0104

I laid the names out on the cardboard insert to make sure they fit!

DSC_0105

I then hot glued the pieces together, to make it easier to line them up on the background.

DSC_0109

Cut the burlap to the size of the cardboard insert of the frame or shadow box. It was easy to cut it straight using the lines of the burlap as guides.

DSC_0111

Warning: the burlap gets everywhere when you cut it! If you have an anal-retentive significant other like I do, I would suggest laying down some newspaper or else you’d be cleaning up all the little burlap fuzzies that cling to EVERYTHING! hehehe…

DSC_0113

I used small dots of hot glue on the corners and around the edges to hold the burlap background in place.

DSC_0114

Lay down the puzzle-pieces and glue the names together! Make sure they are straight!

DSC_0115

I tried many different rusty tin accents, from little salt box houses, to hearts, to stars. I decided to go with one large star in the corner; I didn’t want it too “busy”.

DSC_0118

Tip: Use a blow dryer on the hot setting to dissolve any hot glue string that may be on your project. After a few seconds they just disappear! πŸ™‚

DSC_0120

And here’s the final product! Again, I wish there was more space above the “M” in Melanie and below the “Y” in Henry. Because of my mild OCD tendencies, I may just have to go back and get a 12″ x 12″ shadow box and replace the 8″ x 10″. It’s really bugging me! lol.

DSC_0123

UPDATE! πŸ™‚ I got a slightly larger shadow box (10″ x 10″) to create a little more space above and below the names. It was bothering me how scrunched they looked. This new shadow box is perfect! I also corrected Christine’s name…it was spelled wrong, in case anyone noticed! πŸ˜‰

DSC_0125

I also thought I would share some updated photos of my booth at the co-op after a little re-organizing! I like to just move stuff around once in a while to keep it looking “fresh” and different. There are not a lot of crafts in there; more antiques and vintage items. I hope to get some more hand made stuff in there this Spring!

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0039

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

Thanks for stoppin’ by! Happy crafting! πŸ™‚

P.S. I apologize for the random links in my post(s), that when you hover over them with your mouse, says “coupon drop down” or something like that. I am not making those linksΒ  –Β  it’s must be a virus or spam type action that’s automatically appearing here and there. Don’t click them. Sorry! 😦

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheryl
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 14:03:50

    Everything looks great in the shop:)
    Love the little cupboard with the wire in the openings. I really need a bigger house, and this one is pretty big!
    I think you scrabble frame looks great. The spacing with the star seemed to work out just fine. I have used fabric to cover things and put some mod podge on one side to make it stay nice and flat. I also love to use the red and tan checked paper from the Dollar Tree as backbrounds, especially on larger surfaces and in frames with a print on. It decoupages nicely,too, and of course, is a great price:)

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 12:45:56

      Thanks so much Cheryl! I love that cupboard too – it was a Craigslist find! πŸ™‚ I always say the same thing when I get a good piece like that…I need a bigger house because a lot of what I buy for my booth, I end up wanting to keep! haha. I am a huge fan of that red checked paper from the dollar store…I haven’t been able to find it in a while. My dollar store is pretty sparatic with their stock so I am always checking for it so I can stock up. Thanks again for you comment! Love your Etsy store by the way!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Booth #555
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 18:59:31

    Awesome idea on the scrabble tiles! I’m sure they will love the shadow box!

    I have oodles of burlap, now I have an idea of what to do with it. Have you seen the wreaths made from burlap on Pinterest? they are cute. I love looking at the pics of your booth. My booth is lacking a lot of crafts too right now..Hope to fill it up soon though.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 12:43:38

      Thanks! I am just realizing all the possibilities! I have tons of burlap too and was glad to find a good use for it. I also am planning on doing some small frames with burlap backgrounds and displaying a skeleton key or something like that. So many ideas flowing! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. sharon
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 14:26:39

    Looks great but is her name Christine or chirstine?

    Sharon

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 14:48:26

      Hi Sharon – I was waiting for someone to notice! It’s spelled Christine, but I spelled it wrong! Darnit! lol. I am going to re-do it anyway in a slightly larger shadow box so I will fix it then! πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Sharon
        Mar 04, 2013 @ 15:00:10

        Whew! I thought I was reading it wrong and said no cant be. I do like it and I’ve got lots if tiles. Keep up the great work!

        Sharon

  4. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 20:36:29

    Love those scrabble names! Wish you had a booth nearby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

