The Redneck Wine Glass

I have been wanting to do this project forever! It’s the one and only “Redneck Wine Glass”! I’ve seen them everywhere from Etsy to Bass Pro Shops to our very own Finger Lakes Wineries, and they sell anywhere from $10-$20 a piece! This leaves a lot of room for profit if you decide to make them yourself! I have always thought they’d be a great item to sell at my co-op considering we are kinda out in the country. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love how they came out and am so excited to share them with you!!!

Start out with mason jars and clear candle sticks. I got all of these at The Dollar Tree, but I am sure you could get them even cheaper if you did some thrifting!

DSC_0121

My glue of choice was E-6000, as many other tutorials had suggested. I have seen mixed feedback on using E-6000 for this particular project. Some people say that it does not hold. Others have never had a problem, even after multiple (hand) washings. My glasses seem quite sturdy and I could not pull them apart, even with great force. On the tags I made, I recommended hand washing to prevent breakage (many reports of them falling apart were only after they went through a dish washer!)

DSC_0286

The E-6000 dries crystal clear. Use a good amount of glue to ensure a good seal!

DSC_0283

I let mine sit like this, undisturbed for 4 days. Those who had problems with them falling apart mentioned they had only let them dry for 24 hours. I’d definitely recommend letting them dry for at least 48-36 hours or more before handling them!

DSC_0289

Next, for the tags, I used this brown kraft paper I got at the craft store. It’s a thin card stock and was perfect for these tags!

DSC_0292

I made up some a little blurb for the tags: “The Official Redneck Wine Glass ~ Hey yโ€™all – You donโ€™t have to be a hillbilly to enjoy this one of a kind glass, but you do have to have a sense of humor! Fill โ€˜er up with your favorite wine, beer, or moonshine, kick up your heels, and GIT-R-DONE! Care instructions: Hand wash in warm soapy water & air dry.” This text is a combo of tags I found online with my own twist. ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to use this wording if you are thinking of making your own tags!

DSC_0294

I used Microsoft Powerpoint to lay out the text, saved the file as a PDF, and kept making test prints to get the size right. I kept shrinking the font size til the blurb fit perfectly into my tag hole-punch! This tag punch is a large one – 3.5″ tall by 2″ wide.

DSC_0297

To add some color, I traced the lids onto some scrapbook paper to make little lid covers. I used gingham and stars – but you could customize your glasses for any occasion by using different lid designs and themes! ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0298

And here they are! I tied a small strip of burlap on the stem of the glass (you could use raffia or torn homespun too) and then tied on my little tags with some twine.

DSC_0299

DSC_0302

DSC_0304

Woohoo! I looooove them! I only made 6 for now but am totally making more! I’ll let ya know if they do well at the co-op! Hope everyone has a Happy St. Patty’s Day!

StPat_ParadeSnoopy's

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booth #555
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 19:01:40

    yours look awesome! A booth pretty close to mine already sells these or I would try them. Heck, I should try them anyways and do like you did by adding a lot of detail. Theirs are plain, with no character. So I might have a chance lol. Thanks for letting us use your wording!

    Reply

  2. cheryl
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 21:53:23

    Keep your eye out for candle holders that have a thicker top. I have used candle holders to make pine cone trees, and I found lots of second hand candle holders. When I went to glue the stuff together, I noticed that not all candle holders are equal. Some have nice wide lips to hold the glue and therefore make for a better cementing. I find them at second hand stores for pretty good prices, and they are generally a little nice than what is at the dollar stores.

    Reply

  3. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 06:21:35

    Love your extra touches! I bet you sell right out!

    Reply

  4. cathys niggli
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 12:19:36

    think andrea would like a set for her birthday – !
    good job -once again!

    Reply

  5. Mardell
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 14:11:31

    Hi Maggie!
    Those are awesome! They’ve become quite popular over the past year or so. Love me some redneck! LOL

    I make garden totems from vases, plates, cups etc. & I use E6000. Have never had a problem with this glue (a little stinky, but I can handle that!)

    Hope you have a happy Easter. Whatever happened to your darling puppies?

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 16:19:53

    Love making these, simple and so cute. Gave my nephew a set for Christmas for his new home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

