Single Stem Vases

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all my fellow Irishmen & women! πŸ™‚ Before I get to today’s craft project, I thought I’d share an update on the primitive crate shutter I made. I finally found a little pip berry wreath at my friend June’s antique store, and it was the perfect size to place right in the center of the shutter! Woohoo!

DSC_0455

I used some thin green floral wire to tie it on the shutter, sliding it between the slats of the crate boards, and securing on the back.

DSC_0456

I then used some jute twine, knotted through the pre-existing holes (from where nails held the crate pieces together) to make a hanger.

DSC_0457

It’s heading over to my co-op this week. I am putting $22 on it. It only cost a few bucks to make – the pip berry wreath being the only expense. The rest of the supplies were on hand, and I was able to re-use an old dilapidated crate that may have otherwise gone in the burn pile! πŸ™‚

DSC_0458

Ok, and not for the single stem bottles project. It’s a “dollar craft” because these awesome little bottles are only $1 at Michael’s craft store! The rest of the supplies I had on hand.

DSC_0441

You can accent the bottles with whatever you’d like! I decided to use rusty tin stars, little enamel number plates, and some skeleton keys. You could also use buttons, twine bows, little pip berry sprigs, faux berries or flowers, sea shells, antique broaches…be creative!

DSC_0443

Took a strip of torn homespun fabric and used a hot glue gun to secure it in place.

DSC_0444

Here are the finished bottles! They could be used for general decor or as single stem flower vases! πŸ™‚

DSC_0446

DSC_0452

I am going to price them at $4 each and see how it goes!

DSC_0454

And last but not least, some great thrift store finds! It’s quite a random collection of items, but cool nonetheless! I found a mint condition 1957 Chevy model car, a chunky primitive candle, a beautiful vintage brass and enamel bowl, and an old brass Eiffel Tower bottle opener!

DSC_0439

I also found a colorful enamel pot, a wooden wall decor/candle holder, and another little brass elf dude that I could not resist. Vintage brass seems to sell really well on Etsy and in te co-op.

DSC_0438

The major score of the trip was a bag of vintage brass horse buckles / tack medallions, in a variety of designs and shapes. I thought they were trivets at first, but upon further research I found that they are used to decorate horse tacks and bridles. They are collectible and are oh so cool!!! Some will go to the co-op and some on Etsy!

DSC_0433

DSC_0436

Hope everyone has a fantastic St. Patrick’s Day! Cheers! πŸ™‚

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Copher (Booth555)
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 13:23:30

    Love the shutter! This caught my eye cause I recently made some of pine boards. BUt I LOVE the true aged look of yours way better! And the little bottles! I won a bag of old glass (guessing creamer glasses) at an auction and was just making them last night. I put white paint in them to make it look like “milk” and wrote milk 5cents on the front. I am definitely gonna add some fabric and cuties now because yours look AWESOME! Great idea with the old crates by the way!!!
    -lisa

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 17, 2014 @ 13:52:22

      Thanks Lisa!!! I’m so excited at how the shutter turned out, and the best part is how easy it was. I hope to make more of them soon. Your little milk glass jars sound pretty awesome! You should post some pics when you get your primitive booth back together. I must admit I am happy to see you’re going back to the primitive theme!! The colors were pretty but you make WAY too much awesome country/prim items to not be displaying it all!! I look forward to more of your posts! Happy Spring! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 19:14:44

    I’m a sucker for old wood anything-crates, blinds, boxes. To me they hold a lot of history-love your old crate board and how turned it from an eyesore into eye-catching.

    Reply

  3. Cindi Poulson
    Mar 19, 2014 @ 12:36:20

    Love all your fab ideas! Can you tell me what size the jars are? I’d like to make some of these to go in my kitchen window! Love the old wood hanger too! Thanks for helping us all keep crafty!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Mar 21, 2014 @ 08:17:57

      Hi Cindi! The jars are pretty small, maybe 4 inches tall and 2 inches across the bottom. I found them in the dollar bins at Michael’s. They would be perfect for a window sill! Thanks for your comment and for following my blog! We all need a little crafty motivation sometimes!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Cindi Poulson
        Mar 21, 2014 @ 13:35:04

        Thanks so much! I can’t wait to get started on them! I love this site/blog and patiently await your new posts/ideas! πŸ™‚

  4. Pam
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 16:13:50

    Once again, great and cute little gifts with the jars. Love the wreathe on the board.

    Reply

  5. Courtney @ Housewifery
    Jun 19, 2015 @ 09:25:45

    I love the shutter you made! What a cute idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

