Wooden Primitive Country Flags

Hello my crafty friends! So I was out and about garage sale-ing last week, and I found this box of wood pieces for super cheap. My craft mo-jo slowly came back to me as I was flooded with ideas on how to use them. My first thought was little flags, kind of similar to the wood, country-style, flags that people make out of old fence posts. They came out so cute and are going to my booth at The Carriage Place next week. Here’s the “how-to”!

DSC_0003

First I spray painted them red and white and let them dry for a few hours. I then glued the pieces together using Elmer’s Wood Glue and let them dry over night. They are solid as a rock!

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

Then I hand painted on the blue part using some acrylic paint I had on hand.

DSC_0014

I sanded them a bit and then used a gel stain to get a more primitive look. Basically you just squirt it all over and rub it on and then wipe it off with a paper towel. It gives it a more rustic, weathered look. You could also do this with plain brown paint if you can’t find the gel stain.

DSC_0191

I experimented with hand painting stars and did not like the look of them. I got really lucky and found some white metal stars I had stashed away and they worked perfectly. If you don’t have access to the tin/metal stars like these, you could easily stamp them or paint them on. Here are the finished pieces!

DSC_0193

DSC_0194

Finally, the last step was to install some sort of hanger. I went with my trusty saw tooth hangers that you can pick up at any hardware / home improvement store.

DSC_0189

Ok, now I need your help! I also painted these ones below pretty beachy colors. I had planned on doing kind of funky row of houses, where I’d paint little windows and doors on these. It was a great idea in my head, but after starting to paint the windows, it looked kind of dumb. What else could I do with these? I was thinking maybe turn them to the side and do a “beachy” kind of flag? I have a huge pile of them and am drawing a blank. Any suggestions??

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

Before I go I wanted to share some pictures of my booth that I just did a major overhaul on! There really aren’t a lot of hand made crafts in my booth right now; mostly antiques and vintage items. I hope to get some more hand made items in there soon! A lot of my new inventory I found at thrift stores, garage sales, and Craigslist. I found some real treasures and wish I could keep them all! If only I had more room in my house to decorate!!!

10004075_10202713467730147_1155920464579142158_n

10338300_10202713468730172_3286030086338539867_n

10366040_10202713467490141_7791105867570785268_n

10367594_10202713467210134_1030687936214801429_n

10383553_10202713466930127_16461110583337149_n

Hope you have a great day and thanks for stoppin’ by! Happy crafting!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 09:26:42

    For the beachy ones, what about placing a large seashell, sand dollar or star fish in the center…or you can turn the points in different directions and make them in to arrows and write the names of different locations on each arrow. Love the colors you choose and the flags too 🙂

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 01, 2014 @ 09:32:08

      Hi Christine! I thought the same about writing the different locations like “beach,” “cottage” or something like that, but the problem is they are already glued together with super strong wood glue and there’s no way I’m getting those apart!!!! LOL. I like the idea of the star fish or sand dollar in the middle. I am sure I can find some white ones at the craft store and will probably give that a try!!! Thanks!!!!

      Reply

  2. Cynthia Doolittle
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 14:45:24

    You certainly don’t know me. However I wanted to tell you that I really enjoy your updates and have visited your site often. My husband and I have a very small gift/craft shop in Dexter, NY. We sell some antiques, collectibles and also crafts that I make. Thank you so much for sharing your gift.

    Sincerely, Cindy Red Barn Gift Shop redbarngiftshop.net

    >

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 08:27:22

      Hi Cindy, and thanks for your very nice comment! I have never heard of Dexter, NY but after Googling I see you’re about 2.5 hours from me! I go up to Sackets Harbor every year for vacation at our family cottage and am going up in the beginning of July so maybe I’ll try to skip on up to your shop! Glad you enjoy the blog and thanks again for taking the time to comment. Have a wonderful day and hopefully I can get up there and see some of your crafts!!! 🙂 ~maggie

      Reply

  3. Maria
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 20:27:34

    Love Love Love your blog, so addicted! When I look at those little wooden craft pieces the first thought that comes to my mind is a sunflower (rustic of course) Not sure what you could do for the middle but the pickets put me in mind of the flower and maybe dowel rod for the stem?! Would love to see a finished product!!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 08:23:48

      Thank you Maria! I love the sunflower idea! Not sure about the middle part either but I am sure I could figure out something. I have tons of those wood pieces left over and was trying to think of other things to do with them, so thanks!!! If I give em a try, I’ll definitely post pics! Hope you have a great week! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 05:51:06

    You make everything look so easy! Love your pictures at your booth!

    Reply

  5. gala forbes
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 10:43:13

    Your site is just amazing … So many wonderful Ideas… Thank You !!!

    Reply

  6. Mary R.
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 20:31:19

    The flags are super-cute, especially with the white metal star! I love all these ideas. What about turning them point-side down, gluing more together to make a sort of banner or window topper thing, sort of like an awning look? Love your booth! I hope to have a little booth of my own someday, but not sure if sales would cover space rent, you know? For now, I’m setting up a ‘mock’ booth on one wall of my craft room for practice and inspiration. My Etsy store is sadly neglected (all my listings expired!) and I have yet to find the time to get more listings up! I have so much stuff, though, maybe I should rent a space, if only to use as ‘storage’ for everything, lol! (o; Mary

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 05, 2014 @ 12:19:34

      Thanks Mary! I really like that idea….actually I haven’t really thought much about adding to them or putting them together so that opens up a whole new bunch of possibilities! They are still sitting in a pile on my dining room table as I go back and forth and try to figure it out. LOL. I know exactly how you’re feeling with the booth. I felt the same way before I started. I finally took the plunge and thought I’d try it for a few months if I don’t make any sort of profit (or at least cover my costs) but it seems to be doing well – there are good months and bad months as far as sales. I say if a reasonable priced booth comes up you should give it a try! It’s a lot of fun and a great hobby! 🙂 Thanks again! ~maggie

      Reply

  7. Heather Estes
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 10:20:26

    I am so happy to have found this site! I feel so inspired 😉 You have so much talent!

    Reply

  8. Jo
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 20:32:34

    Hi there: I love all your ideas–you get great bargains, too! I think you said these were already glued together, but what these really remind me of are those directional signs that tell you how far away certain locations are (famous cities, etc.). You could even do themes like “Beach,” “Ice cream parlor,” “Penny arcade,” (etc.) “or “Nana’s house,” “Church,” etc., with distances on them. I hope you know what I’m talking about. If you can’t flip the direction that the pointers are going (and they’re all going the same way), I do like that awning/valance idea that someone else mentioned. Good luck and let us know what you end up doing!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 09:35:58

      Thanks Jo! Yeah I do know exactly what you mean and I really want to do that. I love “ice cream parlor” especially! I think I will make some of those with the other pieces I have (I got that huge box and still have tons of the wooden pieces left to work with) because I did try breaking them apart and it was really hard and I’m too lazy to deal with that. haha. I bought some little white star fish from AC Moores last night and they look cute on them, so I might work with those and put a hook for keys. I will definitely post pics once I decide what to do. Thanks for the comment and hope ya have a great weekend! ~maggie

      Reply

  9. Holly Elam
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 17:52:53

    Very cool flags. I love your both.

    Reply

  10. Kayla Barrow
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 14:21:45

    Hello, love this blog! I have a small booth of my own at Alyssa’s Antiques in Pace, Fl. I love getting on for ideas and inspiration. With Christmas around the corner, I have Christmas crafts on the brain. These reminded me of elves or santas with the point at the top! They could be painted like elves or santas for ornaments or little knick knacks for the mantle 🙂

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 18, 2014 @ 08:29:28

      Thanks so much Kayla! Awesome idea with those little wood pieces…I might have to give that a try! I love the elf idea especially. I have a ton left over and they’ve been sitting there just waiting to be used up. Hope you’re doing well at your booth…it seems that this is the best time of year for sales at my co-op so I hope it is the same for you. Happy holidays! 🙂 ~maggie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

