Winter Jar Scenes

The holiday craft bug has bit me and I just finished up another project; a big batch of winter jar scenes using mason jars and bottle brush trees. I have seen them on Pinterest, so here is my version. πŸ™‚

DSC_0074

I started by gathering some jars. I used some mason jars I had on hand, and found these ones at Target. I also got a few jars of different shapes, at the Goodwill for super cheap.

DSC_0028

The two small jars on the right are salt & pepper shakers I got from Walmart. I love these cause they are like mini snow globes!

DSC_0050

I used various bottle brush trees; all of which I found at A.C. Moore in either the doll house/miniature section, or the seasonal Christmas section. I also found some cute mini gold reindeer, perfect for this project.

DSC_0030

DSC_0034

The ones with the wooden bases were easy to glue in place. I used hot glue and they seem to be holding pretty firm on the glass. Some people who do this project don’t even glue them down. They will simply add their “snow” and then stick the trees down in. I like them glued in place so they don’t keep falling over.

DSC_0035

The ones without wooden bases posed a bit of a challenge. I created a ball of hot glue on the ends to use as a base. Looking back it would have been easier to use some clay or floral foam, but too late now!

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

DSC_0051

I then added the “snow.” I started out using coarse sea salt and when I ran out, I got Epsom salt. They both work great as snow. The Epsom salt had a peppermint smell too, which is perfect for Christmas crafts! πŸ™‚

DSC_0056

I used tweezers to place the small deer in the snow and big tongs for the deeper jars. I must say this part was a challenge. I did not glue the deer in place because they’d be almost completely covered with the snow. I did push them down in pretty good, and because they are light weight, I am hoping they won’t move around too much.

DSC_0045

I picked up this wad of tin garland at the thrift store last year and stashed it away because I knew I could cut them apart and use them to accent winter crafts. I used the snowflakes to tie around the tops of the jars to give them a little extra country Christmas look!

DSC_0054

Here is one of the completed jars with the snowflake tied around the neck of the jar. I love how they came out!

DSC_0060

For the smaller jars, I left out the deer and just did a little tree scene, and accented it with a raffia bow.

DSC_0057

Here are a few more!

DSC_0062

DSC_0064

For these larger jars, I thought I’d make them into candle holders. I put a small glass tea light holder right into the mouth of the jar. You can get these small glass tea light holders at the Dollar Tree.

DSC_0065

DSC_0066

And remember these from last year?? I had some smaller trees left over and decided to use them up on these cute car ornaments! I got the cars last year after Christmas at Walmart. I am selling them for about $5.50-$6 each. Honestly, I will probably break even on the car ornaments, but I don’t care because they were really fun to make and a fun item to sell around the holidays!

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

I’m selling the winter jar scenes are ranging from $4-$8 at my co-op, so we’ll see how they go. Hope everyone has a Happy Turkey Day! πŸ™‚

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly Lauer
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 10:54:21

    So adorable!!!

    Help Control the Animal Population..Spay or Neuter Your Animals

    >

    Reply

  2. Cheryl Weaver
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 11:06:02

    Love them all!
    We found some bottle brush trees without bottoms and just cut off 1/2 inch chunks of a small dry limb, drilled a small hole, and inserted the trunk wire in with glue. We live in the woods so there are always dead limbs coming down. You could plan ahead for next year and grab a green one to dry.
    TFS

    Reply

  3. misskitty1222
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 20:11:17

    Love this post!! I actually found bottle brush trees at Dollar Tree, in packs of 2, and one is smaller then the other, and they had 2 or 3 different stlye green ones AND they had really cute white ones that also has a slight glitter tothe snow!!! I remembered your post from last yr w the little cars, and I loved it sooooo….last week when we got a boat load of Matchbox cars donated, I was able to find a few that were still in good shape and plan to make a few of them!! I love the snow globes and esp how u improvised when u ran out of one thing, u just used another! I get wayyyy too caught up in specifics and I have to cut that habit right out! Lol! I get all freaked out of I don’t have one thing, but im learning by following blogs such as yours, to stop and look around to see what else I have!! Lol! Ive also seen these done Upside down, so that ur gluing everything to the cap, then fill the jar w snow and cap it and the snow will fall on the cap! Oh, and the dollar tree tree’s have a white plastic “snowy” bottom/stand, so it blends into the snow! So cool!! But, I absolutely love the tea light ones, what an awesome idea!!! Thanks so much, again!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 21:50:25

    So precious!

    Reply

  5. Booth 555 (www.Booth555.com)
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 14:51:48

    these are super cute! i just bought some Christmas trees, 2 per pack at the Dollar Tree for only $1.00 so I may try these. I was going to put them on the cars like you had done but I think i like the jar idea more lol. Ah, I will probably try both!
    Great idea with adding the little deer too! Love them!

    Reply

  6. Tara S
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 11:16:33

    Do you have a link to your Etsy store? I love your creations.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 23, 2014 @ 06:59:43

      Hi Tara, I actually recently closed down my Etsy store, I’m sorry! The stuff I make goes to the co-op where I have a small booth with crafts & antiques for sale. I wasn’t having a lot of luck with my store, selling crafts that is. Anyway thanks for reading my blog and hope you have a nice Thanksgiving!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

