Simple Winter Snowman Signs

Here are some very simple winter signs that I made using some wood plaques I picked up at the thrift store a while back. They were half off, making them a dollar each! Even if you’re not great at painting free-hand, these snowmen are really easy!

DSC_0001

First I painted the plaques black using a basic craft acrylic paint. They weren’t covered completely with one coat, but that’s okay because the next step is to distress them with sandpaper.

DSC_0003

Just take a small piece of sandpaper and give them a good once-over.

DSC_0008

I speckled some white paint to make the “snow” effect, using some slightly watered-down white paint and a firm paint brush. I just pulled the bristles back and flicked it over top of the plaques. I then free-handed the words and painted big white circles for the snowman heads. You could also use foam stamps or stencils for the words.

DSC_0009

Next, paint big orange noses, little pink circles for the cheeks, and black dots for the eyes and mouths.

DSC_0032

Once dry, I did one coat of sparkle mod podge. It acts as a sealer but also give them a little sparkle. This step is not necessary though if you’re going to be keeping them inside.

DSC_0033

For hanging, I simply used two small nails to tack down a strip of torn homespun.

DSC_0078

Here they are, all finished. You can’t really appreciate the sparkle in this pic, but they look quite festive in person.

DSC_0081

And here’s a pic of them hanging up in my booth along with some of the Christmas crafts I made in the last few posts!

DSC_0097

Hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Pauley
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 10:10:50

    Just adorable! thank you for a great post. My girls and I were just looking for something to do today and being the hoarder that I am…I have all we need:) Best wishes.

    Reply

  2. Found This Painted That
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 12:33:31

    Those are ridiculously cute and Look totally do-able!

    Reply

  3. misskitty1222
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 14:44:00

    LOVE it!!!!! I didn’t even know Mod Podge had a glitter one! I bought the Aleens Glitter Decoupage on clearance at AC Moore for like $2 (it was a while ago, but I remember it being around $2, I went back and got another one, and would’ve grabbed more, but they didn’t have any more on clearance!) and LOVE it! Which is odd because I find Aleens decoupage reg stuff to be really watery! Anyway, super cute, and I cant wait to try it, I have a few of these board things I got on clearance! Lol!!! I didn’t know what ot do w them, but this is too cute!!!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 30, 2014 @ 14:17:54

      Thanks misskitty!!! πŸ™‚ Have fun if you give them a try! And yes, mod podge comes in all sorts of awesome finishes…there is sparkle and glitter…I like the sparkle better for that Christmas-y look!! Have a great holiday!! ~maggie

      Reply

  4. Terry Schmucker
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 15:20:31

    They are adorable……..

    Reply

  5. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 23:15:08

    Love the snow effect method! Very cute idea-as always!

    Reply

  6. Patricia
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 13:26:51

    Sometimes you can find plaques with stuff on them at thrift stores too. Sand them to remove whatever is on them and then follow directions listed. Takes a bit more time, but it is frugal and the results are really nice.

    Reply

  7. Rose Sebastionelli-Hendershot
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 19:37:35

    Adorable!! Thank you Maggie!!

    Reply

  8. Bonnie Russell
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 05:18:09

    Wow!,
    You are so creative! I just love your blog. You really inspire me with your projects. Do you teach classes? You should….sign me up.
    Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  9. Mardell
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:55:55

    You go girl!!! LOVE these! Did you use a paint pen for the lettering? Looks perfect! I mean, wow…absolutely CAUUUUTE!

    Merry Christmas to you & your hubby!

    Reply

  10. nananay01
    Dec 21, 2014 @ 19:39:49

    Thes are adorable! How much would you charge for the snowman signs? Love your work! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 27, 2014 @ 09:50:20

      Hi there, I put a price tag of around $7-8 dollars on them (can’t remember exactly). We are a small co-op and so I tend to price things on the low end to help move stuff. Hope that helps. Thanks for your kind comment and Happy Holidays to you as well! πŸ™‚ Maggie

      Reply

  11. Booth 555 (www.Booth555.com)
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 13:02:52

    Awesome Looking!
    A few years ago I did kinda the same look, with the snowman on the corner and snow falling, but put them on recycled cabinet doors. And then I had some left over signs that I had ordered by the ton that didn’t sell, so I painted over them.

    Ps. I’m finally getting a little bit back into crafting again. And can’t wait to see more of what you come up with soon!

    Reply

  12. ravenantonia
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 00:33:08

    Hi, just found your site and I have not see any new post. The last one I see is this post. I hope you are still blogging, and I get to see more soon.

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Apr 08, 2015 @ 07:39:21

      Hi there. I have not posted anything new because I just haven’t been doing much crafting lately. I am hoping that Spring time will bring me some motivation to start some new projects. Thanks for you comment and for visiting my blog! ~maggie

      Reply

  13. Pam
    May 04, 2015 @ 10:22:43

    I love these…..so cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

