Stamped Wood Magnets

My latest project turned out to be really easy and fun, and I can’t wait to make more! These stamped wood magnets were made entirely out of items I had on hand, but all of the supplies necessary can be picked up at any craft store.

DSC_0534

First I picked out a bunch of stamps, including my dollar store letter stamps (in container) that I planned on stamping out words such as “live, laugh, love” or “simplify.” Spoiler alert – the “word” magnets didn’t come out good. I couldn’t get the spacing right, so I gave up.

DSC_0543

You’ll need basic black ink pads, or whatever color you choose!

DSC_0544

You’ll also need magnets (Walmart), craft glue or E6000, and wooden discs (Michael’s). These are the same discs I like to use for snowman face magnets at Christmas time. These are also the perfect size to make pins, using metal pin backs that are usually found in the jewelry section of the craft store.

DSC_0546

I wanted to make the wood a little more old and worn, so I used a simple paint wash to darken them down a bit. I mixed a little bit of brown acrylic paint with water, so it was really thin.

DSC_0548

Paint the discs and blot off the excess with a paper towel. They only took about a half hour to dry. You can repeat this step a few times to get your desired result.

DSC_0549

The picture does not do them justice…they look darker in person! They could have gone even darker, but I was impatient and wanted to get stampin! hehe πŸ™‚

DSC_0550

Some stamped designs look better than others. These are some of my favorites!

DSC_0553

DSC_0554

Using your craft glue, apply the magnets. I find hot glue doesn’t work as good on these discs. I don’t want them falling apart, so that’s why I went with the regular craft glue. It takes a lot longer to dry, but it’s way stronger.

DSC_0551

And here they are. You could take this project in so many directions!

DSC_0561

I will be back soon; I have some “grubby” candles in the works. They are in the drying phase and I hope to do the next coat and finishing touches early this week! Woohoo! πŸ˜€

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Bensonhaver
    May 03, 2015 @ 20:46:00

    Do your magnets still have strength? It seems when I glue them on something their power goes.

    Thanks,Karen BensonhaverStampin’ Up, Beauticontrol, PCDP740-474-8707 Circleville OhioDate: Mon, 4 May 2015 00:37:53 +0000 To: chs_library@hotmail.com

    Reply

  2. Booth555
    May 03, 2015 @ 21:32:42

    I love these. I never thought about stamping the wood!! I have made some star magnets lately though. Love these n cant wait to see the candles!!
    -lisa
    ps. To karen ,i found if u use those strips of magnets they dont do good at all but these round ones do great.

    Reply

  3. Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
    May 03, 2015 @ 21:39:35

    Thanks Lisa, I love to stamp because it’s so quick and easy!!! I need to get some new stamps though…I feel like these same designs pop up in all my posts…lol. I want to do some more magnets soon and paint some of the classic primitive designs like crows and stars. Just another thing on the to-do list! ~maggie

    Reply

  4. Barbara Briggs Ward
    May 03, 2015 @ 23:48:41

    Clever as always!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    May 04, 2015 @ 10:21:38

    First off I never thought about stamping the letters on. I thought stencil or press on letters….painting over that and then taking them off. But I love this idea. Going to have to try this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  6. Claire
    May 10, 2015 @ 01:35:35

    Hi,
    Love this idea! Question for you though ~ do you find that the black ink rubs off? Would a coat of varnish or something similar (Modge Podge ???) work?
    thanks, Claire

    Reply

  7. Mardell
    May 13, 2015 @ 12:54:47

    Love these, Maggie!! Your brain is constantly going. “Stazon” ink pads are great. They are perm. I always use the brown.

    Hope you’re doing well. I am determined to visit your booth this year. Looking forward to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

