Adding a Primitive Fall Look to Boring Ol’ Candles

Sometimes things that I think are really cute, will sit in my booth for years, and won’t sell. For example, I bought some small candles years ago, that came in awesome faux white enamel tubs and had a real farmhouse look to them. Though they’re old, they still smell awesome and I am not giving up on them! I have since made them over a few times, and I am hoping my new Fall spin on them will help them move off the shelves. Here’s the new country look and the how-to!

DSC_0028

Originally I tried to sell them as is, for like $3 a piece. Good deal, so I thought, but no one wanted them! 😦 Then as Christmas time came around, I packed them up in plastic bags, tied them with homespun, and added a cute rustic tag, for gift giving. I sold a few, but still have about 6 left. Here’s the “before.”

DSC_0001

My first step in making them over was to “primify” them. I put the broiler on and CAREFULLY watched them for about 1 minute while the tops softened up and smoothed out. After years of sitting around, the wax gets little scratches and nicks, so this process makes them look brand new again. I then shook on some ground cinnamon and let them cool. It gives them a rustic, dusty look, and of course smells great too! Please don’t burn your house down doing this. Don’t leave them unattended and please, be careful people!!!

DSC_0002

My first thought was to tie the burlap over the top and tie off with some twine. I guess I was envisioning more of a cheesecloth look, where you could see and smell the candle better. This just looked dumb. LOL. It also covered my cute, newly dusted candle tops that look so perfectly primitive!

DSC_0007

Take two. I used a plate as a guide to trace out circles of burlap that would fold up around the tubs, from the bottom.  This idea would look great on small jar candles (such as those in short, fat mason jars), so don’t worry if you love the look but can’t find these exact candles! Any jar candle would work!

DSC_0010 DSC_0011

Put a ring of hot glue on the bottom of the jar candle and place on burlap. Then, using tiny dabs of hot glue, fold up the edges and create a taco-shell look. This will make it easier to tie on the twine.

DSC_0016 DSC_0017

Tie it around once or twice and add more dabs of hot glue to hold up your burlap. I also trimmed and frayed the edges of my burlap during this part.

DSC_0018

For a little accent, I took a sprig of pip berries I had lying around and pulled off two sprigs for each candle.

DSC_0008

I curled up the ends of the sprigs by wrapping them around a little paint brush handle. Then I tied them on using the excess twine and finished it off with a little bow.

DSC_0022

I think I will throw in a free mason jar tag with each candle since they’d made nice Fall gifts. I got these mason jar tags at Target…8 for $1! I love them!

DSC_0024

They have a cool “scarecrow” feel with the frayed burlap. They’d be nice for any primitive home decor but will be especially nice for Fall time I think.

DSC_0026

My helper Fred takes a little snooze while I clean up. What a bum!

DSC_0027

Like I said, this look would be easy to create on regular jar candles as well. The cinnamon dusting is a super easy way to make something look “prim” too! What are your thoughts on the finished project? Anything you’d do differently? 🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. salem
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 15:13:54

    put the candles in china cups ?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 02, 2015 @ 15:32:25

      Why not! Then you could take the candle in and out and just decorate the cup. Also, I know some people are into the trend of picking up old tea cups at the thrift store and turning them into candles…this would would on those too. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Susie Wittwer
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 15:31:03

    I love the addition of the cinnamon and burlap!

    Reply

  3. Booth555
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 20:05:53

    These look awesome! The cinnamon does wanders!! I have a ton of these mason jar tags and i put them with lots of things to just countryfy ’em up lol
    -lisa

    Reply

  4. babykitty2
    Aug 03, 2015 @ 21:14:34

    Really like your cinnamon & re-heating idea. Another “smack me in the head, why didn’t I think of that” idea!! Not sure about so much fraying on the burlap. I’ll have to look for the Mason jar labels at my Target–so far haven’t seen them where I’m at. Always look forward to your postings! You’ve “jump started” my brain cells several times now. 🙂

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 07, 2015 @ 12:50:23

      Thanks….I need “jump starting” sometimes too…the motivation has been lacking lately but the itch of Fall crafts (my fave) is starting to hit me! I got those mason jar tags a while ago (3-4 months ago maybe) so maybe they’re not there any more. I am going to look for more this weekend. Anyway thanks for your comment and Happy Crafting! Maggie

      Reply

  5. Mardell
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 14:43:26

    Hi Maggie,
    Oh, aren’t those just the cutest? I love them & wouldn’t change a thing. You are so clever ~ esp. love the “re-melting” of the candles to freshen them up. AND the cinnamon. I sure hope they’re a big hit ~ don’t know why not. Your finishing touches are always fabulous. I am looking forward to your Fall crafts! Who doesn’t love FALL? It sure is a beautiful day here in WNY. Hope you’re enjoying this gorgeous weekend!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Aug 08, 2015 @ 23:14:13

      Thanks so much Mardell, you are always so encouraging! 🙂 I hope they’re a hit too, or else I’m giving up on those candles. lol. I know it’s still Summer but I can’t help but be a little excited for Fall crafts; it’s my absolute favorite time of year! The sights, smells, tastes…it’s heaven! Thanks again for your kind comment and hope you’re having a great summer so far. 😀 Maggie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

