Christmas Crafting Has Begun! More Homespun Candy Canes

Well, I don’t have a new project to share…this is one you’ve seen before. My latest crafting venture was a new batch of “homespun candy canes,” in preparation for this years Christmas season at the co-op. I first posted about these years ago, and here is the “how-to” in case you’re interested: Homespun Candy Canes How-To.

DSC_0100

I made a whole bunch of the standard-sized candy canes, but also made a batch of the miniature candy canes. The mini candy canes are a bit more tedious, but seem to be everyone’s fave!

DSC_0101

These are the mini candy canes I used. I got them at The Dollar Tree. They come as garland, so you get 10 of them for a dollar…score!

DSC_0102

Bunched them up into groups of 5, tied together with twine. I plan on pricing them at $4 for a bunch of large ones, and $3 for a bunch of small ones.

DSC_0105

I also worked on a few of these large bells that I had laying around from years ago. They were $1 each at Michael’s.

DSC_0104

I spray painted them with this metallic brown:

DSC_0107

DSC_0103

And made them into hanging ornaments with twine hangers and little fabric accents. They also make nice bowl fillers!

DSC_0106
For displaying the candy canes and other Christmas crafts, I like to put them in old wooden boxes or bowls…

DSC_0115

Or vintage displays like this old red sleigh (both thrift store finds).

DSC_0109

In other news, I am thinking of starting up my Etsy store again. I have all kinds of awesome little antique tins that are beauty/hygiene/medicine themed, with great old graphics on them. I also have tons of skeleton keys and other little items that I would like to sell. It’s a quite a project…photographing a listing everything. Maybe a good winter project for me, we’ll see!

DSC_0111

Aren’t they cool? I just love old tins. The colors and graphics are so fun.

DSC_0112

Have a great weekend and Happy Crafting! πŸ˜€

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda Caldwell
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 14:12:08

    These are absolutely precious! Thank you for sharing…

    Reply

  2. Kelly Halverson
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 16:47:48

    I have been looking for some skeleton keys. πŸ™‚ Are you interested in selling some?

    Reply

  3. Barbara Briggs Ward
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 06:20:03

    I’ll soon be hanging your homespun candy canes on the Christmas tree! Love them!

    Reply

  4. alookatthelittlethings
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 08:29:10

    What a difference a coat of paint makes on those bells. I would have passed by the red and green ones, but the brown ones look great.

    Reply

  5. Melinda Lunsford
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 13:03:26

    I have started making the homespun candy canes but I have an issue with the fabric. It doesn’t want to rip even. I don’t know what I am doing wrong. I start by cutting about 1″ down the way I want it to rip then I start ripping but sometimes it rips right off the edge and other times it rips with a really thick part in the middle. Any suggestions?

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Nov 20, 2015 @ 12:58:50

      Hi Melinda, hmmm…..I have found that the type of fabric you use will sometimes determine how good it rips. Maybe instead of doing a whole inch cut and then ripping, try just making a tiny, straight cut (like 1/4 inch) and rip it in one quick motion, and see if it makes for a straighter rip. I think for the candy cane project, a little bit uneven fabric strip won’t affect the final result! Good luck and have fun making them. They are my favorite Christmas craft project! πŸ™‚ Maggie

      Reply

      • Melinda Lunsford
        Nov 24, 2015 @ 12:00:53

        Thank you Maggie. That is good to know. I also found that if I folded the material in half it helped too. I purchased the fabric from JoAnn’s because I read somewhere, may be here, that JoAnns had good homespun fabric. The one thing I am disappointed in is that I go some with stars on it but when I rip the fabric the stars go away because they are long threads that make the stars. I will just use that fabric for some rice buddies. πŸ™‚

  6. Angie Berry
    Jan 23, 2016 @ 01:52:52

    Cute canes and I agree… the littles are adorable! I wish I would have seen this before Christmas, such a good idea to use the canes off the garland. That’s a great price! Great idea to spray paint the bells too, they look great with homespun. Please post when you have your Etsy set up. I just went through and cleaned mine up because I haven’t sold since 2013… getting her ready to sell again, lol

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Feb 04, 2016 @ 11:39:31

      Hi Angie, thanks for your comment and I will surely let everyone know when I get my Etsy shop going again…I keep going back and forth on whether or not to open it. Its fun but I hate the shipping part. haha. Hope you get yours up and running with success. Happy crafting and thanks for stoppin by my page! πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

