DIY Mason Jar Cocktail Gifts ~ A Pinterest Project

I stumbled across this cute gift idea on Pinterest, originally posted on the bridal blog “Something Turquoise” and I thought they’d make a fun “Secret Santa” gift, for a co-worker of mine. I made them more Christmas-y themed by using ribbon and holiday themed tags. They are pretty self-explanatory as far as the construction, but I’ll give you a run down of the supplies I used. πŸ˜€

DSC_0107

I got these paper straws at Target in the party section. They have every color you can imagine, which would work great for whatever theme you’re going for!

DSC_0101

I used 16 oz. regular mouth Ball mason jars, red & white bakers twine, and shiny ribbon for a little holiday flair. The “mixers” are the small, thin pop cans (7.5 fl oz)…not the normal sized ones (12 fl oz). The normal ones do not fit through the mouth of the mason jars. I also used hot cocoa packets to go with the Baileys. πŸ˜€

DSC_0104

The drink combos I used are: Cherry Vodka with Red Bull, Diet Coke with Malibu, Coke with Jack Daniels, and Hot Cocoa with Baileys. YUM!

DSC_0104

Instead of the cute “cheers” tags, I opted for holiday themed tags I had on hand. It would be easy to punch your own tags and customize them for special events or favors.

DSC_0105

So, using a long piece of bakers twine, tie on the straw first. You should have long pieces of twine hanging down – use those to tie on the small bottle next. Tie left over ends into a cute little bow.

Β DSC_0102

Then tie on the tags with some festive ribbon. I tried doing the whole thing with ribbon, but found it had to be pulled really tight to hold the bottle on, and feared it would snap. That’s why I went back and re-did it with the twine. Here’s the final product.

DSC_0109

DSC_0106

DSC_0105

Aren’t they cute? Great idea for favors or for fun at parties. I will definitely make these again and know many people who would enjoy them. Anywho, have a great week and Happy Crafting! πŸ™‚

Update: Here’s a few more I made for favors at Christmas dinner! This time I opted for mini bows instead of tags. Also made up some fun new drink combinations like orange pop with whipped cream vodka which makes a “orange creamsicle” cocktail! Yum!!!

DSC_0101

DSC_0105

DSC_0102

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. C
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 19:09:19

    Such a good idea! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚
    http://www.fortheloveofblonde.com

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 20:52:24

    These are adorable! Thanks for this great idea.

    Reply

  3. Martha
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 22:38:58

    Love the mason jar idea… too cute….

    Reply

  4. alookatthelittlethings
    Dec 08, 2015 @ 08:33:47

    This is one of the best “gifts in a jar” I’ve seen. Great idea!

    Reply

  5. misskitty1222
    Dec 08, 2015 @ 20:44:28

    So cute!!! Love this! What a great idea, esp for guys, bc I’m always stuck for a gift for a man, even as a thank you gift to give to mechanics or a friend that fixes that your, or a cousin that comes out to help u with a flat… Etc etc etc… Lol!!!! Great small token of appreciation, all year, really! Thanks so much for sharing, and I’m so glad your still around in blog land… I found you a couple years ago, when I first discovered the art of DIY, Primitives!!!! Lol! The prices were so high at the prim shops, and my son was little & in bed by 7, so I’d fall asleep by 8pm, and I thought, THIS can’t be ALL there is to life… Work, cook, clean, care for child, clean some more, fall asleep?!!…so, I started poking around, then started doing a prim craft here n there, and then I found your blog! It’s been ON, ever since! Lol! I still haven’t done a full Etsy yet, I mostly do craft fairs, and have a small booth in an Antique mall. We don’t have co-ops like I see in other places, around here, I wish we did, but we have a couple antique malls, then there’s a few consignment shops, as well, but none have a big “handmade” marketplace… If I had the money to start one, and change that around here, I so would!! Anyway, thank km so much for sticking around all this time, and for sharing your creativity with all of us! So few do anymore, and “so freely” πŸ˜‰ is also pretty rare nowadays! Looking forward to more!
    P. S.
    My biggest struggle is how to price, esp when something comes from a thrift shop, or is given to me to use in my crafty stuff, bc it may have cost me nothing now, but if I had tobuy the stuff later, iit’d cost me a lost more, so I’m so happy when I see you put how muchyou sell yours for! IIt’s SUCH a huge help! Thanks again!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 13, 2015 @ 09:22:49

      You are so dang sweet MissKitty1222!!!! Thanks for your nice comment and I am SO glad you enjoy the blog and have found some inspiration here; that’s what it’s all about. I know what you mean about how it’s rare for people the share their ideas “freely” nowadays…I figure…why not? We all just want to craft and save money…right?? LOL. Well thanks again and hope you have a great Christmas!!!! ~Maggie πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Mardell
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 17:06:57

    Hi Maggie!
    What a great post ~ YUM! Making my mouth water. JD & Coke is my favorite mixed drink of all times. Sure brings back memories. I used to save all those little bottles that we snuck in school (Sshhhhh!) Such great ideas that you always come up with! Thanks so much. LOVE your blog. Hope you’re enjoying our mild temps. I know I am!

    Reply

    • Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night
      Dec 11, 2015 @ 12:03:44

      Hi Mardell, oh yes…LOVING these mild temps! I like a little snow fall just for Christmas, for the “pretty” factor…but that’s IT! hehe. As always thanks for your kind comment and hope you’re having a great holiday season so far! πŸ™‚ Maggie

      Reply

  7. Patti
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 18:06:08

    How fun and handy to have on hand for last minute gifts and ‘drop-ins’.
    thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  8. Angie Berry
    Jan 23, 2016 @ 01:42:47

    Neat idea! But I would want to keep them instead of share, lol! Malibu is my very favorite drink, I need to keep an eye out for those little bottles. How fun to collect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

